199 Posts
    Two tickets arrived this morning

Quote Originally Posted by joema View Post
    Won't find a bigger Ireland fan than me...

IF ya get a ticket, pass it on
    . Cheers. Had to take myself off the block booking list for presonal reasons and was unable to attend the Montenegro match for these same personal reasons! Oh the cheek. Should have had my priorities right, I suppose.

Presume that post was made in jest, but it aint funny, either way.

TO the OP: the tickets won't go on general sale. Too many blow ins up for the big match.
    Lads there's a ticket waiting list of about 30 lads on it, on this forum. Don't think it's fair on them that your coming asking people for tickets outside of that.

Quote Originally Posted by ParkLife View Post
    Lads there's a ticket waiting list of about 30 lads on it, on this forum. Don't think it's fair on them that your coming asking people for tickets outside of that.
    My post was made in jest. Thought that was clear. Have asked everyone I know to see if they have a spare. Hoping to get one.

Think the "official" thread is ridiculous, tbh. How does it work, the higher up the list you are, the more deserving of a ticket you are??

Give me a break.

Or better still, a ticket.

My post was made in jest. Thought that was clear. Have asked everyone I know to see if they have a spare. Hoping to get one.

Think the "official" thread is ridiculous, tbh. How does it work, the higher up the list you are, the more deserving of a ticket you are??

Give me a break.

Or better still, a ticket.
    Could you suggest an alternative way?

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude View Post
    Could you suggest an alternative way?
    Nope.

Never claimed otherwise, though!

Was just responding to the poster who accused me of jumping the queue, so to speak.

Think it is hard to disagree with my last post, tbh.

I mean, you hardly think this system "works", do you?

229 Posts
    First come first served - limited to 2 per person - face value tickets.

I think you'll find that some posters have been sorted already on both the home and away lists - so yep Id say it works - even if its not perfect.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Nope.

Never claimed otherwise, though!

Was just responding to the poster who accused me of jumping the queue, so to speak.

Think it is hard to disagree with my last post, tbh.

I mean, you hardly think this system "works", do you?
    Why do you suggest it doesn't work? Id say it does, and i'd take a stab at saying, maybe becuase you haven't got a ticket/haven't got sorted from it you have made that accusation. In a way its modelled on the same as those who go to all games, the ones who always come onto foot.ie will see teh thread and be quick to get their name on the list. So id say its the fairest possible solution to be honest. Maybe it could start with a ranking of whose got tickets from that list, and then they get preference in the ordering however that could be a bit of a nightmate for the mods.

I dont nkow your personal circumstances and I wouldn't like to comment, but the only reasons i can see where you couldn't go would be financial. Otherwise you could still have bought the tickets and given them to friends. Im living in england like so many others who get tickets, and I was made redundant earlier this year but I still made sure i was getting the tickets even when things were tight, but i understand that not everyone might be able to do that. At the end of the day the only reason I see why someone couldn;t take tickets for a game is financial.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 10/11/2009 at 8:56 AM.

47 Posts
    Hmm second ticket still hasn't arrived, my invoice for it has been paid but no sign of it. Will give it until tomorrow then ring up and bleet.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Why do you suggest it doesn't work? Id say it does, and i'd take a stab at saying, maybe becuase you haven't got a ticket/haven't got sorted from it you have made that accusation. In a way its modelled on the same as those who go to all games, the ones who always come onto foot.ie will see teh thread and be quick to get their name on the list. So id say its the fairest possible solution to be honest. Maybe it could start with a ranking of whose got tickets from that list, and then they get preference in the ordering however that could be a bit of a nightmate for the mods.

I dont nkow your personal circumstances and I wouldn't like to comment, but the only reasons i can see where you couldn't go would be financial. Otherwise you could still have bought the tickets and given them to friends. Im living in england like so many others who get tickets, and I was made redundant earlier this year but I still made sure i was getting the tickets even when things were tight, but i understand that not everyone might be able to do that. At the end of the day the only reason I see why someone couldn;t take tickets for a game is financial.
    Spot on lad: you don't know my circumstances. Speculation is useless.

The list doesn't work as it is based on the principle of first come, first served. The higher up the list you are, does not make you more deserving of a ticket. It just means you got there first ffs.

In any case, think it is clear that a lot of people put their names down just as am insurance policy. Look at the amount of posters who want to be taken off the list, ffs.

And no, I am not making this point because I have not been sorted by the thread. I would not expect to be. I have never put my name down on one of these lists, after all.

I only posted in one of the ticket threads because you stated that all genuine fans would be able to get tickets.

229 Posts
    The list doesn't work as it is based on the principle of first come, first served. The higher up the list you are, does not make you more deserving of a ticket. It just means you got there first ffs.

In any case, think it is clear that a lot of people put their names down just as am insurance policy. Look at the amount of posters who want to be taken off the list, ffs.

And no, I am not making this point because I have not been sorted by the thread. I would not expect to be. I have never put my name down on one of these lists, after all.

I only posted in one of the ticket threads because you stated that all genuine fans would be able to get tickets.
    I dont think the list is meant to rank 'in most deserving of a ticket' order, is it? Afterall its the FAI who distribute the tickets - thats their job.

This is a secondary avenue for likeminded fans to try and help other fans without tickets. It needs to be low maintenance in terms of admin for the mods and relatively fair (i.e. max number of ticket requests). Its not going to try and attempt to check each posters historic game attendance is it? First come First serve is fair enough in this instance imo.

Ive never stuck my name on any of the lists either but I think its a good idea and you can see that what appear to be genuine fans are getting sorted. Not sure what your beef with it is really.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Joema...you seem to have some serious issues. The list is the fairest way possible..get over it. Are you that ****ed off cos you didn't get a ticket??
    Are you more deserving of a ticket cos you used to be a Block Booker?? Please....
    Only issue I have is new posters being allowed on the list, once they get sorted there never heard of again.

Ya Parklife, i always thoughtt he same, i dont like blows in just jumping on the thread and thats it. Could be a good point you have raised there as im sure we aren't the only ones to have thought the same.

Lads, look....

I am saying the system is not perfect. I also said there is no alternative. No need to throw the toys out of the pram. This is the best way to communicate with regards getting tickets to like-minded fans online - I totally agree. When I said the list doesn't work...I prob went a bit too far! It can work...to a degree. (But again that's not the post I initially took issue with!)

Parklife... you need to learn how to detect sarcasm. I initially took issue with Paul O'Shea's smug, vague and unhelpful post.

I've since been sorted with a ticket, as it happens...and my stance is still the same.

As ye can see, the most obvious abuse of this system can be seen with new members just getting in there on the list quickly... All I'm saying is that you are not more deserving of a ticket because you are higher up the list. This, however, is the most practical way to do things on a site of this nature. We can all agree on that....the fact that you (Parklife) accused me of skipping the queue was ridiculous. I've never posted in a ticket exchange thread.

Happy now?

Come on Ireland
    Last edited by joema; 10/11/2009 at 1:27 PM.

Just want to highlight this post again. Reckon your follow up post is childish.

You accused me of skipping the queue. You accused me of having issues because I couldn't get a ticket myself.

My initial post, as I said, was clearly made in jest. It was a reply to a smug, unhelpful and inaccurate "post" from Paul O'Shea.

Find it absolutely ridiculous that you also accused me of being unfair to those lads on the list. Absolutely ridiculous.

You can clearly see the flaws of that list, as can I. Think it is very important to realise that I did not post on that list and that I have never expected to be sorted with a ticket from this website.

Also, I'll again repeat that I now have a ticket. You will notice, my opinion has not changed.

You should admit you were wrong...I doubt you will, though

You got a ticket..good man... your boring me now.

Well constructed "reply". People get bored when they are talking through their arse, I suppose.

Joema, i think its fair to leave it at this stage you got a ticket and fair play.

I think you should notice that after you saying parklife doesn't understand sarcasm you ought to reflect within, as I was obviouslly being sarcastic at the start.

However, after your previous posts, I stand by what I said about not taking a ticket for games.

Well constructed "reply". People get bored when they are talking through their arse, I suppose.
    My thoughts exactly.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Joema, i think its fair to leave it at this stage you got a ticket and fair play.

I think you should notice that after you saying parklife doesn't understand sarcasm you ought to reflect within, as I was obviouslly being sarcastic at the start.

However, after your previous posts, I stand by what I said about not taking a ticket for games.
    If you look at my post, you will see that I realised your post was in jest. I still found it unhelpful and unfunny.

Stand by what you said all you like, I'm not trying to change your mind. Dunno why you even bothered posting in the first place, tbh. Reckon you knew someone would take issue with what you said.

It is a common theme of your posts, after all.

Lads.....How can we be lovers if we can't be friends????????