Page 42 of 55 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2009/10

Does the premier finish on the same day? If this is the case it might go on for some time yet...rock have 3 league games left and depending how they get on in the cup agaist bridge today possibly have 3 more games in munster area and clare cup.

Bridge utd B 3-2 Rock Rovers

Bridge definitely deserved this in my opinion, rock are much better than how they played this evening. rock were 2 up but bridge pulled 1 back before half time. they scored early in the second half and then hit the post and crossbar before they scored the winner with 10/15 mins to go. It was an entertaining game and the pitch looked immaculate, hopefully tommorows game will be as entertainig.

Formerly: vidic-class
    Ya Bridge Utd B were much the better side tonight. The first goal Rock got was a free out not a free in. Bridge were robbed of a blatant penalty in the 2nd half at 2-2, how it wasn't given I don't know. Bridge missed a good few chances in the game and got great goal to win it then

lads I was down at the second semi final today and it was rubbish. If that is the best clare soccer can produce I am afraid the standard of soccer is getting worse every year. The pitch today was the best I have seen it since the place was opened and people refused to try and put a few passes together. There were no wingers on any of the teams with a slight bit of interest in taken on their markers..What happened to full backs with a little imagination to get up the line and maybe give in the odd cross or two, ....maybe I was looking for too much out of this game...any other views...

Dont think it was rubbish, although I agree it wasnt the best spectacle the wind had a major part to play in it! the pitch is definitely at its best now and would be great if the oscars could get a victory in cork next week and have the final in ennis. Any date set for the clare cup final?

I'm sure every one here would prefer to win a terrible semi
    then Lose a great final

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    lads I was down at the second semi final today and it was rubbish. If that is the best clare soccer can produce I am afraid the standard of soccer is getting worse every year. The pitch today was the best I have seen it since the place was opened and people refused to try and put a few passes together. There were no wingers on any of the teams with a slight bit of interest in taken on their markers..What happened to full backs with a little imagination to get up the line and maybe give in the odd cross or two, ....maybe I was looking for too much out of this game...any other views...
    in the first half we controlled the game.we could have been3 or 4 goals up with some good football played.2nd half they got a freak goal and after that we marshalled the game. i dont think john had 1 save to make all match.theres a savage wind always blowing around digifone which makes playing football a bit more difficult.we will try and improve for you next time so you can get your moneys worth.we cant play lethal every game.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolverine View Post
    in the first half we controlled the game.we could have been3 or 4 goals up with some good football played.2nd half they got a freak goal and after that we marshalled the game. i dont think john had 1 save to make all match.theres a savage wind always blowing around digifone which makes playing football a bit more difficult.we will try and improve for you next time so you can get your moneys worth.we cant play lethal every game.
    Well said.playing poor and winning doubles.nothing wrong there.

[QUOTE=whacker;1353818]ye havent won the double yet[/QUOTE

sorry,,i should say challenging for doubles

lads I am not having a go at any team here I am talking bout the game as a whole..if there was such a savage wind why did players refuse to try and pass the ball on the ground when it was such a great surface. My point on imagination any free kicks each team got they tried to hoof it up into the box hoping it fell to one of their own and even worse when they were playing with the wind. Gone are the days when you had a good centre forward to take down the ball and bring the wingers or midfielders into the game, as for the silly comment by Wolverine " we cant play lethal every game " I have seen plenty of your games this season and I could count on one hand where ye could honestly say ye were " lethal"

Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    lads I am not having a go at any team here I am talking bout the game as a whole..if there was such a savage wind why did players refuse to try and pass the ball on the ground when it was such a great surface. My point on imagination any free kicks each team got they tried to hoof it up into the box hoping it fell to one of their own and even worse when they were playing with the wind. Gone are the days when you had a good centre forward to take down the ball and bring the wingers or midfielders into the game, as for the silly comment by Wolverine " we cant play lethal every game " I have seen plenty of your games this season and I could count on one hand where ye could honestly say ye were " lethal"
    well said 2on2 i have to agree with you the standard in the clare league is shocking at the moment and with avenue winnig the league that sums it all up, no team in clare try and play ball its all very direct with longballs after longballs if avenue played in anyother league in munster i think they would be a mid-table team at best and it always shows up in fai and mjc just how poor the teams in clare are,yes clare are looking forward to an all-ireland semi next week but this in my opinion is because they have not met a team that is taking the compition serious yet,just my opinion.

He is doing his best with the underage in fairness.
    The only junior club i know of that he has worked with this season is Sporting Enistymon, and its paid off to a certain extent. He was asked by one or two of the premier clubs but never got around to them.....dont ask me why, maybe next year.

The standard at the top isnt of the highest, but how on earth can anyone expect it to be without the proper coaches in place. There is plenty of ball players out there, but without the proper instruction its no wonder they often look like headless chickens. The big problem is that there is no steady improvement for any junior player from the age 18 on. Its only by experience gained over many a season that leads to a small bit improvement if any. This aint good enough.

So with only 5 youth teams competing in clare and nothing in place to ensure progression when these few lads join the Junior soccer cycle, the high standards some might expect is far from the reality.

Lads you cant go blaming Denis Hynes for the standard.
    It's up to the managers and more important the players to have the courage to play the game properly.
    Managers need to encourage the players keep the ball on the deck. Players need to have the courage to want the ball.

Denis Hynes cant exactly come onto the pitch with the players coach them through the game and it's an easy get out clause to say he doesn't help the clubs enough.
    What improvement is he going to able to make with a 30 year old who has known no better than to langer the ball for the last 12 or 13 years.
    You can bring a horse to water but you cant make him drink.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

"we have a regional development officer...and all he does is train the underage.."

This ("training the underage") is exactly his remit - The purpose of the FAI's Development program is to develop underage talent, not to help clubs win their local junior league.

Exactly this is my point.. take Avenue now the only reason I am talking about ye is because ye won the league and won it well so ye have set the standard for Clare soccer. The moment ye set foot outside of Clare eg MJC and FAI cup ye were knocked out very early. Ye won the league fairly easy in the end so what does that say about clare soccer. I think it is the worst thing for clare soccer to be in the OT semi final as this really gives a false impression of the state of Clare soccer. The OT in many counties is not regarded as a cup they want to be involved in eg Limerick league one of the best junior leagues in the country and have no interest. The FAI junior cup is the level at which one should judge how the team is improving and year in year out clare teams gone out early with no impact made. The game plan for nearly every team in clare in hoof the ball over the top and have a very fast forward to run after it. It works in Clare but once outside the county its rubbish against the better teams.

522 Posts
    Crap split here. I might remind ye that the Clare League thread is on it's absolute final chance on Foot.ie, if ye descend into petty squabbles and ignorant rants again, ye'll have to find somewhere else to discuss Clare football.

I'm not interested in replies to my comment. Get back on topic and stay there.

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    sure how can it get any better at junior level...we have a regional development officer...and all he does is train the underage..i doubt he has even seen that many junior games this year..spends most of his time down in ballycasey promoting shannon hibs..does anyone know has he done a session with any junior team this season
    regional development officer ( underage only ) and as a certain shannon team are in the region why should he not help with their underage teams maybe they are the only team who have asked for his help in coaching underage players to try and play football with passing / movement and keep the ball on the ground ...

" football is a simple game "

Think all this talk about teams in clare not trying to play football is nonsense, alot of teams try to go play nice attacking football when possible but sometimes it just doesnt happen, be it poor pitches,weather conditions, or players just not on their games, they dont go out intentionally to play badly. Im sure ye have all seen how INTER MILAN played against barcelona in the semi final they didnt try to play perfect football, did they?

2on2 should keep his expertise to limerick 1b.

Saying that avenue don't try to play soccer is the most laughable of the nonsense.
    Best of luck to the Oscar traynor Sunday. Who played Desmond league(won it 2 yrs ago) and Roscommon (beaten in semi last yr) along the way. Be great to have a home final so all the supporters on the ditch can not go to it an then pass judgement from hear say.

More likely they will they will come on here an speculate AvenueC than actually go and see a game. Standards in Clare are not declining but I would say that the league is in transition with core personnel at most of the top teams coming to the end of their better days and being replaced by the younger brigagde who at first glance seem to be better technically and a little bit less robust than you needed to be 10-15 years ago.

Page 42 of 55 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast