a definite simsons fanOriginally posted by persianpaddy
Mind you, that's probably one of my biggest fantasies : barbequeing pork chops in a mosque and washing it down with some nice Red wine and then a .... shall I say more?!![]()
Places of worship always make me hungry.Originally posted by persianpaddy
Is that the farthest your imagination goes?! :P
When I was in Egypt I had, beef ham and turkey ham.
What's the story with that then?
It's not a patch on the real stuff.
KFC (Kentucky Fried Camal) does roaring trade over there.
a definite simsons fanOriginally posted by persianpaddy
Mind you, that's probably one of my biggest fantasies : barbequeing pork chops in a mosque and washing it down with some nice Red wine and then a .... shall I say more?!![]()
yeah, must be your spiritual power.... !Originally posted by the 12 th man
a definite simsons fan![]()
good thing about islam is that you can wear suspenders and stockings in the mosqueOriginally posted by lopez
Mine is wearing suspenders and stockings while performing mass and holy communion.![]()
Under the chador, that is!
See. There isn't much difference between the major religions. Same thing happens in the RC church (and not forgetting the CofI/CofE).Originally posted by persianpaddy
good thing about islam is that you can wear suspenders and stockings in the mosque
Under the chador, that is!![]()
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
What am I being thanked for?Originally posted by persianpaddy
PS 2: thanks Liamon! And down with Intellectuals![]()
Anyway, to summarise the initial few posts..."we're not racist, we're xenophobic."
Maybe it's my poor grasp of the english language, but isn't that really the same thing? Just for a laugh, type "xenophobic" into MS Word and then use the synonym option......."racist" pops up.
I guess the difference is that our racist/xenophobic attitudes to foreigners doesn't manifest itself in outright violence. However, the underlying attitude is what disturbs me. The mistrust of "outsiders" is really strong in Irish people.
Funny just a few years ago we were going begging to the american trying to visas for our citizens. now we get a bit of wealth and we shut the door on others.
Originally posted by persianpaddy
Under the chador, that is!
whats cheese got to do with it?????
oh have you not heard of cheese-under-the-chador thingie? very erotic i tell ya!Originally posted by the 12 th man
whats cheese got to do with it?????
my son,in our church its all about"cheeses of nazareth!!!!"Originally posted by persianpaddy
oh have you not heard of cheese-under-the-chador thingie? very erotic i tell ya!![]()
Originally posted by eoinh
Funny just a few years ago we were going begging to the american trying to visas for our citizens. now we get a bit of wealth and we shut the door on others.
Funnier though, I give you a first hand story from today.
I had to get my re-entry visa extended today. I got to the visa office to collect a ticket on the way to work. And your man there insisted that he can't give me a ticket unless he sees my passport and makes sure i need a visa! FFS, why would I waste my time otherwise? Well I had my passport in my drawer at work!
So next thing my girlfriend came, picked up the passport and went back there. Now this time, they didn't even give her a ticket, they got the passport and processed it straight away, while hordes of poor chinese people were waiting there probably from 7:30 am!! (you can see them queining in front of the immigration office on the corner of tara street!) Probably just because she's IRISH!!!!
So what does it tell you? I think ppl are alright, some of your ****in officials, specially those who work with foreigners, have some serious issues!!! They just served her straight away while didn't even give me a ticket to come back later!!
And they're charging everyone 100 Euros for this! *******s!
Sorry that was my angry rant for today.
Now, Liamon, since when microsoft word is a reference for english language?Here mate, from Merriam Websters:
Main Entry: xe·no·phobe
Pronunciation: 'ze-n&-"fOb, 'zE-
Function: noun
Etymology: International Scientific Vocabulary
: one unduly fearful of what is foreign and especially of people of foreign origin
Main Entry: rac·ism
Pronunciation: 'rA-"si-z&m also -"shi-
Function: noun
1 : a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race
2 : racial prejudice or discrimination
you must admit that the two of them are a tad bit different arent they?
I agree with you though, but that outsider thing is general issue everywhere and sometimes even against ppl from across the road, let alone foreigners! i.e., look at how the locals look at the dubs that go to live in west of ireland : blow ins!
Last edited by persianpaddy; 03/03/2004 at 2:26 PM.
And as for us plastics....Originally posted by persianpaddy
...I agree with you though, but that outsider thing is deeply irish and even against ppl from across the road, let alone foreigners! i.e., look at how the locals look at the dubs that go to live in west of ireland : blow ins!![]()
This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!
i`d say its more of a people thing pp2,english don`t like cockneys etc etc
go on the woods
yep. It's like that almost anywhere in the world with different degrees of seriousness. I corrected my other post!
its the same in france with the south of france thinking its superior to the north.(more affluent /better weather etc).theyOriginally posted by my left foot
i`d say its more of a people thing pp2,english don`t like cockneys etc etc
look at people from the north of france the way dubliners would look at culchies.(for instance)
Last edited by the 12 th man; 03/03/2004 at 2:37 PM.
Ok, I know Microspft are not the ultimate authority on the English language, but it was more to illustrate that the 2 words are connected, if not directly interchangeable.Originally posted by persianpaddy
Now, Liamon, since when microsoft word is a reference for english language?Here mate, from Merriam Websters:
you must admit that the two of them are a tad bit different arent they?
I guess my point (poorly made) is that although us country lads may hate "dem feckin Dubs" (and vice versa), it's a different type of hostility/fear/etc that we Irish exhibit when dealing with non-nationals form poor countries.
we introduced a guy from turin to our footie team n he blanked guido(pisapoora)cos his old man is from napoli
go on the woods
Point taken, and 'almost' agreed toOriginally posted by liamon
Ok, I know Microspft are not the ultimate authority on the English language, but it was more to illustrate that the 2 words are connected, if not directly interchangeable.
I guess my point (poorly made) is that although us country lads may hate "dem feckin Dubs" (and vice versa), it's a different type of hostility/fear/etc that we Irish exhibit when dealing with non-nationals form poor countries.![]()
Persian Paddy i think you should become a Cork City Supporter. You should at least go their away matchs in Dublin![]()
just to go back to xenophobes and racists....
if someone is xenophobic, in that they 'unduly fear' foreigners, that fear, when played on by certain groups (like the BNP) who would claim to have the 'national' interest at heart can quickly transform xenophobes into racists. You can combat this with education and as has been mentioned, proper integration e.g. in the schools system.
When I look at our media though, I worry about the direction we're heading.