Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Kildare about to go bust?

47 Posts
    Why can't Kildare at least give it a go against Salthill? Please....? For the good of the league.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

First Kilkenny and no Kildare, will there be any grounds left in the league where you can enjoy a pitch-side can?!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    Lads, I understand how much of a farce KCFC were tonight, and appreciate people's feelings on it. But, given it's context, I'm kinda proud.

Those charged with running the club, including our manager, threw in the towel and left the club before season's end. Instead of folding, and not finishing the season, the fans and players grouped together to at least go out with some dignity. Philly Hughes took up the managers position, and a team of around ten volunteer fans ran the match-day event. Fair play to them all.

Sure, Mr Sommerville didn't arrive, and didn't let us have our jerseys, but the team played in Newbridge Town youth jerseys. They played knowing they would never be paid the wages they were owed. The fans ran the show knowing nobody would be there to thank them at the end of the night. It might have looked like a farce, but in a way, KCFC tonight was a picture of what football is all about - community and pride, even when the going gets tough.

I wish I was there, but college work kept me away - which has me fierce down. However, from what I have heard, everyone at Station Road tonight can hold their heads high.

I made some friends for life at KCFC. We had our ups and downs, more downs than ups, but it was worth it. I wish we could do it all over again.
    Well said. Very sad day for the league yesterday but much much more so for Kildare and Derry fans. For the volunteers involved last night to come along and run the show in order to ensure that the club finished out the season was very admirable. Add to that the players who turned out. In a game where many players display mercenary tendencies, what your players did last night stands as a wonderful act of selflessness and pride in their work and their club.

I found Station Road to be a very enjoyable place to watch a game and Kildare will be missed from the league. I hadn't seen this development coming, indeed when I was down there a few months ago to see ye play Waterford, the grounds looked quite impressive with the additional bucket seating. I thought at that stage that things might be on the up, so it's very sad the way things worked out.

Hopefully in the future senior football can return to the area.
    Keep it real

76 Posts
    Thanks to all for the well wishes.

I think it is impossibly hard for the bottom teams to keep the show on the road. Excessive match day expenses, and petty fines are crippling teams that are not even making enough at the gate to cover player's wages. imo.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    I'll miss davidatrb's professionally compiled match highlights. UCD used some of his footage on the season's highlight's compliation last night.
    We miss one match in 3 years and which one is it, the last game in the history of the club, only one word; gutted

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Kildare tonight had no manager, no kit, no physio and half a team. This league is a ****ing joke. I don't know why i bother any more, Shambles.

thats not good.. Brings back bad memories of my club wearing another teams jerseys in the mid nineties .. It was also a red and black kit but from a team playing in the local paddy clabby cup competition..

Quote Originally Posted by Hairy Bowsie View Post
    Kildare tonight had no kit
    That actually is the 3rd time in the 5 seasons I've followed Kildare where we didn't wear are kit, last year down in Mervue we had to wear their U21 kit because of some sort of clash in jerseys and a few years back we had to wear Sligos underage jersey because they wanted to unveil their new strip and it clashed with our jersey again

A very big hats off to the supporters club of Kildare Co for their courage in running last night.. Its brings back memories of the 80s and 90s of what happened.. Its bad professionalism of Sumerville to quit and not give the club their kit.. Its the end of an era I always liked driving down to Station Rd.It was one of the few grounds that was right beside the local train station.. hopefully our paths will cross again in the future..I didnt realise the situation had detoriated quite badly but at least they managed to end the season unlike Dublin City a few years back.. Lads dont stop posting on foot.ie as ye are a part of us now.. Look at Sheridan we cant get rid of him!

As for the fai they should hang their heads in shame for allowing this to happen..

Its the end of an era I always liked driving down to Station Rd.It was one of the few grounds that was right beside the local train station.
    You liked driving down because it was beside a train station

I will also miss going to Flancare, it was one of the few places that we could actually win in recent years

Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    You liked driving down because it was beside a train station

I will also miss going to Flancare, it was one of the few places that we could actually win in recent years
    what I mean is that the ground was in unique position that you would hear constant trains right behind you in the stand all game every few minutes! Thats my memory of Station Rd...

As for the fai they should hang their heads in shame for allowing this to happen..
    Kildare should have stayed within their means. Overspending scum!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Kildare should have stayed within their means.
    True

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Overspending scum!
    Harsh

what I mean is that the ground was in unique position that you would hear constant trains right behind you in the stand all game every few minutes!
    AHEM..The Showgrounds...

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    AHEM..The Showgrounds...
    That's not true is it, I haven't been there in years but I don't remember any trains. Carlise grounds would be a different case but I think more trains go past station road at match time then the others

Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    That's not true is it, I haven't been there in years but I don't remember any trains. Carlise grounds would be a different case but I think more trains go past station road at match time then the others
    Well the station itself is a bit away from the ground but the railway is right behind the goal at the end they call the Railway End.

1,825 Posts
    Congratulations to County last night.

The match was crap the weather was awful, but I had a great time. It was my first opportunity to get down to Station Road and I have to say I was incredibly impressed with the set up and by god I needed that soup.

I bought myself a mug as a memento and memory of a decent club with (albeit a few) decent fans who proved their worth and who were pure class last night.
    There's very few examples of that sort of commitment in the world and everyone involved should pat themselves on the back.

Huzzah.

Fingers crossed ye get back in some form or other.

I know at the end of most LOI seasons we seem to need reflection but I don't think it's working... We need to fix this fast. Otherwise there will be no one but Franchise left! And we can't be having that!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    Lads, I understand how much of a farce KCFC were tonight, and appreciate people's feelings on it. But, given it's context, I'm kinda proud.

Those charged with running the club, including our manager, threw in the towel and left the club before season's end. Instead of folding, and not finishing the season, the fans and players grouped together to at least go out with some dignity. Philly Hughes took up the managers position, and a team of around ten volunteer fans ran the match-day event. Fair play to them all.

Sure, Mr Sommerville didn't arrive, and didn't let us have our jerseys, but the team played in Newbridge Town youth jerseys. They played knowing they would never be paid the wages they were owed. The fans ran the show knowing nobody would be there to thank them at the end of the night. It might have looked like a farce, but in a way, KCFC tonight was a picture of what football is all about - community and pride, even when the going gets tough.

I wish I was there, but college work kept me away - which has me fierce down. However, from what I have heard, everyone at Station Road tonight can hold their heads high.

I made some friends for life at KCFC. We had our ups and downs, more downs than ups, but it was worth it. I wish we could do it all over again.

Tears in my eyes reading this. I have some great memories of Station Road including arriving drunk from a Gaa game in Croke Park to arriving sunburnt one sunny bank holiday weekend after helping mini me celebrate her 18th birthday in Dublin. Miss you Kildare, lovely fans, nice ground, and infinately beatable recently. x

Feel sorry for Kildare Fans. I enjoyed going to Newbridge and I have respect for the people who actually attended the games when the club wasn't doing so good.

147 Posts
    Don't want to ask a stupid insensitive question, but is Tuesday's playoff wirh Salthill Devon definitely a non-runner? Devon website has nothing about game being cancelled, same with League of Ireland website
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    No offence taken and not wanting to sound like a p***k, but whats the point in a play off?
    Everyone needs something to believe in, I believe I'll have another beer.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast