Thread: World cup squad

36 Posts

World cup squad

Lads we have only 1 more friendly left before the real stuff what are our taughts
    on the squad you would pick etc.

I think my squad is very strong but as I am a Dundalk man i lost all my rights and credibililty when Staunton was hired.

Given
    Kiely

Finnan
    Dunne
    Mc Shane ( this lad will improve)
    Kelly
    Delaney
    O'Shea
    O'Dea

Kilbane
    Carlsey
    S Reid
    A Ried
    Ireland/Lawernce
    Hunt
    Duff
    Miller/Rowlands
    Mc Geady

Keane
    Long
    Doyle
    Murphy
    Keogh

I dont think O'brien will be back , Finnan Id sat will and Ireland is too nuts to call.

Overall I think it is a squad that can make it to the finals.

49 Posts
    looks ok, ya were good enough to fight for 1st place in this group, feck 2nd place. course it will be tough but why not. this group is good enough and hopefully trap and tardelli will get it out of them. come on ireland

Ye, it looks like a prity good squad now, strong in all area's. I would have Lawernce ahead of S. Reid, i think Lawernce could offer us alot more than reid who is still playin off his potential of about 5 years ago.
    We'll never die, we'll never die

Quote Originally Posted by Billy-Green View Post
    Ye, it looks like a prity good squad now, strong in all area's. I would have Lawernce ahead of S. Reid, i think Lawernce could offer us alot more than reid who is still playin off his potential of about 5 years ago.
    I haven't seen much of Reid this season, but I very much doubt that a manager as talented as Hughes would play a player on his past reputation. Whenever people on here have watched him this season they've always had good things to say and he was linked with Man Utd not that long ago. But yes, Lawrence will hopefully get his chance.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Why even make the comparison between Reid and Lawrence, Steven Reid is a central midfielder and Lawrence is a winger so its a nothing point
    Its really not that complicated!!!

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    The dude up there said he'd have Lawrence in squad ahead of a Reid. That's why Razor.
    Yeah I know, I was pretty much directing that at him

My Preferred Squad assuming finnan, o'brien and ireland don't return.

Given
    Kiely

Dunne
    Mc Shane
    Kelly
    Delaney
    O'Shea
    St Ledger
    Joey O'Brien

McPhail
    Garvan
    S Reid
    A Reid
    Lawrence
    Hunt
    Duff
    McGeady

Keane
    Doyle
    Morrison/Folan
    Keogh
    Long

I honestly dont understand why people are determined to have unproven championship players in the squad. If they are good enough they will play in the premierleague. The only championship players that will be in the squad are the ones who have caps already

Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    I honestly dont understand why people are determined to have unproven championship players in the squad. If they are good enough they will play in the premierleague. The only championship players that will be in the squad are the ones who have caps already

Do you mind telling us what players you are referring to?

So should i wait untill the start of the new english season to make my point, when Lawrence will be a regular in the premier league.
    He has played over 40 games this season scoring 14 and even more assists and was Stokes best player and in the team of the year. Steven Reid yet again struggled to make 20 games due to injury and bad form like he has done for the last 2 or 3 seasons, which is why i said he is still playing on his past reputation.

I understand what you're trying to say but it's not as simple as that. Why should we bother having scouts then? Our manager could just get information off English managers and wouldn't have to bother doing research. You can't just rule out a whole league, especially given how weak our team is in parts. Andy Reid made his debut whilst he was a Championship player and IMO he's one of our most important players, if not the most important. Using reasoning similar to that would mean that Jonh O'Shea would be a nailed on certainty for a starting place seeing as he plays for one of the "big four".
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

1,001 Posts
    There are some good Championship players that should be in the squad in fairness.Im a big fan of Owen Garvan, everytime Ive seen him he looks quality but the fact that he didnt on the pitch in the last 2 games after being away with the squad for 2 weeks would lead me to believe that maybe he didnt look great in training and he isnt ready for it yet, the same might be said for the likes of Scannell and others that were under Traps eye for the past 2 weeks

Lawrence is not Premier class. End of.
    But is he not worth a chance while in form ahead of others who are also not Premier class?

So should i wait untill the start of the new english season to make my point, when Lawrence will be a regular in the premier league.
    He has played over 40 games this season scoring 14 and even more assists and was Stokes best player and in the team of the year. Steven Reid yet again struggled to make 20 games due to injury and bad form like he has done for the last 2 or 3 seasons, which is why i said he is still playing on his past reputation.
    He was injured for the whole of last season, so it's unfair to judge him on that. From what I've heard he's done well this season, and he was linked with Man Utd before he got injured.

He was possibly Sunderland's best player when they were in the PL in 05/06. Admittedly it was an extremely poor Sunderland side.

Rubbish. Give him a chance and he will prove you wrong mark my words.
    Last edited by FarBeag; 30/05/2008 at 6:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    He was injured for the whole of last season, so it's unfair to judge him on that. From what I've heard he's done well this season, and he was linked with Man Utd before he got injured.
    So why have a player who is injured more than he is fit in the squad?
    So what if he was linked to united, does that justify his inclusion.
    Yes Steven Reid can be good player when he is fit.

1,001 Posts
    So why have a player who is injured more than he is fit in the squad?
    So what if he was linked to united, does that justify his inclusion.
    Yes Steven Reid can be good player when he is fit.
    so logically when he is fit he should be in the squad

I would not pick him over S Reid no. I am by no means a fan of Reid's I just would pick him ahead of Lawrence all day, given his experience, and involvement with Ireland for the last few years. He's unlucky with injuries yes, technically not great but, he's got too much on Lawrence for me, in term's of reliability.
    But reid has only played around 20 games in 8 years

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    so logically when he is fit he should be in the squad
    If he is playing well and fit yes, but at the moment he is neither, hence i'd rather have Lawrence who is fit and in form in the squad