Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Bohs Away Friday

Quote Originally Posted by MarkyH View Post
    At least the 2nd half we saw some effort. There was little in the 1st. Could be a mistake effectively writting off this match and hoping to at least match pat's result next week. Look at Galway they got a point that no-one expected tonight.

Some ridiculous rumours around betting going around tonight
    Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then? If you don't agree with it thats fair enough we all have our opinion but the rubbish talk about the betting if very low, unfair and just plain wrong. Yes Cook has taken a chance but he is the manager and you have to respect his decision although you may not agree with it. He has to live and die from his decisions as the manager. No point worrying about other teams that could not even look after their own result we have to look out for number 1.

Jeez each of us would have given our right arm if we were facing a Drogs team at home with nothing to play for with a chance to stay up a few weeks ago. Our players are not machines they have played 4 tuesdays evenings in a row,meaning we played 6 games in 17 or 18 days which is madness. We are lucky we have not picked up an injury to key players with that schedule. Our squad is not strong enough in depth so when we rest it does make a huge difference. We need to beat Drogs to stay up and we will have fresh players for the tie which should be a big advantage, i think people should lay of Cook.

I blame avvenalaf
    Last edited by showgies; 30/10/2009 at 11:05 PM.
    "Overwhelmed"

21 Posts
    Need 3 points against drogs, no favours expected of shams obviously after tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then?
    Is Blinkhorn not a recognised striker?

Fair enough Maniac, everyone has their opinion and the betting talk doesn't ring true I agree. It was just Cook resting players and it backfired.

I would still say we should be battling for every single point in every league game with our best team out and forget the cup and forget Drogheda until they have to be played. If Cretaro was injured tonight we'd miss him big time in the final but would rather have seen him on the pitch tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Is Blinkhorn not a recognised striker?

Fair enough Maniac, everyone has their opinion and the betting talk doesn't ring true I agree. It was just Cook resting players and it backfired.

I would still say we should be battling for every single point in every league game with our best team out and forget the cup and forget Drogheda until they have to be played. If Cretaro was injured tonight we'd miss him big time in the final but would rather have seen him on the pitch tonight.
    The talk is though Dong he is meant to be suspended for the final? I also heard a story last week that i don't know how true is that if Gavin Peers picked up a yellow in the game v Waterford or the Bohs match that he would also miss the final. If Cretaro was injured people would be on here asking why Cook played him, because the chances were we were going to get beat. But granted it was a poor performance esp live on TV, but i do think some reactions are way OTT in my honest opinion.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 30/10/2009 at 11:27 PM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Quote from Michael O'Neill after the game in The Showgies...........

It doesn't matter whether it was a corner or not, you still have to defend it.
    Michael O'Neill was right, I can't understand why Sligo fans were so incensed with him. ****ed off with the referee, of course. But ****ed off at O'Neill? What did you want him to do, tell his players not to take the corner kick? And he's right, it's not like the ref gave a goal for the bad decision, he only gave a corner which Sligo had the chance to defend. I'd be ****ed off if it went against us, but blaming an opposition manager is ridiculous when your gripe is with the referee, especially when it's not like it was something as obvious as mistaken identity or that.

Sligo's approach tonight was extremely dissapointing and unprofessional of them. Reminded me of that time Rafa Benitez played his reserves against Fulham, meaning a terrible, terrible Fulham team won and stayed in the league. Sligo owed Shamrock Rovers nothing, but did owe something to the integrity of the league. For what its worth I hope we don't retaliate and do go out to beat Pats despite having nothing to play for next week.

151 Posts
    You were going great guns until you mentioned the integrity of the league.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Michael O'Neill was right, I can't understand why Sligo fans were so incensed with him. ****ed off with the referee, of course. But ****ed off at O'Neill? What did you want him to do, tell his players not to take the corner kick? And he's right, it's not like the ref gave a goal for the bad decision, he only gave a corner which Sligo had the chance to defend. I'd be ****ed off if it went against us, but blaming an opposition manager is ridiculous when your gripe is with the referee, especially when it's not like it was something as obvious as mistaken identity or that.

Sligo's approach tonight was extremely dissapointing and unprofessional of them. Reminded me of that time Rafa Benitez played his reserves against Fulham, meaning a terrible, terrible Fulham team won and stayed in the league. Sligo owed Shamrock Rovers nothing, but did owe something to the integrity of the league. For what its worth I hope we don't retaliate and do go out to beat Pats despite having nothing to play for next week.
    Sure it does not matter you could not beat Galway, champions should not expect other teams to do their work for them.

I think Paul Cook took a calculate risk tonight in tonights game.In a game we may have lost with a full side out.Risk silly yellow cards or injury.i think we will have ahuge advantage going into the game against Drogs.I dont think they will want to battle to hard even do for the play place showdown it might be a confidence booster.But the other side they will be wary of picking up injurys etc for the playoff schedule.They are in the playoffs no matter what.Be it us galway or pats they face they will be in a battle for survival then.our game against them is nothing game for them.
    Till d End!

Listen people should hang their head in shame over such absolute rubbish as one of my friends was telling me about tonight. Trust me there was nothing irregular in these betting patterns tonight, i know this i have more than enough contacts in the UK, Europe and Asia who make a living at betting. It really annoys me people speaking about stuff they have no clue of (and i am not saying you Mark), Paul Cook rested some of his players tonight, if Cretaro had been injured tonight we may be going into the cup final with no recognised striker and what would the same people being saying about Cook then? If you don't agree with it thats fair enough we all have our opinion but the rubbish talk about the betting if very low, unfair and just plain wrong. Yes Cook has taken a chance but he is the manager and you have to respect his decision although you may not agree with it. He has to live and die from his decisions as the manager. No point worrying about other teams that could not even look after their own result we have to look out for number 1.

Jeez each of us would have given our right arm if we were facing a Drogs team at home with nothing to play for with a chance to stay up a few weeks ago. Our players are not machines they have played 4 tuesdays evenings in a row,meaning we played 6 games in 17 or 18 days which is madness. We are lucky we have not picked up an injury to key players with that schedule. Our squad is not strong enough in depth so when we rest it does make a huge difference. We need to beat Drogs to stay up and we will have fresh players for the tie which should be a big advantage, i think people should lay of Cook.
    Well said RM. The players have played a hell of a lot of games in the last few weeks, the majority we have won. Which most people quickly forget.

Most of the players are probably carrying knocks. Cook took a calculated risk tonight which didnt work out.
    We could have gone to Dalymount tonight with a full strength team and still got beaten by 2, picked up more injuries and be screwed for next week and the cup final. Both of which are of massive importance to the future path the club can take
    Imsure paul would have loved to have played his best 11 or be able to bring in players that are just as good. But we are not in that position because we dont spend money on players we cant afford like bohs.
    We are trying to live within our means and in doing that sometimes were going to get turned over, or have to field a weakened team, these are the decisions the manager has to nake which im sure hed rather not. But we have to be realistic we arent goig to be able to compete in every single game we play. Because of our small squad sometimes we have to prioritise.
    Tonights result was because we have a small squad. I had to laugh at Fenlons comments saying he had a small squad. Look at bohs starting 11 plus subs tonight, quality right throughout, but at what cost in the long run. They are paying huge wages on borrowed money and time.
    Im the first one to say we are unabitious at times as a club but we have to put things in perspective

The talk is though Dong he is meant to be suspended for the final? I also heard a story last week that i don't know how true is that if Gavin Peers picked up a yellow in the game v Waterford or the Bohs match that he would also miss the final. If Cretaro was injured people would be on here asking why Cook played him, because the chances were we were going to get beat. But granted it was a poor performance esp live on TV, but i do think some reactions are way OTT in my honest opinion.
    Sorry, that is being rumoured alright.
    Still think Cook made a mistake tonight but he's done brilliantly in the second half of the season in fairness.

Smile

we must keep faith with the management &team. c'mon the bit 'o red

Lads lay off Cook, I mean 5 months ago we couldn't even name a full bench! He had a tough time in the first half of the season, Almeida out injured nearly all the time as was Parkhouse, aswell as several injuries to different players for ages. For some game it was only the 2 Kelly's that wer eon the bench, now we have players fighting for a place in the team e.g Cash and Morrison for right midfield. He's lucky to be able to rest these players and bring in others. Without these signings the likes of Raff,Peers and Blinkhorn may have had to play because of a lack of players. So lets be glad we have strength in depth as opposed to have about 14 players 5 months ago. Sorry for rambling on a bit but fact of the matter is Cook had too work with very little up until July, he got the funds to bring in players and it has worked so give him a break, if he had this squad from March imagine where we would be right now! it hans't been easy this season, eveything hes had to do, hes had to do the hard way, getting through the first half of the season with very few players,beating 3 of the top 4 in the FAI etc...
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by A.Dolan View Post
    There isnt a worse crowd than Bohs fans, racist scum. Them and Jason can **** off and die
    What happened tonight? Except of course a horrible game of football.

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    What happened tonight? Except of course a horrible game of football.
    A few Boh's fans started heckling Eoin Doyle from what I seen. Typical or Natural, whichever you want to use, but you know they would head straight for the former shams player
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Your wrong there my friend as Raf once played as a 'keeper for us.

when??

Few silly hard men came right up to the fence roaring and shouting at us but yet, still not venturing beyond the security of the guards in front of them and the advertising boards.

Anyways, this game was as important as next week. Unless there was some major issues behind the team selections then its baffling.

A few Boh's fans started heckling Eoin Doyle from what I seen. Typical or Natural, whichever you want to use, but you know they would head straight for the former shams player
    A.Dolan mentioned racist scum? Noticed that though and at the end he was pushed by a Bohs fan from Byrne as he went over to congratulate him.

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Few silly hard men came right up to the fence roaring and shouting at us but yet, still not venturing beyond the security of the guards in front of them and the advertising boards.

Anyways, this game was as important as next week. Unless there was some major issues behind the team selections then its baffling.
    Maybe if a player could get an injury or suspensiont hat will follow into the Cup Final, god knows the last thing we want are the likes of Raff,Peers,Morrison,Ventre(was he suspended tonight anyways ?) etc... its bad enough we may already be missing Blinkhorn and O'Grady.
    Coleman for Ireland

Maybe if a player could get an injury or suspensiont hat will follow into the Cup Final, god knows the last thing we want are the likes of Raff,Peers,Morrison,Ventre(was he suspended tonight anyways ?) etc... its bad enough we may already be missing Blinkhorn and O'Grady.
    Grand, so forget the bread and butter, all about the cup. Relegation playoffs it is so.

Far more important than the cup final at the minute.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast