Thread: Songs For Nov 18

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    i think this sounds great once it gets going, problem is that I dont think most people know the words. It seems to work better on away trips, certainly outside the grounds we got this going a few times this campaign.

Its ideal for the smaller away trips, but even in Paris I doubr if enough will know the words to make it work.

It is a case of picking songs that will work.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Molly malone is more a dublin song than an ireland song really, the dubs go mad for it and think that the rest of the country loves it just as much. Its a good tune but its not all inclusive lads. Maybe i just wanted to get that off me chest

I agree but isnt this the problem, with the exception of a Galway song (n u from Mayo) everyone seems to have problems with songs for various reasons instead of just getting behind the team

As I said earlier, as did greenforever, any song that gets everyone joining in has to be good.

That Ole song though seems to have two versions...

The one that starts "Ole, Ole, Ole" and ends with "Ireland, Ireland".
    Then the one where people forget the f#cking words and ole, ole, ole all the way through it

I was at Anfield for that Holland match and the YNWA was sung by everybody, no one faction joined in...it was ace.

Outside of that occasion I still find it odd, but would join in if everybody else was, no probs..

I was at Anfield too for that playoff, and YNWA was definitely just an appropriate song for a very special moment. This should be pretty straightforward, if YNWA is causing debate on this forum, it'll alienate people in Croker too. So in my opinion any idea about singing this song should be scrapped for now, as we need EVERYONE to join in for every song for 90 mins.

Quote Originally Posted by Desyf View Post
    As I said earlier, as did greenforever, any song that gets everyone joining in has to be good.
    Agreed.

However, a stupid chant like 'Let's go fcukin mental' that was sung at the back of the SS during the Monty game is an embarrassment to our supporters.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Agreed.

However, a stupid chant like 'Let's go fcukin mental' that was sung at the back of the SS during the Monty game is an embarrassment to our supporters.

I agree, this unfortunately is creeping in with some of our so called newer suppport

Quote Originally Posted by Desyf View Post
    I was at Anfield for that Holland match and the YNWA was sung by everybody, no one faction joined in...it was ace.

Anfield was without doubt the best support of any away game ive been to and to recreate that again would be special, why wait till Trap is leaving to do that, lets go for it on Nov 14

47 Posts
    I moved up near the back of the SS for that game and there were a group of young fellas around 20 or so of them who were the ones singing it. Got pretty fcuking annoying after a while.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    I moved up near the back of the SS for that game and there were a group of young fellas around 20 or so of them who were the ones singing it. Got pretty fcuking annoying after a while.
    Probably the same tools who left off the firework/banger in the corner of the lower davin.
    Your daddy works in porno
    Now that mommy's not around
    She used to love her heroin
    But now she's underground

Quote Originally Posted by jo84 View Post
    I was at Anfield too for that playoff, and YNWA was definitely just an appropriate song for a very special moment. This should be pretty straightforward, if YNWA is causing debate on this forum, it'll alienate people in Croker too. So in my opinion any idea about singing this song should be scrapped for now, as we need EVERYONE to join in for every song for 90 mins.

UNfortunately your post / and your club being Man U just proves my point that too many people are more interested in foriegn club loyalties, rahter nobody has denied that the athmosphere that night in Anfield was way above any other Irish game yet all I get is why we shouldn't look to recreate that athmosphere.

At times I wish we played our home games in a tiny stadium with just thew hard core away support as they do sing for 90 minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    UNfortunately your post / and your club being Man U just proves my point that too many people are more interested in foriegn club loyalties, rahter nobody has denied that the athmosphere that night in Anfield was way above any other Irish game yet all I get is why we shouldn't look to recreate that athmosphere.

At times I wish we played our home games in a tiny stadium with just thew hard core away support as they do sing for 90 minutes.

Honestly, what club I support doesnt matter a jot right now.
    I support Ireland above any other team. So Im not "more intersested in foreign club loyalties".
    Im as interested as u are in hearing as many people as possible get behind the team on Saturday. Maybe some ppl at the match tho will not want to sing it because of such loyalties and good luck to them.
    Im just not used to hearing it at Irish matches, and i dont think it'l work, but if it does, i'd have no problem singing it.
    But we have enough songs already, like pretty much every other song u listed earlier.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Ole appeared in the 90s and was associated with the bandwagoners, I personally hate it but quite happy to chant it

YNWA was sung in Anfiled at Charltons last game in charge and was deafening, louder than Liverpool even sing it according to somepeople on the night, it was also sung at a few games on rare occasions i'll admit...songs started by the stadium announcer never work

I was there and it was unbelieveable, but it had particular meaning. We were singing it on the Kop waving goodbye to Big Jack and Paul McGrath.

Singing YNWA at Ireland games is not the done thing, the Anfield night was special and should remain so. We've enough of our own to be getting on with...
    The Germans are disputing it. Hegel is arguing that the reality is merely an a priori adjunct of non-naturalistic ethics, Marx is claiming it was offside.

Quote Originally Posted by spin View Post
    I was there and it was unbelieveable, but it had particular meaning. We were singing it on the Kop waving goodbye to Big Jack and Paul McGrath.

Singing YNWA at Ireland games is not the done thing, the Anfield night was special and should remain so. We've enough of our own to be getting on with...

Yep .....

Trapattoni

I'm sure its been done but wouldn't
    Trapattoni, trapattoni, ole ole ole (to the tune of champione, ole ole ole) with 70,000 fans swinging their scarves be pretty impressive?
    Easy to remember too for those with a lot of suace on board

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by keenanboy View Post
    I'm sure its been done but wouldn't
    Trapattoni, trapattoni, ole ole ole (to the tune of champione, ole ole ole) with 70,000 fans swinging their scarves be pretty impressive?
    Easy to remember too for those with a lot of suace on board
    Sorry but i think thats the gayest song ever i have heard a few people trying to get it going it just sounds terrible but hey if its going i will get invovled

Stand up for the boys in green should be done but at max twice in the whole game its get annoying

I sit on the lower Cusack stand near the hill and i have never heard we love you come around to us i would absolutly love it if got going at a game its class, maybe try it straight after stand up for the boys in green because everyone will already be standing it will then get people jumping up and down, would be great
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Sorry but i think thats the gayest song ever i have heard a few people trying to get it going it just sounds terrible but hey if its going i will get invovled

Stand up for the boys in green should be done but at max twice in the whole game its get annoying

I sit on the lower Cusack stand near the hill and i have never heard we love you come around to us i would absolutly love it if got going at a game its class, maybe try it straight after stand up for the boys in green because everyone will already be standing it will then get people jumping up and down, would be great
    lads if ye cant even agree on songs to sing here how the hell we going to get 70,000 to sing along.. i could not give a s**t what is sung as long as the atmosphere is electric and fans sing / cheer & shout for 90 mins ...

" football is a simple game "

Dont really care what we sing once it gets the players going and makes the atmosphere unreal.

Dont mind Ole Ole Ole it was class I taught when Ireland got the two goals against Italy i dont care what anyone says it got people jumping that littler bit more.

Stand up for you boys in green was never mad about it, but it has grown on me and it does get the whole crowd involved so that makes it look much better so no problems there.

Ireland Ireland chants are great if at least it gets everybody going

Comon you boys in green I love it and always will its excellent chant and one thats our own and has been around since I can remember.

Now for the new songs that people want. The we love you song well its ok but it only seems be about couple hundred in the SS that sing it by what I can see and has never really caught on

Like to see the John O Shea chant start (the one that United fanbs sing) but of course replace Stretford end with Devin end it work but the preoblem is nobody going catch onto these songs after one game. Its one those chants that gets people going.

I liked that chant there few years ago the Richard Dunne song to the tune from Automatic song "Monster" was catchy.

Thing is will people really all get involved with theses songs on the night I dont think they will??

Is it best just stick to orginal songs??

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    lads if ye cant even agree on songs to sing here how the hell we going to get 70,000 to sing along.. i could not give a s**t what is sung as long as the atmosphere is electric and fans sing / cheer & shout for 90 mins ...
    Im just giving my suggestions dont get me wrong whatever songs are sung i will be up straight away to sing them

Just another thought, i might be the only Pats fan to admit it but i think when Bohs fans sing Hold me now it sounds great, imagine 70,000 people doing it, could someone in the SS get this going, just a thought
    Here on a technicality.

Whoever starts hold me now in the SS is a brave man!!!

I think that was greenforevers point old_git doesn't matter what song so long as EVERYONE is singing it

What still amazes me is anyone that was at Anfield accepts the athmosphere was amazing but are against recreating it again??

I can't get my head around that, but such is life...ole ole ole