Thread: Best /Worst Commentator

just to back up Murray Walker here are some of his best quotes ::

"He's obviously gone in for a wheel change. I say obviously because I can't see it"
    "With half the race gone, there is half the race still to go"

"Do my eyes deceive me, or is Senna's Lotus sounding rough ?"

"Anything happens in Grand Prix racing and it usually does"

"Alboreto has dropped back up to fifth place"

"As you look at the first four, the significant thing is that Alboreto is 5th"

"I can't imagine what kind of problem Senna has. I imagine it must be some sort of grip problem"

"He is shedding buckets of adrenalin in that car"

"It's raining and the track is wet"

"And there's just a few more corners for Nigel Mansell to go to win the Canadian Grand Prix...and...he's going rather slow....HE'S STOPPING HE'S STOPPING!"

"and this is the third placed car about to lap the second placed car"

"they say clothes maketh the man... the clothes are Niki Lauda's, but the contents are me..." as Murray prepares to take a drive in a F1 car." [He gets a total distance of... oh, 1 foot before he stalls it.] (Apparently, this was the second attempt to film Murray in an F1 McLaren - the first, earlier that day, had gone very well, but for technical reasons couldn't be used!)

[During a F1 race, describing how the leader can see the driver following him] "... Mansell can see him in his earphone..."

"So Bernie [Ecclestone], in the seventeen years since you bought McLaren, which of your many achievements do you think was the most memorable ?" Bernie Answers, "Well I don't remember buying McLaren." [Bernie Ecclestone used to own the Brabham team].

Murrary: "What's that? There's a BODY on the track!!!" James: "Um, I think that that is a piece of BODY-WORK, from someone's car."

Murray: There's a fiery glow coming from the back of the Ferrari James: No Murray, that's his rear safety light

As an introductory piece for a rallysprint race, Murray was put in the Navigator's seat alongside Tony Pond in a Chevette HSR (270 BHP, rwd, and TWITCHY), added an in-car camera, and wired Murray for sound. The result can be deduced by extrapolating his usual excitement and enthusiasm, and adding a large pinch of raw terror! "And there's a 600 foot drop on my left..AND we're doing 120 mph... AND we're approaching a hairpin...OH MY GOD we're going to die..."

[after a post race interview with Mansell after the Austrian GP 1987] Murray : "How did you get that nasty bumb on your head Nigel?" [Nigel leans forward to show the camera as Murray pokes it with his finger !] Nigel: "OWCH!!"

Murray: And look at the flames coming from the back of Berger's McLaren
    James: Actually, Murray, they're not flames, it's the safety light.
    Murray, commentating on rallycross from Lydden, describes how a BMW driver has cut holes in his windscreen so that his visibility is improved in all the muck... as he is doing so, the car crashes heavily into an earth bank...

From the Spanish GP 1995: "and Eddie Jordan is in fifth place"... (actually Eddie Irvine in one of his compatriot Eddie Jordan's cars).

"...and he's lost both right front tyres" (which may have been accurate back in the days of the Tyrrell P34, but it was from 1995!)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Originally posted by pete
    Oh almost forgot Peter Collins fro F1 on RTE!

terrible aright. something happens about two laps ago, ive noticed it, the crowds noticed it, my dogs noticed it but peter hasnt.

the worst commentator of all is Frank Stapelton.

The man is so biased its unbelieveable. Hates to see British teams losing in the european games. he ends up blaming losses on refs or something. he gets really frustrated when it happens. usually he finishes with a "Thats disgusting" when it does

Originally posted by max power
    "Anything happens in Grand Prix racing and it usually does"
    "Anything can happen" I believe.

Murrary: "What's that? There's a BODY on the track!!!" James: "Um, I think that that is a piece of BODY-WORK, from someone's car."
    That's my all time favourite quote.

the good:
    Martin Tyler
    Gabriel Egan

the bad:
    Ryle Nugent
    Peter Collins

and the ugly:
    Marty Morrisey

John Motson, his commentry of one of Sweden's game's in usa 94, about how the ball was made in huddersfield, the net's were made in York, and the Sweden team strip was made in manchester, going on about this for half the game does it for me.
    I guess he was making the self appointed football master race feel like they had some involvment in that world cup
    Ron Atkinson on itv/utv is another one who's great craic to listen to zzzzzzzzzzzzz.
    Another master of the mic is channel 5's (i know you don't get that station @ home) John Barnes. While wrapping up the final moment's of Scotland's 6-1 hammering to Holland, he asked Pat Nevin ''so Pat what positives do you think Scotland can take from this tonight''. Pat Nevin looked like he wanted to kill him.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I hate Andy Grey. Used to like him but now I really despise him. So biased to Everton and Man United. All he says are things like "What a Goal" and "The ref has got it wrong there" When clearly Grey doesn't know the rules himself.

Frank Stapelton is shocking. Greece away springs to mind.

Hamiliton is terrible as well. Some of his gaffs are truely comical.

O'Muirecheartaigh:
    "Fox has the ball on the 40, he goes on a solo run.He's on the 21, being chased by Rabbitte.....sweet jesus, thats the first time I've seen a rabbit chase a fox at Croke Park".
    That was the funniest thing I've ever heard live by a commentator. He was talking about a Tipperary v Galway All-Ireland Semi-Final in 1991. Pat Fox and Joe Rabbitte were the players.
    "O'Hailpin has the ball on the seventy, his fathers from Fermanagh, his mothers from Fiji.........neither a hurling stronghold"................thats another.

Originally posted by joeSoap
    O'Muirecheartaigh:
    "Fox has the ball on the 40, he goes on a solo run.He's on the 21, being chased by Rabbitte.....sweet jesus, thats the first time I've seen a rabbit chase a fox at Croke Park".
    That was the funniest thing I've ever heard live by a commentator. He was talking about a Tipperary v Galway All-Ireland Semi-Final in 1991. Pat Fox and Joe Rabbitte were the players.
    "O'Hailpin has the ball on the seventy, his fathers from Fermanagh, his mothers from Fiji.........neither a hurling stronghold"................thats another.

sometimes its better to listen to the game on the radio whe he is doing it, watchin on tv later is a bit of a let down, when it comes to gaa hes in a league of his own..
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Talking

The Pearse fella now think on BBC Radio formerly of Ch5 in the uk is good for his "emotion"

Almost forgot Tom Tyrell on Today Fm saturdays is sooooo Manchester biased. Actually i'm gonna go for him as worst closely followed by peter Collins.

3,499 Posts
    Noone can touch Clive Tyldsley (sp?) on ITV for ManYoo bias.

Originally posted by joeSoap
    O'Muirecheartaigh:
    There are some real gems from him.
    The Ó hAilpín one and this one are my personal favs;
    "Timmy McCarthy hand passed to Niall McCarthy, no relation. Nial McCarthy back to Timmy McCarthy, still no relation."
    The way he can just drift from Irish to English and vice versa is a true talent.
    Oh no not them again

what about jim sheridan.rugby and tennis commentator,boy was his voice tough to listen to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    Crumlin UTD