Thread: Raf player of the month

Raf player of the month

From the Irish Times

After a string of impressive performances that helped his side towards top-flight safety and a place in the FAI Cup final, Sligo Rovers striker Rafaelle Cretaro has been named the Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland Player of the Month for October.

Cretaro scored five times during the month.

“It’s gone well, better than I would have expected,” Cretaro said. “If you had told me at the start of the season that I’d score 21 goals, I would have laughed at you, but my game has gone from strength to strength.”

Not sure what paper this was, read it today, Raf was quoted as saying something along the lines of, he is hopeful for a new deal. He owes a lot to Paul Cook and hopes something can be sorted out here. Hes a local and loves playing for the club. And if something couldn't be reached he would have to look elsewhere.

Could have been the herald. Not fully sure though.
    Last edited by MMVIII; 10/11/2009 at 9:41 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Not sure what paper this was, read it today, Raf was quoted as saying something along the lines of, he is hopeful for a new deal. He owes a lot to Paul Cook and hopes something can be sorted out here. Hes a local and loves playing for the club. And if something couldn't be reached he would have to look elsewhere.

Could have been the herald. Not fully sure though.
    It was in yesterday's Star.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    It was in yesterday's Star.
    Nearly sure it was todays herald. Seeing as I read it today

32 Posts
    It was in yesterdays Star too, nearly exactly as you described.

Pity he couldnt keep his mouth shut until the final is over?????

We dont need and distractions at this point!

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    He was asked the question, no harm answering. Funny how he owes Paul Cook so much. What's that club that Cook manages again?
    think Cook lent him some of that hair resteration stuff

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    think Cook lent him some of that hair resteration stuff
    Hair dye starting to come back to haunt him..

Lads,
    We are looking to hold on to our players, not let them go!

Generous, he hasnt even been Rovers best player, Keane and Peers have been brilliant.
    Anyhow, would be good to keep him, his goals have help keep us in the league

jesus cant believe all the negativity towards raf this season. its not often we get a player awarded potm and get in team of the season but everyone is obsessed with him leaving. we all hope he stays, he even said he wants to stay himself if the club can come up with a package to suit him. jesus when hughes bailed out everyone said well done to him and when anto murphy used us for half a season he is still clapped
    but raf who has shown nothing but commitment to the club over the years gets the chance of maybe moving to bigger club and getting a big payday everyone starts forgetting how much effort he put in when wearing the jersey down the years.
    its not that long ago the club released him in a second without much thought for him. this year raf has been told to play a different style. gone is the rooney type running all over the pitch and he has become more selfish.......and whats the result............21 goals and believe me its his goals that has kept us up, just look at our goal difference this year. lets commend him for this years huge achievement not complain about him. he showed this year he will go down as one of the best strikers ever to grace the shogies

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    jesus cant believe all the negativity towards raf this season. its not often we get a player awarded potm and get in team of the season but everyone is obsessed with him leaving. we all hope he stays, he even said he wants to stay himself if the club can come up with a package to suit him. jesus when hughes bailed out everyone said well done to him and when anto murphy used us for half a season he is still clapped
    but raf who has shown nothing but commitment to the club over the years gets the chance of maybe moving to bigger club and getting a big payday everyone starts forgetting how much effort he put in when wearing the jersey down the years.
    its not that long ago the club released him in a second without much thought for him. this year raf has been told to play a different style. gone is the rooney type running all over the pitch and he has become more selfish.......and whats the result............21 goals and believe me its his goals that has kept us up, just look at our goal difference this year. lets commend him for this years huge achievement not complain about him. he showed this year he will go down as one of the best strikers ever to grace the shogies
    goals win games....
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    goals win games....
    pets win prizes....
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

what do ya mean by his attitude ???

giving out to players best example bohs in the fai cup away near the very end in our box lets the ball go by him and gives out to joe

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    giving out to players best example bohs in the fai cup away near the very end in our box lets the ball go by him and gives out to joe
    Whaddayaonabout? I was giving out to Joe and I wasn't even at the match.

We've seen the Raf of old in the past few games (maybe since the Pat's game) where he's been all about work, work, work. But there has been certain stages this season where it has been infurating to watch him. He would go the length of the pitch just to have a go at Shaun Holmes, Alan Keane or Conor O'Grady for a pass that wasn't played perfectly towards him. Raf's a great talent and i hope to God he stays, but his attitude at certain parts of the season towards other team mates has been somewhat on the primadonna side. Especially the example that forza rovers pointed at where Raf just let the ball run in front of him and turned around and screamed 30 yards down the pitch at Joe Kendrick, even though the ball had come in from the opposite wing. As I said, i hope he stays, because he's a great talent but i hope he doesn't think he's a big fish in a small pond next year, because if he stays, I don't think he will be.

i dunno id say after 5 or 6 seasons of playing everywhere and running all over the pitch every game and watching players only give 80% he has finally realised he can be a potent striker and needs to concentrate his efforts on goal and just doing his own job. as for giving out to kendrick................could ya blame him kendrick is a fraud who has put in no effort since his 4th game with us. i for one cant wait to see the back of him. after first few games i seen him play i thought ye, here is a player but i soon saw he is no better than holmes. brink back a half crippled butler anyday

Jeez, Raf calm down,
    you should be resting for the final not getting stressed out on here

sorry danny has me wound up he keeps sticking the best clapper award in my face