Thread: Team to play France announced

Ya thinking about it junior it doesn't make any sense and ive never seen it before(as in often not nkowing away teams until kick off), but i had it in me head for some reason....

Must be all the nerves making me think silly things!!!!

Lloris - Sagna, Gallas, Abidal, Evra - A. Diarra, L. Diarra - Anelka, Gourcuff, Henry - Gignac.

Probably

646 Posts
    I'm awful nervous already, finishing work now. Few pints tonight then up to Dublin tomorrow, I can hardly wait. Catch up on here Monday I guess.

Best of luck to the lads tomorrow, I'm sure you won't let us down, we'll be cheering our hearts out for ye. Come on You Boys In Green

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
    Lloris - Sagna, Gallas, Abidal, Evra - A. Diarra, L. Diarra - Anelka, Gourcuff, Henry - Gignac.

Probably
    Is that the best you can roll out?

Welcome back Giuly,
    I'm so glad you kept the faith with Domenech

Lawrence for me. The key at home is a clean sheet and Lawrence offers far more in this regard. Also thought his set piece deliveries were excellent in the last game which is where we are most likely to score.

Let himself run his legs off for 70 and send McGeady on to change it up then

207 Posts
    My nerves are so frazzled in a can't believe this match is feckin' tomorrow way that I have no idea who I'd prefer from McGeady or Lawrence. I wonder how sharp Lawrence has looked in training with his lack of recent game time? He seems like the kind of player who could get by on sheer adrenalin alone, mind you.

Good team. As strong as could've been picked. I reckon Trap's deliberation over who to start on the right is a bit of tactical mischief - I reckon he will go with Lawrence whose defensive game is stronger than McGeady's. I do, however, have concerns about our bench: McGeady, Hunt and Best are the only viable substitutes. Would hate to be in a position where McShane, Nolan or Stokes had to come on.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I've a feeling it's gonna be McGeady now. I thought it was it was going to be Lawrence until that was released. You don't keep everybody guessing only to unleash Liam freakin Lawrence at the end of it. Sorry like, he's a useful player but McGeady's a match winner. Duff will keep Evra busy defending and he'll help O'Shea out when needs be. I presume McGeady would be on the left wouldn't he? We still have Whelan for the set pieces, no problem.
    When's McGeady ever won a match for us? It's France we're playing not Falkirk. McGeady's suffering from no CL this season, the SPL in general isn't even Championship level any more. I'd still have Lawrence in ahead and think that's how he'l go. If not then I hope Aiden begins fulfilling his promise.

1,928 Posts
    If McGeady does no more than repeat his performance against Italy I would be content.
    Apart from a few wayward crosses he hardly put a foot wrong the whole night.
    I hope he keeps cutting inside.
    Make no mistake France will watching him like a hawk

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    When's McGeady ever won a match for us? It's France we're playing not Falkirk. McGeady's suffering from no CL this season, the SPL in general isn't even Championship level any more. I'd still have Lawrence in ahead and think that's how he'l go. If not then I hope Aiden begins fulfilling his promise.
    Georgia away.

123 Posts
    think it'll be mcgeady, Trap knows the french are expecting caution and by not confirming his winger I think he'll give them what they don't expect and aim to blitz them early, win tomorrow, go with Lawrence and containment on Wednesday. Hello world cup.

I've a feeling it's gonna be McGeady now. I thought it was it was going to be Lawrence until that was released. You don't keep everybody guessing only to unleash Liam freakin Lawrence at the end of it. Sorry like, he's a useful player but McGeady's a match winner. Duff will keep Evra busy defending and he'll help O'Shea out when needs be. I presume McGeady would be on the left wouldn't he? We still have Whelan for the set pieces, no problem.
    NO, he would not be on the left! Trappatoni has named his starting ten and either McGeady or Lawrence are named on the Right side of midfield. Why would you assume on the left when Duffer always starts there if fit?

Unlike some Muppets above who's opinion of McGeady are obviously based on a complete lack of basic knowledge ("McGeady giving the ball away" bringing the crowd down" etc."), I fully understand Trap's dilemma.

Lawrence brings strength and potential from set pieces, McGeady causes any defence massive problems when running at them and will give all for 90 minutes and has every potential to create or score goals, attack being the best form of defence.

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post

Unlike some Muppets above who's opinion of McGeady are obviously based on a complete lack of basic knowledge ("McGeady giving the ball away"

What? Are you trying to claim McGeady doesnt give the ball away ridiculously often when playing for Ireland?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by punkrocket View Post
    [QUOTEListening to a total eclipse of hte heart]
    At least it's not her other hit. Dont jinx us now.[/QUOTE]

What for a coincidence, she was on the telly here in Germany yesterday; singing the song Paul O'shea mentioned. It has to be a good omen

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    I think he played well most of this campaign. Provided the cross for Doyle in Mainz. Keane gets most of the credit for the home win against Georgia but McGeady was our only player doing anything that night until the crazy penalty. He was every bit as good, in my opinion better, than Lawrence against Italy which is the only match that people are basing Lawrences credentials on really. Whelan takes many a set piece for Stoke ahead of Lawrence so I don't think he should be on for that reason either. I like Lawrence, don't get me wrong, but I'm sure France would be far happier to see him take the field than McGeady.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    NO, he would not be on the left! Trappatoni has named his starting ten and either McGeady or Lawrence are named on the Right side of midfield. Why would you assume on the left when Duffer always starts there if fit?
    They've only played together twice in this campaign. I thought McGeady played on the right on those occasions i.e at home to Cyprus and Georgia.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    What? Are you trying to claim McGeady doesnt give the ball away ridiculously often when playing for Ireland?
    He doesn't, unless you consider failed crosses giving the ball away.

64 Posts
    Has the France team been announced?

team to play france announced

Needs McG to sub-cover Duffer, who's liable to blow up.

He doesn't, unless you consider failed crosses giving the ball away.
    Come off the stage ffs. The amount of times he overdoes it instead of passing it and then runs into dead ends is ridiculous.

And yes, I also consider a poor final delievery giving the ball away needlessly.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Come off the stage ffs
    I think sometimes he tries too hard to force an opening maybe, usually because the options aren't great but other than that he retains possession better than most of our players.