Thread: Alan Kirby

535 Posts

Alan Kirby

Well lads,

Any truth in the rumour that if ye get promoted that Alan Kirby will be coming back to us .Heard this around Longford over the weekend

Well lads,

Any truth in the rumour that if ye get promoted that Alan Kirby will be coming back to us .Heard this around Longford over the weekend
    Have not heard anything myself but I doubt it as he and conan have been our best players this year, so Id expect him to stay and I expect the club to want him to stay.

61 Posts
    Hope not. I cant see what reason he would have to go to Longford.

1,081 Posts
    He's married to a Longford girl and I think they live here now or certainly they were building a house here. He'll be back eventually I would think.

What age is Kirby?

61 Posts
    That would be a reason i suppose but depends what he is looking for and what longford town can offer him.

1,081 Posts
    I don't know if it will be next season but apparently he's been known to have a long term plan of coming back at some stage. I would think he'll get better offers than us so it would be factors other than money if he were to come back next season. He still goes to some of our games and he's been at plenty of club functions. A lot of the LTFC people were at his wedding in the summer. It'd be a club he'd have a loyalty towards.

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    What age is Kirby?
    I think he's 32. Good news if he decides to come back to us, he'll always get a great welcome.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Well I hope its not the case. I can totally see why yous would welcome him back. He has been great for us all season.

504 Posts
    player coach role for him in a year or two time i can se it happening? well if he wants it

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    That would be a reason i suppose but depends what he is looking for and what longford town can offer him.
    We can offer him two bags of tayto and a can of lilt. Plus bonuses.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

504 Posts
    bonus of a half time draw ticket

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    We can offer him two bags of tayto and a can of lilt. Plus bonuses.
    I'd sign myself for that

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    What age is Kirby?
    kirbs thirty two now hes a legend with the section o lads.. I bought his jersey that he wore in the Sean Prunty testimonial.. I had forgotten that I had won the bid only for Kirbs to come over to me and thanking me for it.. I wouldnt be surprised that he will come back to us eventually.
    Last edited by Martinho II; 28/10/2009 at 12:23 PM.

kirbs thirty two now hes a legend with the section o lads.. I bought his jersey that he wore in the Sean Prunty testimonial.. I had forgotten that I had won the bid only for Kirbs to come over to me and thanking me for it.. I wouldnt be surprised that he will come back to us eventually.
    I doubt it would be next season but he seems a loyal sort of a lad so id say he would like to go back to finish off his career and maybe get into the coaching side of things. Hope he is with us for as long as possible though.

No lads, sorry, he's coming back to us instead, we had him first
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    No lads, sorry, he's coming back to us instead, we had him first
    recently baught a house in longford so doubt it wum

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    recently baught a house in longford so doubt it wum
    Wum???

His whole family are still down here like!
    Last edited by blue til i die; 15/11/2009 at 11:08 PM.

1,081 Posts
    As posted above he's married to a Longford lady and they're living in Ballinalee (Co. Longford), building a house near her homeplace in Longford, in college in DCU I think. None of which would point to him going back to Waterford . I'm sure he'll stay on at Fingal anyway, until he comes here as player manager.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    As posted above he's married to a Longford lady and they're living in Ballinalee (Co. Longford), building a house near her homeplace in Longford, in college in DCU I think. None of which would point to him going back to Waterford . I'm sure he'll stay on at Fingal anyway, until he comes here as player manager.
    I completely agree! Him coming to us is as much likely to happen as him going to ye now, just saying he still has family here, but dont see him leaving Fingal either way if they go up or not.

Until he forces the wife to leave and come back here.....