Thread: Reading Material For The Bog...

Reading Material For The Bog...

For many men, the bog is a place of respite where they can do a bit of light reading. This custom came up in conversation recently and a female in the group posed the question, what do you read if you've brought nothing in with you?
    I have to say that I have read every shampoo bottle, toothpaste tube and shaving foam can in the entire bathroom.
    This is especially amusing because most of my toiletries were purchased on mainland Europe (big cheer for expense accounts) and the labels are German, French or Spanish.

Anybody read anything interesting recently?

you really are getting desperate for posts ????? and "I" do no work ???
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Originally posted by max power
    you really are getting desperate for posts?
    Sorry Max, this thread was directed at people who can actually read.

sorry,psgfnfdokgjlfkgjfl;kgfl;djger......its just one of my many down falls in life......but i shall struggle on and once i can manage to read thew word beer life will be ok.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Was at a party a couple of weeks ago in a friend of a friend's house. They had a magazine rack in the loo with a couple of girlie mags, a couple of lads mags and Empire and Mojo to boot...

I was very impressed...

Originally posted by max power
    but i shall struggle on and once i can manage to read thew word beer life will be ok.
    Very good Max. I the meantime I suggest you get your mammy to put a picture of a big smiley face on your beer cans and a picture of a very sad face on your Jeyes Fluid can

Originally posted by Dodge
    They had a magazine rack in the loo...
    Posh bastads

anybody ever hear about the 3,2,3, if you go into a dodgy toilet as in unclean,and if its really bad the ould 6,2,6,????.
    Last edited by the scout; 27/02/2004 at 6:56 PM.
    Crumlin UTD

im spoiled for choice in the bog. i got a 5inch black n white tv(got it free with a catalog) runnin from the digital cable box and a pair of crappy speakers connected to the pc so i can listen to the radio. got wires everywhere. the joys of havin no kids yet

as for readin, fourfiveone is a good read for me on the bog
    Last edited by yur man; 27/02/2004 at 7:21 PM.
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

Was at a Superbowl party over here (Boston) a few weeks ago and the guys put a tv in the toilet which struck me as a bit daft as there are so many ad breaks during American football, it is not as if you are going to miss any of the action. However the ads during the Superbowl are simply class - almost every decent ad you've seen has debuted during the Superbowl (at a cost of $0.5 million for 30 seconds). Excellent toilet viewing.
    Effenberg played like my grandmother!

Re: Reading Material For The Bog...

Originally posted by Peadar

I have to say that I have read every shampoo bottle, toothpaste tube and shaving foam can in the entire bathroom.
    have to admit to doing the same,as in read everything .
    i can actually tell you from memory that the dutch for shaving foam is barbar skum
    Crumlin UTD

Re: Re: Reading Material For The Bog...

Originally posted by the scout
    have to admit to doing the same,as in read everything .
    i can actually tell you from memory that the dutch for shaving foam is barbar skum
    Ahhh yes, barberskum/barber skum/barbers kum. As a kid, I never quite knew where the separator lay. Hours of amusement ensued.

Our bathroom reading is fairly straightforward; Private Eye and When Saturday Comes. Three magazines in total each month makes for a challenging and broad bathroom reading curriculum.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

521 Posts
    Originally posted by Peadar
    Done that. Well, everything within reach anyway. I tend to keep a copy of The Phoenix in there if I haven't read it. Cartoons for quickies, features for extended visits.

Re: Re: Reading Material For The Bog...

There's a fairly big band around here called Barberskum. And my loo is fully equipped with a coupla Simpsons books, a big book of rock bands and the latest issue of FourFourTwo. Keeps me occupied.

anybody ever hear about the 3,2,3, if you go into a dodgy toilet as in unclean,and if its really bad the ould 6,2,6,????.
    well anyway the 323 was three sheets one side two in the middle and three the other side on the toilet seat.and if really bad double it up for safety reasons
    Crumlin UTD

back at mine it's cartoon collections...
    Calvin and Hobbes & Get Fuzzy

Hotpress and Newsweek

and a hilarious collection of very short stories called 'Anthropology' by Dan Rhodes.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Reading Material For The Bog...

Originally posted by Conor74
    The Guinness Rockopedia (addictive)
    I have that one!

Your toilet sounds very well equipped alright though.

250 Posts

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Reading Material For The Bog...

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    I have that one!

Your toilet sounds very well equipped alright though.
    you can say that again.he must empty his bowels at the local library

The Phoenix lives in the jacks (or the reading room as it's known in our house), and after that any magazine/paper that's in the gaff... Have been known to stoop as low as the argos cataloge when there's nothing else handy...

Also have a radio in there, a must have - particularly for when having a shower...

There's a couple of new mags on the go at the moment, Nuts and Zoo being two of them. They're utter crap in my opinion and are only fit for flushing down the bog, not for reading on the bog.

I yearn for the day when a revolution in popular culture springs quality broadcasting and quality publications back into fashion.
    Euro Trash has gone global!