Thread: Clare League 2009/10

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by out red View Post
    vidic any tips for the weekend?
    Accum of Bridge Celtic A, Newmarket A, Bridge Utd B, Lifford, Tage A and Avenue A. Around 15/2

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    Accum of Bridge Celtic A, Newmarket A, Bridge Utd B, Lifford, Tage A and Avenue A. Around 15/2
    nice one vidic. just looking at the cup outright some nice outsiders available. think the tage have a great chance of going along way also have a feeling rock will be in with a shout come the crunch.

250 Posts
    The missing posts have been removed to rubbish and bans for those responsible.If a weeks ban doesn't work it'll be a month next time or permanent.

nice one vidic. just looking at the cup outright some nice outsiders available. think the tage have a great chance of going along way also have a feeling rock will be in with a shout come the crunch.
    Very early to be making outright winner predictions... the romance of the cup and all that...Rock have a very tricky game in this round as well. I fancy the holders to pull through in Doolin, the Clare People reckon the Burren will knock them out but Rineanna will get everyone out to this game and get back to winning ways.

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    Very early to be making outright winner predictions... the romance of the cup and all that...Rock have a very tricky game in this round as well. I fancy the holders to pull through in Doolin, the Clare People reckon the Burren will knock them out but Rineanna will get everyone out to this game and get back to winning ways.
    would totally agree on the rovers. they are the only team in the premier who would match the burren size wise so their football will get them through. i wonder is there any chance of tulla b causing a shock.

Ya the Rovers are not goin to let their grip on the cup go at this early stage. no way, especially since it's their only major trophy in the club's history they will be psyched to the gills for this game. Id say Avenue will hit Tulla B for 9 at least!

any new additions to oscar panel for knockout stages??

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    lads who is involved with avenue around here
    AvenueC , Avenue1990 the hint is in the username
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    The missing posts have been removed to rubbish and bans for those responsible.If a weeks ban doesn't work it'll be a month next time or permanent.
    Its ironic that they are all now showing suspended tags on their usernames , who says the mods have no sense of humour......

Why was 'ol planners suspended. Did
    I miss the drama? As fir avenue hitting tulla for 9...
    They be happy with 2 i'd say. I recall avenue being 1/5
    vs bridge Celtic few weeks ago an b clrc 3rd or4th in premier
    this weekend they 2/7 Vs bottom of the 3rd.
    Strange odds system. Be a handy 1000 euro :-)

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    lads who is involved with avenue around here
    I would hazard a guess and say you are looking for some information on Clonmel Celtic??????

who megod no

Suspensions

Just wondering what ye think of the way the Clare league deals with suspensions? We had a guy sent of for verbals couple of weeks ago and has got a seven game ban. Now what he said merited a red but 7 games? The problem I have with the powers that be in the Clare League is they never called him in to give his side of the story( the club did write in our report) and just handed out the suspension. When the club rang the Clare League said we can appeal to the Munster branch and we could see the referees report. See the referees report after the suspension been given out??
    The problem we have is a couple of our B players were sent off this season for verbals to the ref as well also but were called in in front of the committee to give their side of the story but our A player was not afforded this courtesy and they ended up with a four game ban as opposed to his seven.

Do ye think that if a player is going to get a ban longer than 3 games he should have the right to give his side of the story in person?

Quote Originally Posted by eric7 View Post
    Just wondering what ye think of the way the Clare league deals with suspensions? We had a guy sent of for verbals couple of weeks ago and has got a seven game ban. Now what he said merited a red but 7 games? The problem I have with the powers that be in the Clare League is they never called him in to give his side of the story( the club did write in our report) and just handed out the suspension. When the club rang the Clare League said we can appeal to the Munster branch and we could see the referees report. See the referees report after the suspension been given out??
    The problem we have is a couple of our B players were sent off this season for verbals to the ref as well also but were called in in front of the committee to give their side of the story but our A player was not afforded this courtesy and they ended up with a four game ban as opposed to his seven.

Do ye think that if a player is going to get a ban longer than 3 games he should have the right to give his side of the story in person?
    Or here is a thing to think about implementing , avoid all the suspensions and stop verbally abusing refs... solves all problems

Suspensions

True, but very easy to say that, the ref in question doesnt do himself any favours and when the adrenaline is pumping its easier said than done, but my thread was about the disciplinary procedure used in this case. Surely the Clare league can afford the man a personal hearing before ending practically his whole season. Or do you think its fair that the referees report is taken as gospel by the powers that be?

Yes of course, a ref is given the responsibility to officate a match and reports any incidents he deems worthy of mention....thats there guidelines thats why we have football matches , without them all anarchy will rule.
    Of course there is good one and bad ones there are always that in life we cant control them but we can control our reactions and if you justify verbal abuse to a ref because of bad decisions then you have accept the consequences that might bring. you said you had two players suspended before for verbal abuse now this is a third you never know there might be a rule for persistant incidents, i don't know but it musn't look good on your club if these incidents keep happening.
    So why not deal with discipiliary at your club first which you have control of, set a standard and stick to it and you never need to worry about the Clare League committee again

Quote Originally Posted by eric7 View Post

Does the player in question have a track record of being sent off for verbals ?

Quote Originally Posted by Benjy Riordan View Post
    Does the player in question have a track record of being sent off for verbals ?
    No can't remember him been sent off before for verbal abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by BigfeetBigsocks View Post
    Yes of course, a ref is given the responsibility to officate a match and reports any incidents he deems worthy of mention....thats there guidelines thats why we have football matches , without them all anarchy will rule.
    Of course there is good one and bad ones there are always that in life we cant control them but we can control our reactions and if you justify verbal abuse to a ref because of bad decisions then you have accept the consequences that might bring. you said you had two players suspended before for verbal abuse now this is a third you never know there might be a rule for persistant incidents, i don't know but it musn't look good on your club if these incidents keep happening.
    So why not deal with discipiliary at your club first which you have control of, set a standard and stick to it and you never need to worry about the Clare League committee again
    First off the two players were in the B team same club different teams with different managers who are responsible for their team and it was about 5 months apart. Plus I somehow doubt we are the only club to have a player sent off this season for verbal abuse. But again I am not talking about the referees, they put in their report whatever way they want to, what I am talking about is the way the Clare League come to their decisions on suspensions.
    The reason I mentioned both incidents in our club is the way the cases were treated differently.
    The first case the players got the opportunity to give their side of the story in person which they did and they both got four games.
    The second case he got seven games without the opportunity to give his side in person. In my opinion this is unfair on the player as he didn't get an opportunity to defend himself which I think is only fair or do you think the league are right to make the decisions on suspensions depending on their mood? Should there not be a unilateral way to process all disciplinary cases especially those that the league thinks merits long suspensions and big fines?

Eric7 , if you read through the threads for the Clare league you will find alot of opinion on this topic . Most of the posts end up in the rubbish , its a bit like the Clare League around here if its worth talking about then it can't be talked about. The CDSL have no consistency in their rulings on anything , but regarding abuse of referees the length of the suspension will depend on the thickness of the skin of the referee involved. You can break a player in half and get 3 games , tell a ref to go feck himself a little over zealously and you could be looking at 8 months. Anyway there is always the option of keeping your mouth shut during a game and get on with it. Radical, I know but maybe some players out there should try it for a while and see if things improve. Football at all levels could learn alot from the egg chasers here.

Page 28 of 55 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast