Thread: Cup Final Merchandise

Lightbulb Cup Final Merchandise

Now that we are in our first cup final for 15 years I think it’s time the club started to think of the prospect of making some real money by getting cup final merchandise out there as quick as possible. With a possible 3000+ bit o red supporters descending on Tallaght each one of them will need to be decked out in the colours. Scarves, hats, tees, jerseys, sweatshirts, coats, jackets etc, there’s big money to be made with merchandise and what a great opportunity to do it with an appearance in the FAI Cup Final. I remember a few years ago when Longford Town were in a similar position it was reported they made a profit of €60,000 on merchandise sales alone. Our club can do likewise. The opportunity is there let’s hope its avail of.

Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    . With a possible 3000+ bit o red supporters descending on Tallaght each one of .
    I'd expect alot more than 3,000 Rovers fans at the game. Hopefully the club does make a bit of money out of the final. I'm sure Jako will be looking to make a bit of profit off the occasion too.

heard rumours that the club are thinking of opening the shop up in the showgies full time before the final with greater publicity.

in my opinion they shoud get a prime spot in the town centre. alot of empty buildings, and it would only be needed for 4weeks. it would make a big profit in town. far bigger than if they were up in the showgies. could get the rent on the cheap as landlords with empty buildings would be mad for anything in this climate.

it will be interesting to see how big the club go promoting now till nov22. having a prime central location would get more people especially the non rovers fans. somewhere like johnstons court where half the units are empty

Town centre would be way better than up in the showgies alright.

try buying some Rovers merchandise on line!

loads of free space in johnston court, maybe something could be done, with jako already in town i cant see the club having a seperate place aswell

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    Town centre would be way better than up in the showgies alright.

when we got to the final we rented out a local businessmans premises in town... It is the way to go.. Are any of ye doing special teeshirts for the final like what we did two years ago?

.. Are any of ye doing special teeshirts for the final like what we did two years ago?
    The only special t-shirts that mattered were the ones with the letters W,E,X,L,E and R Marty

179 Posts
    You should be able to buy Rovers Merchandise in every sports shop in town.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Just heard on the news that Jako are recalling thousands of products from across Europe because there's a chemical in the material in their jersey's that could cause impotence.

Might be worth bearing in mind when producing Cup Final Merchandise.

Check out page 21 of the Star.
    Last edited by Only1Rovers; 27/10/2009 at 9:36 AM.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Just heard on the news that Jako are recalling thousands of products from across Europe because there's a chemical in the material in their jersey's that could cause impotence.

I knew it

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post

Just checked it out. ANyone notice the picture above that might take the reader's attention away from the article about the jersey's
    Coleman for Ireland

whats the jiz-t of the story?
    Last edited by CF1989; 27/10/2009 at 12:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by CF1989 View Post
    whats the jist of the story?
    Wear your rovers jersey in bed and you wont need condoms.

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    The only special t-shirts that mattered were the ones with the letters W,E,X,L,E and R Marty
    thats true all right rovers1.. and ye were perfect models who earned no money for the privilege. wonder how wexler is nowadays?

We've caught up with him on facebook, he's grand

lads just to let ye know the trust will be bringing out car flags in the next week r so all proceeds will be given to the club, also hoping to bring out car plates with names on them, we also have been offered teddy bears and other merchandise like mugs biros etc all advice would be appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by RGMY View Post
    lads just to let ye know the trust will be bringing out car flags in the next week r so all proceeds will be given to the club, also hoping to bring out car plates with names on them, we also have been offered teddy bears and other merchandise like mugs biros etc all advice would be appreciated
    Great news...at least this way, the club will actually be making the money.

Isn't there space in Johnston court for temporary sales, just before the jean scene shop. Would the club be able to get a few people to volunteer some Saturday to go in and try and sell merchandise? I'm sure their would be people willing to go in and do that if it could be arranged.

great ideas RGMY....would be big sellers!