Page 76 of 95 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,520 of 1893

Thread: Rugby now more popular than football AND GAA?!

900 Posts
    'The beautiful game, bogball, stick fighting and egg-chasing beauty contest'?
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

Quote Originally Posted by IsMiseSean View Post
    Is that the gimp from Galway who hosted Second Captains on RTE2?
    There are lots of gimps from Galway, only slightly outdone by Mayo.

No hold on they are well outdone by mayo.

How about "Stutts' favourite thread"?

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    There are lots of gimps from Galway, only slightly outdone by Mayo.

No hold on they are well outdone by mayo.
    Murphy is from east Galway, bad crowd over there. Back in Connemara we're all perfectly normal & sound.

2,693 Posts
    Football vs rugby in Wales. Discuss.

1,813 Posts
    I saw there was a new post in here and I knew it was you and I knew that that was the post.

You could say I felt it in my gut.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,693 Posts
    Anyway, just before Wales v Slovakia Dean Saunders was saying Wales was a rugby country. He got slaughtered for it, people on social media saying outside a few towns footy is more prevalent. Cardiff and Swansea each turn over more pa than the WRU and their attendances dwarf all but the national rugby team. Pro rugby in Wales draws poor crowds. I was in north Wales on holidays recently and saw little evidence of rugby. All the public parks had football posts.

And in Bordeaux I was having breakfast in my crappy airport hotel the morning after we lost to Belgium and I was explaining the Euros to an elderly New Zealand couple on holidays in Europe. The bloke, a giant of a man, was saying all the kids in NZ are playing soccer now. I asked was it because of the injuries and his wife said yes, her grandkids are playing football because so many teenagers are walking around school on crutches all the time.

Interesting times.

488 Posts
    What about "3 Games that we all secretly admit aren't a patch on hurling"

2,081 Posts
    Or even... "3 Games that we all secretly admit aren't a patch on the way 3 teams play hurling"

357 Posts
    Patricians versus plebians versus bogmen!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    This guy really doesn't get it. An utterly ridiculous article.

Ciarán Murphy: GAA doesn’t really need feed of pints to have a good time

Like there's any comparison between being in a foreign country for a few days and making a day trip (by car!) to the Connacht semi final. I could compare a regular soccer qualifier in Dublin to a Kerry v Cork clash in Killarney too, to emphasise the extreme p!ss head nature of the GAA.
    It's one of the worst and most sanctimonious articles I've ever read. I've lived in the shadow of Croker for over 23 years and the amount of boozing that goes on when there's championship games on is at in industrial level regardless of who's playing. He was in France on a day trip and has the definitive word on the fans experience? Laughable. There's plenty of old codgers who go to their local LOI fixtures and don't have a drink, same as those that go to local GAA games. Absolutely embarrassing article although I think it's deliberate click bait. None of the second captains lads are as clever or as knowledgeable as they'd like to think. Baddiel and Skinner with a student union twist.

1,813 Posts
    I drank in France. But rarely drink in Croker and I'm there from Feb to Sept. Never drink in Tolka. And never at Lansdowne Road (cos it's nigh on impossible), though I bagged a pint v Switzerland just cos it was Good Friday (thanks DeL). I drank watching Ireland v Italy in Lansdowne in the 6N mostly because I had a hangover that knew my name. I also went to the pub to watch Ireland v Italy in the Euros.

There's nothing at all at ant point that will indicate that the sport I watch will decide that I'll be having a pint or not and to suggest that it is the sport is a load of the proverbial.

Murph has been the one I missed from the old OTB crew for their GAA coverage cos Woolly annoys me.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    I drank in France. But rarely drink in Croker and I'm there from Feb to Sept. Never drink in Tolka. And never at Lansdowne Road (cos it's nigh on impossible), though I bagged a pint v Switzerland just cos it was Good Friday (thanks DeL). I drank watching Ireland v Italy in Lansdowne in the 6N mostly because I had a hangover that knew my name. I also went to the pub to watch Ireland v Italy in the Euros.

There's nothing at all at ant point that will indicate that the sport I watch will decide that I'll be having a pint or not and to suggest that it is the sport is a load of the proverbial.

Murph has been the one I missed from the old OTB crew for their GAA coverage cos Woolly annoys me.
    Wooly has gone. He's decent on GAA but terrible on everything else.
    You've got no fans.

3,310 Posts
    Woolly will be on the joe.ie GAA podcast starting soon

3,310 Posts
    My own experience of drinking at games is that I'd rarely do it, but mainly because I usually drive to the Aviva, and I usually have work the morning after. There's regularly a garda checkpoint on my route to work, and they haven't stopped me yet, but sod's law dictates it will be the morning after I've had a drink at a game. If it's a Friday/Saturday game, I'll have a drink after the game, it's even rarer that I'd drink before a game.
    I think the only time I did have a drink after a midweek game in the most recent qualifiers was after the second leg of the play off.

2,081 Posts
    I drank watching Ireland v Italy in Lansdowne in the 6N mostly because I had a hangover that knew my name.
    Too soon

2,081 Posts
    It's a bit more measured and thought out than Ciaran Murphy's nonsense but it's like the Irish Times have some sort of agenda going on. There's no doubt the fans milk the reputation they have but, seriously, so fecking what? The contradiction, I find, is that these begrudgers are so paranoid about other ways we might be viewed, as a nation, that they feel the need to accuse the fans of being desperate to be viewed in a certain way. They don't get the irony that they're the ones with the hang ups and insecurities. Just live and let live ffs.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/irela...ment-1.2707519
    Last edited by DeLorean; 03/07/2016 at 9:37 AM.

2,693 Posts
    I really fail to see the point of that Frank McNally article.

And anything that mentions "lack of segregation" really annoys me. Segregation wasn't required in almost all of Euro 2016 games, just as it wasn't required when we hosted Poland, for example, last year. But segregation adds to the spectacle of a big football natch. Football fan culture is an extraordinary and fascinating thing, in all its guises.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    Wooly has gone. He's decent on GAA but terrible on everything else.
    I had noticed he hadn't been on of late. But clearly missed that memo when he left. Mick's first poaching eh?

How long is he gone?

3,310 Posts
    I had noticed he hadn't been on of late. But clearly missed that memo when he left. Mick's first poaching eh?

How long is he gone?
    Mick's gone to balls.ie, Woolly's gone to joe.ie. Mick had a week long farewell culminating in his last crappy quiz, probably because Ger Gilroy owns balls.ie, whereas Wooly was put straight on gardening leave. Think it was about 3 weeks ago?

Page 76 of 95 FirstFirst ... 2666747576777886 ... LastLast