Thread: Well Lads, Where to Next?

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.

Well Lads, Where to Next?

With Kildare County looking like they're not going to compete next season was just wondering what you as fellow County fans will do next?. Take up supporting another team?, continued interest as a neutral?

Not really sure myself.
    Last edited by steno; 08/11/2009 at 2:03 AM. Reason: spelling....
    Everyone needs something to believe in, I believe I'll have another beer.

Yeah not too sure myself steno, dont think supporting another club would be the same as following County. I'll probably keep an eye out for Shamrock Rovers though, hoping that another club from Kildare will enter the LoI eventually. Will definately keep an interest in the league though.
    Cmon County!

Sorry to see you go if this is the end fellas, always enjoyed the trips when I made it

Next time start a club in Kildare though and not Newbridge so the more retarded amongst us won't end up watching a rugby game in a pub in the wrong town while Limerick are playing

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Its funny you mention tht jebus, I was selling tickets into the ground last night and a shels fan and his two sons turned uo about 15 mins after kick off, they also thought the ground was in Kildare town! So your not alone
    Everyone needs something to believe in, I believe I'll have another beer.

Quote Originally Posted by steno View Post
    Its funny you mention tht jebus, I was selling tickets into the ground last night and a shels fan and his two sons turned uo about 15 mins after kick off, they also thought the ground was in Kildare town! So your not alone
    Made that mistake the first time I went there. Got off a stop too late on the train. Was always a good trip though.

76 Posts
    Probably go back to supporting Man Utd.

I don't know, even if another club from Kildare entered the league I don't know if I would support it, maybe if it was a brand new club but I can't see myself supporting Clane or Kilcock or any of them

I'll keep an eye on the league (if it doesn't crumble to pieces) and probably have an eye on ex kildare players as well (so probably Monaghan since they have about 10 of them)

Quote Originally Posted by davidatrb View Post
    I wouldn't check the score so

For arguments sake if the FAI restructured the league into one 16 team prem with provincial leagues from Connaught, Leinster and Munster underneath do you think Kildare would be interested in joining the Leinster one with a view to coming back to LoI eventually?

Actually why are the club closing it's doors? Is it just because the club feels they aren't financially sustainable in this league?

A lot of conflicting facts going about, talk of the board just walking out for some reason. Somerville was on KFM today and apperently it was the FAI's decision saying:

According to him they had things organised for next season.
    They met with the FAI this week to explain their plans but the FAI turned it down as County seemingly wanted to start afresh and have no licence worries or points deductions, but the FAI could not give them those assurances.
    Joey said he had a couple of sponsors for next season... a major car firm plus new gear from a top company.
    He also mentioned they had linked up with a South African and Brazilian academy by which we would get players from... dont quiet know how this could work.
    He also said the real debts of the club only came to light when some people stepped down from their positions and that they have no real support from the clubs due to the mess with the draw which he believes is the main reason the support has died.

He also stated they had all agreed not to play Shelbourne and he was amazed at the turn around in which no one bothered to ring him.

That's from someone on our forums - http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/forum...sts.asp?TID=68

I would be interested anyway, but I am a poor student who can barely fund my steak and milk addiction so I can't see me having much of a say when it boils down to the money aspect

Yeah I hear ya

To be honest I really think the FAI need to look at scrapping the First Division altogether, there just isn't enough interest in it and the gates aren't covering costs.

Shame Kildare have fallen by the wayside though

I think regionalising is probably the best idea, the costs of going from the likes of Limerick to Ballybofey twice a year is too much for small clubs and only cuts down on away fans which doesn't help either. Regions would cut travel costs and probably increase crowds if only an extra 20/30 away fans thats an extra 200/300 euro towards the club

Take a look at the southern league table in the A Championship. Mostly Dublin clubs then Carlow, Cork and unfortunate Tralee Dynamoes. The amount of travel for them is massive. How would they survive in the LOI proper?
    Kildare County RIP

Hey guys make the most of this section....they'll be takin it off us soon.
    Kildare County RIP

Sorry to see County go under but it has looked on the cards for a good while now. A lot of people have put in a great deal of work to try and keep Senior Football going but if your honest there were just too many bad decisions made over the years.

I haven't been to Station Road in two years so I'm not in a position to give an enlightened opinion on what has being happening lately but i did try to keep abreast of things through friends who did go and the Kildare Forums.

Perhaps somebody closer to the action might be able to answer the following questions(or is there any point in it now).

a) Is there any hope of the Junior League getting any of the money they have put into County back?
    b) Where all the prizes paid out to the winners of the 5 Month Draw?
    c) If not, will the winners ever get their prizes?
    d) will Joey Somerville give back the gear as surely its a club asset?
    e) who is now liable for the clubs debts?

Not having a go at anyone but just interested in the way it all fell apart.

Shame to see youse go lads, whats the nearest club to ye now, Rovers?
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

Quote Originally Posted by leixliplad View Post
    Sorry to see County go under but it has looked on the cards for a good while now. A lot of people have put in a great deal of work to try and keep Senior Football going but if your honest there were just too many bad decisions made over the years.

I haven't been to Station Road in two years so I'm not in a position to give an enlightened opinion on what has being happening lately but i did try to keep abreast of things through friends who did go and the Kildare Forums.

Perhaps somebody closer to the action might be able to answer the following questions(or is there any point in it now).

a) Is there any hope of the Junior League getting any of the money they have put into County back?

Firstly I am fairly sure you know that Kildare County Football Club have gone into liquidation.
    Secondly I doubt you will get the answers you are seeking on a public forum.
    Maybe if you asked the same questions directly to the relevant people concerned you might get the information you seek.
    I trust you already know who to ask.
    Kildare County RIP

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davidatrb View Post

laughing my ass off

sorry to hear about this kildare people. shame

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leixliplad View Post

Joey bought the gear out of his own money and wasnt reimbursed so its actually his gear!

61 Posts
    Sorry for bumping and old thread as i have only just now noticed it.

I feel your pain lads.