Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: The PA Announcer at Croke Park

Quote Originally Posted by Leeside Swagger View Post
    No way thats true, how is a goal chance contentious?
    Depends on the type of chance - was there a deflection which should have been a corner, for example?

Which happened.

And there could be a push in the area that was missed. there's loads of reasons.

think the pa is declan king
    hes been doing it for years and quiet good at it too
    compared to some we hear in the loi
    ok sometimes his timing can be off but very good at pronouncing names etc

732 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by saint dog View Post
    think the pa is declan king
    hes been doing it for years and quiet good at it too
    compared to some we hear in the loi
    ok sometimes his timing can be off but very good at pronouncing names etc
    I'm sure the great Italian midfielder Purloo agrees. Most of the PAs in the league just get the job done. I've only heard irritating crap like this guy comes out with at Pats and Bohs.

obviously a while since youve been to either

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    I've only heard irritating crap like this guy comes out with at Pats and Bohs.
    You missed out on the tool that used to do Cork's games so, he was the worst of the lot. I think he's on Newstalk now.

732 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by saint dog View Post
    obviously a while since youve been to either
    I've been in the discover Ireland division.

3,334 Posts
    Thought the PA at Stade de France was equally pants, some fat bloke in a mic waddling across the turf trying to get the crowd that had shown up at that point to shout out the surname of each player, e.g. he said "Patrice" crowd shouted "EVRA", etc.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Thought the PA at Stade de France was equally pants, some fat bloke in a mic waddling across the turf trying to get the crowd that had shown up at that point to shout out the surname of each player, e.g. he said "Patrice" crowd shouted "EVRA", etc.
    Thats a common thing here in Germany where the PA announces the players 1st name and then the crowd calls out his second name. Same when the home team scores he goes "FC Bayern Muenchen" and the crowd goes "Eins" and then says the name of the other club and the crowd goes "Null". He then says thanks (in German of course) and the crowd says youre welcome (again in German). Obviously it must be a continental thing then.

Quote Originally Posted by Leeside Swagger View Post
    Complete gimp, playing music after the home team scores has no place at soccer or rugby matches. Its embarrassing to be honest...
    This is one of my pet hates, it's fake, cheap, tacky & deeply embarrassing

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoP View Post
    Thats a common thing here in Germany where the PA announces the players 1st name and then the crowd calls out his second name. Same when the home team scores he goes "FC Bayern Muenchen" and the crowd goes "Eins" and then says the name of the other club and the crowd goes "Null". He then says thanks (in German of course) and the crowd says youre welcome (again in German). Obviously it must be a continental thing then.
    Then He says "So how are ye doing?"
    And the fans reply "not so bad, hows yerself?"
    And he says "Im grand - do you come here often?"
    And they say......ok I give up......
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by AidoP View Post
    Thats a common thing here in Germany where the PA announces the players 1st name and then the crowd calls out his second name. Same when the home team scores he goes "FC Bayern Muenchen" and the crowd goes "Eins" and then says the name of the other club and the crowd goes "Null".
    Do they do this for consolation goals too? "FC Bayern Muenchen". "Eins". "Eintract Frankfurt". "Vier".

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Do they do this for consolation goals too? "FC Bayern Muenchen". "Eins". "Eintract Frankfurt". "Vier".
    By that stage the Bayern fans are already gone cos they have to get their trains to Nuremberg/Austria/Switzerland so theres usually silence My funniest PA memory from the LoI was when Finn Harps played a game at home and the lad put up the electronic board to say which subsitution was being made and after a number of times of pressing buttons and putting the board up with nothing on it the PA said something along the lines of "Ah for Gods sake Paddy the board isnt working so just use the old number boards". Brilliant.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Silence for the kicker ISN'T only a Munster thing. Jesus H Christ, is there anything Munster Rugby hasn't done....
    Munster invented everything about rugby you ape, rugby capital of the world

[QUOTE=twoenz;1274225]The adverts are a FIFA directive: you're not allowed to show anything that can be contentious. QUOTE]

The screen is only supposed to cover each half in real time. Replays are only shown of things that have totally no contentiousness, if at all.

It's the exact same for the GAA games at Croker, as there was an incident replayed on the screen a few years back that influenced a decision - Wexford footballers I think?? The ads always pop up there too. Rugby is different as there is a television match official, and in the case of the Tommy Bowe efforts against Oz, the crowd as well as the TMO could have their view on it.

But, why does the clock always stop dead at 45 or 90? It's the same at football grounds everywhere

3,334 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Donegalcelt View Post
    But, why does the clock always stop dead at 45 or 90? It's the same at football grounds everywhere
    So the players can't complain to the ref if he plays more injury time than is indicated.

82 Posts
    The very same PA welcomed the Ireland and Argentina teams onto the field on Saturday at the RDS.....not sure how the Fijians felt about it.

"Clown" as the fella next to me opined, sums it up nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    The very same PA welcomed the Ireland and Argentina teams onto the field on Saturday at the RDS.....not sure how the Fijians felt about it.

"Clown" as the fella next to me opined, sums it up nicely.
    I was half expecting him to ask us to welcome "your Ireland team".

He was definately hungover for the Oz game - never hears anything as ropey!

He likes to get in a few mentions of BRIANNN O DRISCOLLLLL to make himself feel part of it all. Maybe his worst ever moment was last year after the All Blacks finished the Haka and he tried to start an "Ireland, Ireland" chant. He got about half-way through the second "Ireland" when someone mercifully gagged him. A moment of pure cringe.

Mind you, I thought he was marginally better (i.e. silent) at the RDS on Saturday - there were several seconds during which I could hear myself think. It would be nice if some of the criticism was getting noticed but I'll suspend judgement until after the Springboks visit on Saturday.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast