Results 981 to 1,000 of 1091

Thread: Clare League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by fifa pro View Post
    i agree they are probably a waste of time..cant believe tulla didnt show..why beat newmarket and olympic then not turn up for final..hope they had a very good excuse..when will it be replayed now..
    Hard to now are these area finals worth it at all. I remember a few years back the Munster Area final was never played at all.

Then the Fai area this year. Tulla beat Newmarket and Olympic to reach the final and then dont show to play a Rovers team who tog out and get presented the cup havin played no match at all.

I think you ll find they beat newmarket and olympic in the munster area which Avenue beat them 4-0. Was talking ti 1 of their players today and he said they were only told of change of time that morning and they couldnt field a team that evening...he seemed to think it was done to accomodate rineanna which i m sure tulla wouldnt have had a problem if they had sufficient notice. Just find it strange really that their could have been that much of a mix up in a final....i know its only the area but its still a final

match was refixed before sunday morning on clare league website ... so would assume tulla were advised ... makes a total joke of cup final which by the way nobody seems to want to play in anymore and how after fixture set one team can then get fixture re-arranged to suit them ... cannot understand why tulla play 2 games to get to final and then don't turn up.. will league now punish them for this ??

" football is a simple game "

Formerly: vidic-class
    A fitting end to a joke of a cup competition. These Area Cups are of no real interest to any team but in saying that if you were in the final of one you'd at least turn up to play in it. From what I heard both teams were notified of the kick-off change on the Wednesday but the Tulla manager threw the toys out of the pram over this. Tulla didn't turn up then out of protest not because they couldn't field 11. A Premier League Cup competition at the beginning of the season would be a lot more beneficial to teams rather than a mickey mouse cup at the end of the year when teams just want the season to be over after the main comps have been decided

The Clare League and Rineanna were informed on Friday that Tulla Utd would'nt be fulfilling the fixture.

I dont blame Tulla at all. Played ina final like this that was rearranged once and there wasnt even a trophy or clare league representative there . Absolute shambles of a competition. What exactly are you celebrating when you win??? Being one of 4-5 teams that went out of Clare in the FAI .

Lads, what did Jim Madden write in the Clare People that has upset so many people?

Quote Originally Posted by Banner_balls View Post
    Lads, what did Jim Madden write in the Clare People that has upset so many people?
    Just had a glance through it but one of the things he mentioned was about too many of the people involved in the running of the Clare League are too involved with their own clubs as well so, because of that, according to him, they dont have as good relations with clubs when dealing with them through the Clare League. Who's upset about it anyway?

Was just reading some of the comments on the Clare League guestbook link.

Having read it now myself, some of it makes sence but this is not the way to walk away from the current committe members.

Tulla were told wed night the time was changed from 11 to 6.30.
    the new time didn't suit them as they had players heading away/working/studying sun eve so it was half protest half not able to field.
    I agree with lads saying it's 'probably' meangingless but I suppose it's nice to get to play in doora for a trophy. And it's not like it's on weeks after season is over so it doesn't drag on infinatly. I can see j maddens point bout having lads on comittee and still majorly involved with their clubs but can't remember them ever influencing decisions to suit themselves or their clubs. They do a good job. Will need a good man to step up now especially as the fai will be coming to town next summer!!

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    . They do a good job. Will need a good man to step up now especially as the fai will be coming to town next summer!!
    Can you explain this ??? "FAI coming to town part"

Quote Originally Posted by Sheik View Post
    Can you explain this ??? "FAI coming to town part"
    FAI AGM is going to be on in Ennis

but can't remember them ever influencing decisions !!! getting area finals switched because it clashes with holidays ... and a few strange fixtures seemingly to suit a certain team just outside ennis to name just a few plus the big whitewash on avenue case in match against bridge celtic ... on current committe you have 2 preimer league managers / 2 first division managers & chairman of newmarket celtic ... this cannot be right that they control all decisions on discipline / fixtures / appeals etc always leaves people like me and others with a deep suspicion of of fixes & favours .. agree with madden to get on committe you should have to cut all your ties with your current club.. but as he was chairman for last 10 years why did he not do anything about it ..

When has a fixture or sorry a FINAL even been put back to wait for "one" person to return from holidays and then to let it go ahead even though Tulla could not field a team, what a joke this League is.

Surely if a club requests a fixture to be changed then "both" clubs have to agree to it?

Maybe its worth having a club man on the CL committee after all
    Last edited by Ice-man; 10/06/2010 at 12:35 PM. Reason: Needed to add info.

Avenue United Golf Classic - Saturday 19th June

Avenue United are holding a Golf Classic on Saturday June 19th at Ennis Golf Club

Team of four players; €120

Limit to apply: Men – H/Cap18 Ladies–H/Cap24

Contact 087 8055306 for timesheet.

Quote Originally Posted by Benjy Riordan View Post
    Avenue United are holding a Golf Classic on Saturday June 19th at Ennis Golf Club

Team of four players; €120

Limit to apply: Men – H/Cap18 Ladies–H/Cap24

Contact 087 8055306 for timesheet.
    jesus we all know what happened the last time avenue had golf clubs

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    jesus we all know what happened the last time avenue had golf clubs
    I'm sure someone will object to this buts its one of the funniest things I've seen on here for ages. Classic
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Why would anyoNe object? It doesn't makesense!
    Don't recall any avenue player or officials or true avenue supporters having anything to do with golf clubs.
    Ye must be talking bout the golf classic this time last yr. Great memories fair play !!

Avenue.2010 double winners.

So much for the great memory theory. Not re hashing something that's put to bed.
    but The individual was not seen at an avenue game before and certainly wasn't supporting avenue, or any one I'd say

That one will not be put to bed for a long time. Very unfortunate memory from an excellent season for ye. Pity it was not dealt with better because it would be in bed now and yer trophies would be unmarred>

Page 50 of 55 FirstFirst ... 404849505152 ... LastLast