Thread: Doyler - potentially our best EVER signing

Doyler - potentially our best EVER signing

I know this will generate a whole heap of replies from the Flynny fans ( I'm one of them too, by the way ) but I think this season will prove that Doyler is quite simply our best signing ever.

Towards the end of last season he was begining to show his hugh potential ( this was also the case before he damaged his shoulder ).

Now this season he has come out of the blocks firing on all cylinders.....scoring in virtually all friendlies.....plus 2 today for the Irish U-21's.

PREDICTION: He will be one of the stars of the League this season.

It is mouth watering to think of us watching Georgie, Flynny, Fenn, Flynny 2, Kearney, Nwanko, Doyler, Hoggy, Sweeney, et. all on the same team. Add in Colin T, Dan, Woodsie, "Super Keeper" and some of our young lads like Nolan, Bennett, Fraher.......plus the 2 new signings Dolan is promising us.

Phew, some looking Team.

Don't anyone knock Dolan and his signings again.......Doyler could well earn us a handsome packet in a couple of years time.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Agrees. Doyler is going to prove to be some shrewd investemeny by Pat this season. The guy is dynamite. His pace alone is unreal. I foresee him eclipsing John O Flynn this season.

Now theres a prospect, Flynn and Doyle together firing on all cylinders.

Unbeatable and unstoppable.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

I completely agree with you Crow.
    Indeed I made the same claim myself, last August!
    http://foot.ie/showthread.php?s=&postid=70932#post70932

he could chip in with a few more goals.missed a lot of sitters last season

never forget the sitters he missed in the "away" game agaist rovers

If I remember correctly Doyle was one of our best players that day and he used his pace to create those chances in the homeless scums 'home' fixture at the cross.We still won 2-0 so the chances that he missed didn't matter that much anyway.

Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
    .We still won 2-0 so the chances that he missed didn't matter that much anyway.
    they mightnt have mattered that day but there will come a time that missed chances will come back to haunt us

Maybe your right corner but don't judge Doyler on that one game.He was our best player in the second half of last season and hopefully he will go on to better things this year.

Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
    Maybe your right corner but don't judge Doyler on that one game.He was our best player in the second half of last season and hopefully he will go on to better things this year.
    dont get me wrong, doyler is a great player

just saying he could chip in with a few more goals

Is Doyler not rightfooted? Ah just shows how good he is if he's scoring goals with his head and both feet.

For me he was tied in 2nd place with Hoggie as player of the season.

I'd play him on the right for now. I'd say he'll move up front in time. Brian Kerr mentioned him as one to keep any eye on during an interview on Today Fm before the Brazil match. Doyler to solve Ireland's right wing problem?
    Oh no not them again

eastcork
    what biy - Doyle is right footed.....tells how much you know!

He is right-footed. The fact that he was one of our 3 best players last season in his first season and playing out of position says a lot. The guy is getting better by the game and I agree, I think he'll be a massive star in this league, and quite possibly beyond it.

This is has year alright. Great seeing him in the papers today getting a presentation for being top scorer in the Madeira Tournament.

Ya know what? We've a handy team taking shape...

eastcork
    i think he should start up front....that is his best position by a mile. Him and one of fenn/flynn would be my choice with George in the middle with Nwanko

ye he should def be playin up front.cant see him being at city next season if even the end of this season to be honest

IMO doyler will start n the right, with keraney and sof fighting for left spot

if feen and flynny hit it off,we could be in for a treat

i have to disagree,i think doyler should be up front, he has proved over the last 2 mths he is a goal scorer.jof mightnt be fit at the start of the season,well not match fit anyway, and fenn is still not proven himself yet granted he hasnt had a chance yet but i think start the season with doyler up front and see from there.why not try fenn on the right.

Why would you try Fenn on the right and Doyler upfront when have both proven themselves in the opposite positions?

Doyler will make a great striker. For now the best way to accomadate all our talent is to have him on the right side of midfield. In his Big Interview last season he says he doesnt mind playing on right, he said something along the lines that he doesnt really care as long as he's playing but if pushed he'd chose upfront.

Our first XI could have 5 strikers in it!
    Oh no not them again

5 Strikers doesn't that remind anyone of Ossie Ardile's spurs team in the mid 90s with Klinsmaan and co banging in goals and left right and center and then the team not bothering to defend,and them still getting beaten every second game and nearly getting relegated. I hope Pat Dolan isn't argentinian.

Talking

5 strikers? Wow, we havent had 5 good strikers over the last 5 years and now we get them all together!!!!!!!!!! I think we all deserve a smile now as we remember Kabia, Dobbs, McGlynn, Hartigan, etc. That old saying is true " All good things to those who wait(suffer!)"