Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Sporting Fingal - Bray Wanderers Play-Off Final

Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    They had alot more than their average for the league now and when they are playing Dublin Derbys against big bteams they will start to come out, some looking for trouble, others just jumping on the bandwagon!
    Its a while since we have used the phrase 'Bandwagon' in the League of Ireland. Long may it continue. Well done to Sporting. I don't think it is a good thing to see so many Dublin teams in the top tier but that is not their fault.
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

1,025 Posts
    Well done Sporting Fingal, and hard luck Bray.

The Bray fans will at least have the chance to visit Jackman Park next season, so it isn't all doom and gloom for you.

As for Fingal, when Limerick aren't promoted, I don't give a crap who is promoted. In fact, given the manner in which Fingal destroyed us in Limerick this season (the best 90 mins I saw by any side this season), I'm glad we won't have to play them again next season.

All these comments about franchises and plastic teams are just so many whines and moans and whinges.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    We have the St. John's Ambulance at the UCD Bowl do you think some of their members would help the club at half-time..... would they Hell.
    Who are the St John's Ambulance, and what would you like them to do at half-time? Would you like a back rub? Or should they sweep the water that isn't on the pitch off the pitch?

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...postcount=1873

Averages of 688 and 635 in their two seasons so far (more than Waterford's in the corresponding seasons, which was 434 & 670).

Please, don't over-exaggerate about how "poor" their crowds are. It's very boring at this stage.
    Please don't take the attendances thread as irrefutable fact. It's been in the thread that Waterford's official figures don't necessarily include season ticket holders, and it's a common suggestion at least that many of Fingal's crowd are on freebies. Yes, Fingal don't have 150 at a game, but that doesn't mean the attendances thread should be treated any more seriously than wikipedia.

On the game - I didn't see either game; what can we make of the fact that Fingal seemingly had a hard time disposing of the (comfortably) bottom team in the Premier? Were Bray particularly up for the game, or were Fingal just not all that good? Those two results on their own (before squad strengthening, etc) would hint at a 7th/8th place finish for Fingal next season, which with their budget would be a big underachievment.

622 Posts
    Who are the St John's Ambulance, and what would you like them to do at half-time? Would you like a back rub? Or should they sweep the water that isn't on the pitch off the pitch?

Please don't take the attendances thread as irrefutable fact. It's been in the thread that Waterford's official figures don't necessarily include season ticket holders, and it's a common suggestion at least that many of Fingal's crowd are on freebies. Yes, Fingal don't have 150 at a game, but that doesn't mean the attendances thread should be treated any more seriously than wikipedia.

On the game - I didn't see either game; what can we make of the fact that Fingal seemingly had a hard time disposing of the (comfortably) bottom team in the Premier? Were Bray particularly up for the game, or were Fingal just not all that good? Those two results on their own (before squad strengthening, etc) would hint at a 7th/8th place finish for Fingal next season, which with their budget would be a big underachievment.

stu over the two legs the match should have ended about 8-4 to fingal mabe 8-5

Who knows how we will do. At this point im not even thinking about that. Im just enjoying the moment.

As you said you didnt see either game.
    A game played in a swimming pool and a nervy team trying to hold onto a 2-0 lead. Well, It just doesnt hint at much at all really.
    Non issue

No congrats stu?
    Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 17/11/2009 at 9:59 AM.

3,491 Posts
    If it makes you feel better, congrats. Would rather you weren't in the Premier next year for the same reason the Shels fan would rather you were.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    I'd say 50% of those are desperate Sligo fans who got them via Athlete Foot's joke of an allocation.

Bull****. How many fans had they at a cup semi final again?
    666 [according to a minority of LoI Premier fans this may differ from the self-confessed Rubbish on the attendances thread.]

RELAX Pineapple, Take a Chill Pill. You may be hypoglycaemic... drink some sweet, hot tea. There, there. Is it true you want to start an Internet Flame War on the roles the FCC Civil Defence, St. John's Ambulance and Cross of Malta play at LoI venues. Everybody knows Cross of Malta would beat there asses.

Sporting Fingal are welcome in the Premier Division. I'd like to congratulate Conan and Brian and Darren and James and Robbie and Shane.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

3,491 Posts
    All very sweet Harpo, but it doesn't really explain what you want to St John Ambulance (I assume you were referring to) to do at half time.

If it makes you feel better, congrats. Would rather you weren't in the Premier next year for the same reason the Shels fan would rather you were.
    It does stu, it does

Whatever about Fingal, I'm happy for Conan Byrne that he'll be back playing premier division football. On the whole, I'd have preferred that Bray won as they'd have been easier to finish ahead of next year though I'll be happier going to Santry than Bray.

Quote Originally Posted by Lamper.sffc View Post
    First off, I would just like to say hard luck to Bray. I really felt for your lot tonight. When we entered the ground and left it, we where congradulated by bray fans and staff on reaching the cup final and they whished us all the best (any I met). All the best for next year lads.

Looking at the two games we played it was obvious that the difference between us and yous was, we could finish the chances that came our way.
    Fair play to the crowd that did turn up and the banner at the end for Bray was a nice touch.

And may I just finish with. nuff said
    That was one of the differences alright, but i think the luck you got over the 2 games was a bigger factor. Quigley is one lucky boy but as i said last night, i'd rather be lucky than good. The save from Flood in the first half and then the ball hitting him on the ground really summed it all up for us this season or when the ball beat him in the 1st leg and then stopped dead in the mud bath.

We were the better side in both games but just didn't get the little bit of luck we deserved and needed to win these games.

Sporting will have a much changed team next season, quite a lot of the players are not Premier Division standard and i reckon Buckley will have a field day bringing in new blood in the close season.

All the best for your first season in the Premier.

BTW, did anyone else hear the roumers that Darren Quigley was eneligale to play in the games because he held a Derry City contract? This came from very reliable journo i was talking to last night.

"BTW, did anyone else hear the roumers that Darren Quigley was eneligale to play in the games because he held a Derry City contract? This came from very reliable journo i was talking to last night."

Got a text about this,this morning and I heard that Bray are going to put a protest in over it

65 Posts
    I hope we dont. We didnt score enough goals over the course of the season to deserve to stay there. Fingal wont be strong enough to stay up imo, they are not great at the back. Darren Quigley would have been contracted to play for Fingal on loan would he not, if thats the case then the whole league is in trouble.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

As i said, i don't know how true this is but the journo did say that because Quigley was contracted to Derry and because of what happened he should have not played in the games and that a protest had been lodged prior to the game. I think it's a fair enough question to ask from Bray's management, any other club would do the same thing.

Be very suprised if anything comes of the Quigley rumour. Surely the Fai wouldn't be incompetant enough to not inform fingal on his availablility for the game (and surely fingal would have double checked). We've had 3 chances to stay up already so I really doubt we'll see a 4th
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

The quicker everything gets worse the quicker everything gets better..
    Made that lil' number up for myself, my new favourite motto.

61 Posts
    Im sure Bray would have lodged a protest before or after the first game if there was an issue here.
    I think this is just nonsense and didnt come from Bray.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    the journo did say that[...]a protest had been lodged prior to the game

61 Posts

Where are you going with Fingal dont have 150 at a game?

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Im sure Bray would have lodged a protest before or after the first game if there was an issue here.
    I think this is just nonsense and didnt come from Bray.
    Correct. As i said i was told that Bray lodged it after the first game so i'm sure if it was correct then something would have been done before last nights game. Pie in the sky i reckon.

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast