Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Trap excludes Steven Reid, Andy Reid, Finnan and Morrison for play-off squad.

20 Posts
    The preference of Morrison over Stokes is mind boggling; Morrison has had his chance & it's time to accept that he was never that good to begin with & offers diddly squat. Stokes, for all his personal faults is an emerging talent & potentially a genuine one.

Stokes has it all to prove, Morrison has none. Let's not even mention the fact that I would sooner suspect a "real" Irishman to give more in the name of a senior cap than Clinton flippin' Morrison.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Too easy!

I really don't think we will qualify and, like I say, any other manager (especially if he was homegrown) would be in for a torrent of abuse for leaving out the Reids and Finnan.
    Thing is, some managers earn a bit of leeway and their critique to be put into perspective.
    We look, listen, observe, scrutinise and comment upon Trap's every action/word/decision. There is no excuse for the standard of some of our play in the group, especially in a few of the home games.
    Trap feels stronger with persisting with the same line up.
    His choices can be nitpicked but in reality the Andy Reid squad omission is about the only one that most people agree upon.

207 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Because Portsmouth are desperate for points and probably willing to throw people in to any sort of situation. .
    They're not going to risk a 1st choice right-back getting injured and being out for 6 months for the sake of his starting one match. If he started, he was fit, as he would've been for the previous games.

1,928 Posts
    Finnan has said he has quite someway to go before being 100% fit.

75 Posts
    The amount of bull being spouted here is unbelievable if stephen reid is not fit enough to make the blackburn 16 today how can he possibly be fit enough to play for us in 2 weeks. We are the biggest shower of moaners and begrudgers in the world.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    We are the biggest shower of moaners and begrudgers in the world.
    I'd agree that we're moaners - it's frustrating having two of our better players omitted through a lack of fitness (which was debatable until today), but I fail to see how anyone can be accused of begrudgery here... It's not as if we're all bitter little Dunphyites who want the team to fail just to have our reservations confirmed! Well, maybe Weldoninhio...

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    The preference of Morrison over Stokes is mind boggling; Morrison has had his chance & it's time to accept that he was never that good to begin with & offers diddly squat. Stokes, for all his personal faults is an emerging talent & potentially a genuine one.

Stokes has it all to prove, Morrison has none. Let's not even mention the fact that I would sooner suspect a "real" Irishman to give more in the name of a senior cap than Clinton flippin' Morrison.
    What we need in these 2 games more than anything else is experience. For all his faults this is one thing that Clinton can offer us. Stokes IS one for the future but I don't think France in a 2 leg play off is when you should be bringing someone like him in. It's not as if he hasn't had enough friendlies to try him out in. I for one can remember Clinton scoring some vital goals for us under Brian Kerr. Maybe someone should give Trap some of those DVDs. At least then he might be able to see what he can offer us.
    “I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    The commentator on ESPN said that Steven Reid has stressed that the reason he is out of Blackburn squad today is nothing to do with the knee but because of kick on the ankle in the carling cup game
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Honest to God I cannot get my head around this sort of mentality. Would you prefer to bring back Staunton as manager?
    Wouldnt get rid of trap, but i think alot of ireland fans are getting way carried away. Fair enough, we went through the campaign unbeaten - but we have to remember that the fact is that we only beat 2 teams throughout the whole campaign (the mighty cyprus and georgia!! Theyre the only 2 teams we could beat ffs!!).

Im baffled by some of his decisions. While were tough to beat, if we go a goal behind against france, how can he change it? Wouldnt put andy reid in the starting 11 (and think hes overrated) but id still have him in the squad as with 20 minutes to go and were chasing a goal hes a great option to bring on to help change the match. The likes of Liam poxy miller isnt gona do that

France will beat us in the playoff as they have players that can turn on the magic to dig out a goal (like henry in lansdowne).

Though if we get alot of luck and get through, I think we'll do well in the world cup - we will be very hard to beat which will help in scraping out of the group stages and we'll be tough to beat in one off matches in the knockout stages! Though we wont be pretty to watch! (a bit like us under doolin!!)

Just wish trap would include some of the decent players hes doesnt seem to have any time for!!
    Last edited by Cosmo; 31/10/2009 at 5:58 PM.
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

89 Posts
    Think i suggested this before. Trap has pretty much indicated that if we qualify for the world cup he'll look at the squad again. He did say that he will look at andy reid and lee carsley in the pre-wc friendlies. His 'system' will not get us far in the world cup in fairness. And I don't believe trap is the kind of manager who will think just qualifying for the world cup is enough, i'm sure in the back of his mind, as remote as it is, he will look to see if there's a way to win it. I know that's almost laughable, but he does have a winning mentality (in the long run at least!).

The squads he's chosen have pretty much been organised around the 6 defenders, 4 attackers philosophy. I think this will change after the play-offs

89 Posts
    Oh and finnan was injured in the portsmouth match today so i assume he would have been out of the running in the end anyway

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    You are a marked man Doc You are required to provide proof.
    One timeline indicates,
    Joey last played for Bolton Oct 18,
    one press report of Joey's Ireland squad anguish Oct 29.
    I definately remember him being fit and being overlooked. He hasn't played for Bolton since Oct 18th alright. Doesn't mean he wasn't fit though!! (As I'm sure someone like Gibson can attest too)... I found this

http://www.setanta.com/au/Articles/F...rn/gnid-37284/

This'll probbly get twisted into me advocating an O'Brien call up, which it isn't. I'm stressing I'm just worried that Trapp might be over reacting to the media issue from the S Reid knee thing. Reid wasn't even on the bench tonight so again, it could be that Trapp sincerely thinks he has nothing to bring to the squad at this stage in his fitness. However there's a contradiction then in his inclusion for the Italy/Montenegro games. And I'm just hoping it's not down to the comments in the media...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The amount of bull being spouted here is unbelievable if stephen reid is not fit enough to make the blackburn 16 today how can he possibly be fit enough to play for us in 2 weeks. We are the biggest shower of moaners and begrudgers in the world.
    Ah Come on!! It's too easy to cite that we're all begrudgers and moaners that want S Reid to start against France. Way too easy

I've said a million times that S Reid, more than most, takes more time to recover from injuries and that I wouldn't have him play.

The thing is the contradictions in Trapps thinking? Why include him for Italy? Why exclude him now? I pay as much heed to Trapps press conferences as I do to Brian Cowens, cos it's all non commital jargain. Is this going to be another Andy Reid scenario is the question for me. Why? Because he saw fit to include him then and to exclude him now, since the Reid & Allardyce response in the media...

Man! It's like going out with a really tasty looking mare. She's a bit moody, doesn't believe in reason or accountability, and I'm still waiting on her to come across with the goods.... But she's deadly looking so ye can't say anything yet!!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

also can somebody shed some light on why delap is always overlooked. he plays a similar style game to whelan and andrews often keeps whelan out of the stoke team.

regularly gets his game for a club team thats superior to andrew's team, add in that lawrence is also in the squad so as trap does not like upsetting the balance of the team how about 3 midfielders that train together everyday and no each other inside out.

he is versatile and finally as with the a reid argument when ireland go behind there is no plan b. imagine richard dunne coming forward for his longthrows him and doyler would surley give gallas and abidal a tough time in the aerial battle. i really think he should be in the squad, i think he ticks all the boxes as a player trap likes. except his age.

even if we did not score directly off of his throws the constant bombardment would tire their defenders out. all in all like a reid an option worth having on the bench at least.

and agree with what someone said above if one of our forwards were struggling or ireland really needing to defend a lead what would be wrong with a 4-4-1-1 or 4-5-1 with reid behind a lone striker he can play there as well as cm or left wing also people go on about mcgeedy but he has yet to score in 25+ internationals and is final ball is v poor i would be surprised if he has more than 4 assists
    Last edited by wexfordman; 01/11/2009 at 1:41 AM.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFCSixty/Eighty View Post
    What we need in these 2 games more than anything else is experience. For all his faults this is one thing that Clinton can offer us. Stokes IS one for the future but I don't think France in a 2 leg play off is when you should be bringing someone like him in. It's not as if he hasn't had enough friendlies to try him out in. I for one can remember Clinton scoring some vital goals for us under Brian Kerr. Maybe someone should give Trap some of those DVDs. At least then he might be able to see what he can offer us.
    In fairness it was 1 against the Swiss and 1 against Israel - lets not go over board but I do take your point on experience. However he hasnt featured for such a long time I doubt there is much to pick between him an Stokes as a squad player - certainly nothing to be outraged by.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    I definately remember him being fit and being overlooked. He hasn't played for Bolton since Oct 18th alright. Doesn't mean he wasn't fit though!! (As I'm sure someone like Gibson can attest too)... I found this

http://www.setanta.com/au/Articles/F...rn/gnid-37284/
    There is not a strong enough case for including Joey's non selection as part of a suspicion that Trap was over reacting to media reports.
    Afair, he was in the squad for home game against Cyprus last Oct.

I'm just worried that Trapp might be over reacting to the media issue from the S Reid knee thing. Reid wasn't even on the bench tonight so again, it could be that Trapp sincerely thinks he has nothing to bring to the squad at this stage in his fitness. However there's a contradiction then in his inclusion for the Italy/Montenegro games. And I'm just hoping it's not down to the comments in the media..
    S Reid was in the original squad for the last 2 games as part of a 10 man midfield. A hope that he would be fit to play? or just to have a look at him in training, planning ahead for the play offs? now Trap is reconciled that will not be fit enough.

But there is plenty of room for conspiracies around Andy Reid's exclusion.

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    In fairness it was 1 against the Swiss and 1 against Israel - lets not go over board but I do take your point on experience. However he hasnt featured for such a long time I doubt there is much to pick between him an Stokes as a squad player - certainly nothing to be outraged by.
    Yeah, its not like his goals to games ratio for Ireland is the same as Kevin Doyles or anything.

We will NOT be going to South Africa with Trap the clown in charge.

Quote Originally Posted by weldoninhio View Post
    Yeah, its not like his goals to games ratio for Ireland is the same as Kevin Doyles or anything.

We will NOT be going to South Africa with Trap the clown in charge.
    Were we going to go to South Africa with somebody else in charge then?

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noddy102 View Post
    Were we going to go to South Africa with somebody else in charge then?
    With someone else in charge we might have beaten the mighty Montenegro

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    I thought there were rules on this forum about wind up merchants
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast