Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Trap excludes Steven Reid, Andy Reid, Finnan and Morrison for play-off squad.

Whats all the fuss about? Trap Out, Paul? Lads, as said above S.Reid is injured and we need our midfielders willing to make crushing tackles, and Stokes will prob get two hat tricks for Hibs before the playoff to shut us all up! Finnan hasn't played for us in too long to include him now and he's the only exclusion im surprised at.. And Andy Reid... Lets talk about him on the 19th of November!

Lets see if the 'system' can get us to the world cup and have a bit of trust in Trap for now.

Jesus Christ is all I can say

I've been calling for Clinton to be included all campaign long, to put Stokes in ahead of him is nonsense

Andy Reid is no surprise but what the hell is Liam Miller doing in there ahead of Steven Reid

549 Posts
    Not too surprised by Stephen Reids abscence (doubt if he he match fit for a match of this importance) but

I though Finnan would be in.

Perhaps Trap has decided to let the team/squad that got (mostly got) us to this stage fight the last two battles.

Anthony Stokes is the most over-rated joke that has ever come out of Ireland...........TRAP OUT!

Get the finger out ya stupid Italian b0llocks that squad isn't good enough and you know it.
    Last edited by rambler14; 30/10/2009 at 3:53 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
    thanks. this made me laugh, after being initially very annoyed at steve's exclusion.
    I think we all need a laugh after the last couple of days...

Its a message of intent from trap in fairness. I think he knows himself that bringing reid in kinda says to the other lads, well ye have done a job but this is who we really want even if he isn't played. This way the lads confidence is increased and their self-belief that we can beat the french as trap sees it. The line "We were undefeated in all 10 games and this is a reflection of how we have played and also the mental strength of this team. " Anyway lets just hope now his belief is solidified come the 19th of november.

I like the headline :"No Reid in Trapp squad"

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude View Post
    Whats all the fuss about? Trap Out, Paul? Lads, as said above S.Reid is injured and we need our midfielders willing to make crushing tackles, and Stokes will prob get two hat tricks for Hibs before the playoff to shut us all up! Finnan hasn't played for us in too long to include him now and he's the only exclusion im surprised at.. And Andy Reid... Lets talk about him on the 19th of November!

Lets see if the 'system' can get us to the world cup and have a bit of trust in Trap for now.
    M@ttitude, read a few more of my posts

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    M@ttitude, read a few more of my posts
    I know, ha, I just got two texts at the same time from my bros saying Trap out too! Easily wound up!

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    I think stokes is technically a very good player - just seems to be little bit lacking in the head.

But i would have liked morrison in the squad, also would have had stephen reid in - even to bring him on with 20mins to go if we needed to shore up midfield especiallyif we were leading.

As per usual liam millers inclusion, frustrates the hell out of me.....offers nothing. Nothing at all on the pitch.
    Last edited by back of the net; 30/10/2009 at 4:14 PM.
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

206 Posts
    Kelly, McShane or Nolan have hardly "got us to where we are now" anymore than Finnan, have they? A baffling exclusion.

49 Posts
    bloody hell people ud think morrison was messi on here. ive no problem stokes been in there. scoring and playing regularly now for hibs. forget morrison now hes old news. pity stephen reid wasnt included but he will be back.

130 Posts
    Disgusted Stokes is in, the guy hasnt justified his inclusion and his attitude stinks.

I would understand S Reids omission if Trap hadnt included him in the previous squad. I can only assume the omission had been discussed/agreed with S Reid.

A Reid was never going to get in at this late stage, either was Clint unfortunately.

Finnan exclusion makes no sense. The only thing I can think of here is loyalty, it is likely Nolan wouldve been the one to make way.

206 Posts
    Finnan came out of international retirement for his country when we needed him! SURELY he deserves a place. I'm stunned, I really am.

I don't get the hatred for Stokes when Shane Long is in the squad. I was under the impression Leon Best was injured. Andy Reid being excluded doesn't bother me as i've come to expect it. Steven Reid being absent is a big disappointment. Finnan not being in the squad bothers me.

Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    But it's ok guys, Stokes is in.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1030/ireland.html

Goalkeepers
    Shay Given
    Keiren Westwood
    Joe Murphy

Defenders
    John O'Shea
    Richard Dunne
    Stephen Kelly
    Kevin Kilbane
    Eddie Nolan
    Sean St. Ledger
    Paul McShane
    Darren O’Dea

Midfielders
    Aiden McGeady
    Damien Duff
    Darron Gibson
    Glenn Whelan
    Keith Andrews
    Liam Miller
    Stephen Hunt
    Andy Keogh
    Liam Lawrence

Forwards
    Kevin Doyle
    Robbie Keane
    Shane Long
    Leon Best
    Anthony Stokes
    This is Fu(!<in ASTONISHING!! If this was Staunton, his job would be on the line, as should Trap’s.

The only positive is, if we can filed the best 11 out of that lot and paly with constant harassment, we may scrape through, but I WOULD bet against it!!!

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    bloody hell people ud think morrison was messi on here. ive no problem stokes been in there. scoring and playing regularly now for hibs. forget morrison now hes old news. pity stephen reid wasnt included but he will be back.
    a bit OTT there duggie dont ya think , morrison is limited of course - but he has experience when it comes to international football and has scored goals for us. Combine that with his desire to get back playing with ireland, i think he would be a good option to bring if we needed to making a striker change.

I dont agree with you on forgetting about morrison, but each to their own i guess.
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    a bit OTT there duggie dont ya think , morrison is limited of course - but he has experience when it comes to international football and has scored goals for us. Combine that with his desire to get back playing with ireland, i think he would be a good option to bring if we needed to making a striker change.

I dont agree with you on forgetting about morrison, but each to their own i guess.
    where has this morrison thing come from anyway. trap was never going to call him up. im glad hes gone for stokes. hes younger and more of an option for the future if things keep going well for him at hibs. morrison is out of the picture now if u ask me. thats my opinion anyway.

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post

Indeed. There's not many strikers playing at a decent level who've actually scored goals or even played for us in competitive internationals.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    what a joke, stokes scores a goal against the worst rangers team in decades and gets in
    That's not fair, he also scored against St. Johnstone a few weeks back

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    This is Fu(!<in ASTONISHING!! If this was Staunton, his job would be on the line
    That's because he would be preparing us for a friendly, having finished 4th or 5th in the group.

Bringing in Finnan now may just distrupt the camp at the moment? Or maybe not.. But lets just stick to the same gang of players that have been involved in THIS campaign, he's showing faith in his squad. Stokes is one for the future, he's only bloody 21 ffs!!!

72 Posts
    Don't think Stokes will play any part against the French, just as Morrison wouldn't have, had he been in the squad.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast