Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Tickets on sale now at the Showgrounds

Why bother their holes updating the official website with a statement when they go and to the total opposite! Who was doing the selling in the ground tonight?

Lads im not worried that i wont get a ticket because i will!Its the fact that the first tickets were to go to Season ticket holders 400 club and johnny chadda trust!And that the rest were to be sold inside the ground at the drogheda game!were we would of having a massive crowd ie extra revenue because the sunshiners would have had to pay €15 to get in just to buy tere cup final tickets.

I hope they aren't sold out by tomorrow evenin!

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    Same old story, plan to be professional and act amateur.

Thanks to Kevin and Geoff who went out of there way to make sure the people who deserve the best tickets get them.

Selling a person 7 tickets and then someone like Red4Eva not getting a seated ticket?!?! Money first , supporters second. Getting to the cup final is a great achievement, stuff like this is why we'll never be able to compete with the big boys.
    have to agree with this
    Its decisions like tonights that damage clubs in the long term, chasing a fast buck with no thought to the past or future, just here and now.
    Its a shame that this happened because the club has never been better run.
    There are some great people involved but someone took it up themselves to make a decision that was wrong.

Im really gutted for red4eva and red metal at not getting tickets but fear these guys are a small drop in the ocean. We are only hearing about these lads because they are members of this forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post

On another noted why was tallaght the best option for a final if it is only covered on one side and no fan zones on either end! Surely Tolka or even athlones ground would be more fan friendly.
    Tallaght has a stand either side for the past two months I would say.
    Not the best place for the final. There should be no question of getting tickets for this game. RDS would have been sound.
    Must say I'm hugely disappointed with what has gone on with the tickets.
    I'll be down tomorrow night in the showgrounds where I've been most Saturday nights this year. Safe in the knowledge some cnut who couldn't name a player has my stand ticket in his pocket at home. Nice one.

Quote Originally Posted by bingoballs View Post
    I hope they aren't sold out by tomorrow evenin!
    You and me both.

Where to start!!

First of all I had nothing to do with the selling of the tickets and I dont know the exact figures but I wont be too far away.
    Since the semi final and even before it, everybody knew including the dogs in the street that more than likely there would be a huge demand for tickets and demand would outstrip supply. You then had the campaign by the Trust(a very good one) looking for more tickets, you had the various pieces in the paper plus the numerous pages on Foot about the potential shortage of tickets, so everybody had enough warning that there would be a huge demand for tickets.

People Entitled to tickets tonite were the 400 Club Members, Season Ticket Members, Johnny Chadda Members, Volunteers and Shareholders. Everybody was entitled to 2 tickets each per category, so If I am a season ticket holder and a 400 Club member, then I was entitled to 4 tickets.
    There are approx 420 400 Club Members, between 4 and 500 Season ticket holders, maybe 400 Shareholders, 15/16 Johnny Chadda Members and 50/60 Volunteers/Staff.
    On top of that, you have Match Sponsors, Player Sponsors, Club Sponsors and the players themselves.
    We also have a number of junior and youth clubs who take a certain number of tickets each home game-I'm sure they got a few per club. I also kept 200 aside for the signing section.
    When you add all that up, there aint too much left.
    Our stand holds between 2,800 and 3,000, so do the maths.

I queried the point about checking the season ticket holders- all the season ticket holders go through the same stile each home game. The season tickets are sold and distributed by one man plus himself and 2 others work that stile and would know the majority of season ticket holders to see and by name. That is why the majority of people weren't checked. If I was selling the tickets tonite and somebody asked for 2 adults and a kid, I would have given them the tickets no problem. I dont think I would have handed out 7 tickets but I bet if it was checked out, then you might find that they were entitled to them.
    We were always only going to be able to fit in 2,800/3,000 in the covered stand and there was always going to be people disapointed.
    The committee are working really hard and I dont think there was really much else we could do.If anybody has any suggestions, then feel free to write in to the Club and we will look at it. Criticism as long as it is constructive is good but I dont see any point in coming on here giving out for the sake of giving out.

Let's see can we sort out the lads out that are cheesed off

ID:
    As I explained, anybody that wasn't known to the lads selling were asked for proof. Unless I have exact proof that people got tickets who weren't members of the above categories, then there isn't a lot I can do.

No per person:
    Maybe there was a bit of leeway given.

Red Metal:
    You have my number - you can easily give me a call and I'll hold 2 for you in the singing section - no audition required.
    Your figures are out in relation to the above categories.
    Unless you have specific names of people who got tickets who were not in one of the above categories, then there is not a lot I can do.

Sligoman:
    Can you be specific and let me know who got 8 tickets and can you be sure they were not entitled to them? You have my number or you can PM me.

Silverfox:
    Your friend was correct-he was entitled to 6 tickets.
    In relation to RedMetal, it's up to him to get on the dog and bone and I'll sort him out.

DRovers:
    If you are there tomorrow night @ 6.30 pm, you will get a ticket - no problem.

RedForEva:
    What time did you go to get you ticket? One of the lads selling came to our meeting around 8.30pm and there was still covered seats left.
    Either way if you want tickets in the singing section, let me know and I'll hold one for we.
    We are also selling Sligo Rovers Umbrellas for 5 euro - your choice!!

CF1989:
    Can you be specific and let me know who got 7 tickets and can you be sure they were not entitled to them? You have my number or you can PM me.
    I think I have gone through the figures in relation to the categories already but give me a buzz if my maths dont add up.

PC Sligo:
    In fairness, there was no way he ever going to get a stand ticket going in tomorrow afternoon and you should have advised him of same.
    If he wants 2 tickets for the singing section, I can organise it for him.Give me a buzz - I might even get Tohers to sponsor a set of earplugs for him because some of the signing lads will be out of tune.
    He was entitled to buy 2 tickets as a season ticket holder but not guaranteed a seat in the stand.

SRFC1928:
    You can still go up tomorrow and buy your tickets-no problem.
    RedMetal?RedForEva will get sorted-they know what to do.

Shiba:
    I wonder did the lads selling the tickets know your mother-maybe that's why they didn't ask for proof.
    FAI picked the stadium, not us.

RoryH:
    Can you be specific and let me know who got 7 tickets and can you be sure they were not entitled to them? You have my number or you can PM me.
    As I said RedforEva will get a ticket if he wants one.

A. Dolan:
    As I said RedforEva and ReDMetal will get a ticket if they want one.

Dong2008:
    If you want a ticket, give me a shout.

ALSO:

- Ticketmaster are selling 600 tickets tomorrow, first come first served.
    - There are a small number of singing section tickets left.
    - Hopefully Fingal might return some of their allocation.
    - If we sell out tomorrow night, we will look for more but no guarantees.
    - Get the number of Robert McDonald of the ad in the Fingal Independant!!

Everybody who looks for a ticket will get sorted one way or another. For the record, there are loads of unpaid jobs going involving Sligo Rovers so feel free to give me a shout. Also if you are not happy with the way things are being run, then you have the option of going on the committee.
    Everybody on the committee is working hard but there is always room for more people but it will involve a lot of hard work.

Any ideas/suggestions, get them out there and we will look at them.

Hopefully, I have answered the majority of questions.

Kevin, the mother was up there tonight and when she asked how many tickets was she allowed get she was told "How many do you want?", sums it up really.
    There are a lot of people who put great work in and deserve a ticket, but surely you can see that they would not all have come up together in the first hour or so to get tickets. People were arriving, getting tickets without producing season tickets and getting on the phone to others to come down and get their tickets.
    MMG was nearly hoarse shouting the instructions out to the line of people, if she had just shouted season ticket holders only i'm certain half the crowd would have walked away.

Smile

i must commed k. lydon for his total commitment to the cause & the answers that he gave people here . i also want to clear up a statement that was made hear regarding the club "making a quick buck" on selling the tickets. the club does not get one red cent from the "gate " money only the prize money of 100k if we win the cup & 75k if we loose it.

Celtic V,

Is you Mum a member of any of the above categories?
    Are you a member? Were all the tickets adults?

When U2 have a concert sale and the tickets go on sale @ 9am or whenever, they are sold out fairly quickly and there always going to be disappointment. If you go looking for a U2 ticket @ 11am, you wont get one.

The same when Next have their sale @ 5am, and you arrive in @ 11am looking for a bargain and it aint there.

The early bird catches the worm.
    It was late Monday evening when the ticket allocation was finalised and we only got the tickets yesterday morning.
    You have to remember that everybody on the committee are all volunteers and I think thr people selling the tickets did a very good job.
    It mightn't be a perfect way of doing, but if people have a better way of doing things, please let us know.

If you really feel this strong about it Celtic V, then maybe you should go to your Mum and say to her that she shouldn't really have got those tickets and she should return them to the Club so that genuine supporters can avail of them.

You can give me a call if you want me to collect them off you.

You are definitely wrong when you say half the people that got tickets tonight were not of those categories. If you have names, please let me know.
    Last edited by Kevin L; 06/11/2009 at 7:54 AM.

ALSO:

- Ticketmaster are selling 600 tickets tomorrow, first come first served.
    - There are a small number of singing section tickets left.
    - Hopefully Fingal might return some of their allocation.- If we sell out tomorrow night, we will look for more but no guarantees.
    - Get the number of Robert McDonald of the ad in the Fingal Independant!!

Everybody who looks for a ticket will get sorted one way or another. For the record, there are loads of unpaid jobs going involving Sligo Rovers so feel free to give me a shout. Also if you are not happy with the way things are being run, then you have the option of going on the committee.
    Everybody on the committee is working hard but there is always room for more people but it will involve a lot of hard work.

Any ideas/suggestions, get them out there and we will look at them.

Hopefully, I have answered the majority of questions.

The word is Shams supporters are buying up all the Fingal tickets.

Kevin, Thank you for your quick reply to alay everyones fears.
    As I said in my previous post, I dont think the club has ever been run aswell as it is now.
    And I think everyone of us is delighted and proud of the job ye are doing especialy when you see other clubs around us falling apart.
    Thanks also for your constant communication between the club and the fans, this is something that was lacking in the past and nips hearsay and potential problems in the bud.
    Also Fair play to you for trying to look after everyone in relation to tickets and the singing section.

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin L View Post
    I queried the point about checking the season ticket holders- all the season ticket holders go through the same stile each home game. The season tickets are sold and distributed by one man plus himself and 2 others work that stile and would know the majority of season ticket holders to see and by name. That is why the majority of people weren't checked.
    That is a weak and unacceptable excuse. It should have been policy to ask for ID regardless.
    "Overwhelmed"

[QUOTE=Kevin L;1265798]Celtic V,
    When U2 have a concert sale and the tickets go on sale @ 9am or whenever, they are sold out fairly quickly and there always going to be disappointment. If you go looking for a U2 ticket @ 11am, you wont get one.

The same when Next have their sale @ 5am, and you arrive in @ 11am looking for a bargain and it aint there.

The early bird catches the worm.
    It was late Monday evening when the ticket allocation was finalised and we only got the tickets yesterday morning.
    [QUOTE]

KevinL that is very disingenuous.

If the club you have followed all your life have released a press statement and posted on the club website that tickets for 400 club members etc were to go on sale Thursday and were limited to 2 per person is it not reasonable to take their word for it. (There was no mention of oh BTW people who are members of the 400 club and others are entitled to 2 tickets for each membership affiliation.)

By your own admission most of the tickets are already gone where were the 2,800 - 3,000 home fans during the season when the rest of us were there week in week out home and away ?

The change in attitude from earlier in the week to your most recent points is dissapointing to say the least.

Surely the people selling the tickets (I know you say you weren’t there) knew the position re only 2 tickets per person when it was posted on the Rovers website and released as a club statement and you had said same here on the forum. I would have thought they were briefed/contacted before the sales started.

No matter what way you dice it people were getting more tickets than they were entitled to and obviously they will be used for sunshiners given our average attendance over the season.

A mate has just been in the Showgrounds and bought 5 temporary seating tickets and was not asked for ID/Season ticket etc. Therefore the club have gone back on the statement as in theory he should have been only able to buy 2 only at 6.30 this evening.
    Last edited by pcsligo; 06/11/2009 at 9:29 AM. Reason: typo

Christ, to think we all gave out about Fran Gavin's arrogant and condescending attitude on Ocean FM..........
    "Overwhelmed"

I am a share holder, a season ticket holder and a 400 club member. There is no way in F@CK I should get 6 tickets. It would not be fair or RIGHT on everyone else. NO MORE EXCUSES.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by pcsligo View Post
    A mate has just been in the Showgrounds and bought 5 temporary seating tickets and was not asked for ID/Season ticket etc. Therefore the club have gone back on the statement as in theory he should have been only able to buy 2 only at 6.30 this evening.
    I'd hate to be a MC member if we run out of tickets tonight there are going to be hundreds of people attending tonight for the sole purpose of buying tickets as advertised by the sounds of it there can't be many of the 4500 left at this stage might be an idea buy some helmuts and flak gear and give that Coleman guy a call if he is not too busy up at Knock shrine and ask him could he recreate the "loafs and fishes" with our ticket allocation.

Fingals arrangments are much more personnel you ring them up and one of the players delivers the tickets.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinred View Post

Fingals arrangments are much more personnel you ring them up and one of the players delivers the tickets.
    They'll run out of fans

All this ticket scrambling was caused solely by the FAI. The average attendance for FAI Cup finals over the past four years (05-08) was 16,456. So i dont know how or who though Tallaght Stadium was going to be big enough. Not sure what if any logic is behind that decision.

This decision has caused all the problems here. It's left the club in a bad situation and it's given fans fear that they'll end up without a ticket. I'm not sure how the ticket distribution could have been handled better as I dont know the ins and out's but I imagine it's been trying for everyone. I think everyone who wants a ticket will end up getting one when the dust settles.
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast