Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie Music Exchange Version 3.0 (looking for sign ups)

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monzo View Post
    Did everyone else get theirs? Wondering if my obscurities went down like a lead balloon...
    Yeah sorry Monzo, have been caught up in the Christmas merry-go-round too. Will be doing a bit of driving over the next few days though so it should get a good spin then. Looks good though, and what a cracking start, haven't heard that Pere Ubu song in donkey's years!
    more bass

Hey guys could someone go ahead of me?

My housemate in her festive spirits spilt a glass of red wine on my open laptop the other night and the thing is completely dead so I've lost my playlist and 40g of music

115 Posts
    Ouch!
    Just... ouch!

Hope you can salvage something out of it Jebus!
    I was going to be starting to put stuff together this week anyway, so I'll step in if that's OK with everyone?

Monzo, that CD is the business lad, am loving it!
    Brilliant start, first three tunes are just outstanding, and all the way through there are gems everywhere.
    Easiest to say I'm not too gone on the George Harrison one, and Family are just a bit too hippy, but every other tune is a cracker.
    Highlights for me: Pere Ubu, Sugar, Eels, Ravonettes (never kept up with them after Chaingang of Love), Rory Gallagher, Airborne Toxic Event and Grand Duchy, but the top tune, somewhat improbably maybe, is definitely Dead Skunk, I love it!
    Last edited by stann; 02/01/2010 at 11:21 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    but the top tune, somewhat improbably maybe, is definitely Dead Skunk, I love it!
    "Shoulda looked left and it shoulda looked right" Loved this one too. Great work Monzo all round. Big love for the following

Pere ubu - Hope I didn't scare the good people of Magherafelt this weekend as I seemed to have this tune on every time I drove through it. Not normally my cup of tea but just loved the demented vocal delivery - You better sign it !

Rural Alberta Advantage - lo-fi loveliness

Rory Gallagher - a man I've been meaning to tune into for a while - edged in blue is fantastic.

Loved most of the rest too, been a great xmas soundtrack as I've been doing lots of driving - this has hit the spot
    JERRY: But are you still master of your domain?
    GEORGE: I am king of the county. You?
    JERRY: Lord of the manor.

Glad yis liked the mix lads. Dead Skunk is a great song alright - I've actually been meaning to check out more of Loudon Wainwright's work but I never remember (someone post another song of his, 'The Acid Song', on a previous mix).

Also, spot on about the vocals by Pere Ubu's frontman, Davey. Frantic and completely in sync with the music. I think Roger Chapman, Family's singer, has a fairly impressive vocal range too (sounds like a goat at times ).

115 Posts
    Nearly ready to start burning now, bit rushed but I'll keep that as a handy excuse.
    Gonna be somewhat different to the first few I think. A few gentler grooves at the start, some silliness in the middle, couple of bouncers towards the end, and relatively fewer guitars.
    Need a PM from whoever has the list though.
    Last edited by stann; 05/01/2010 at 12:53 PM. Reason: now with added 'R'
    more bass

Just after PMing you the addresses stann.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    A few gentle grooves at the start, some silliness in the middle, couple of bouncers towards the end...
    Sounds more like a typical night-out for Jebus than a CD....

Monzo, I absolutely loved your latest offering - great, raucous opening duo; a dip into some luscious milk and honey with Eels; ... ... mmm, I'm tempted to describe each song in lovely, if overly wordy, language and how they each moved me greatly, but maybe I won't. Perhaps it is enough to say: I enjoyed it more than any other over all the series combined.

Not that the others were bad, indeed they were<------------------------a very, very long distance -------------------------->from bad.
    But particularly pleasing here were not alone the tracks of themselves but also the general mood and ordering of the tracks - nice 'n' smooth progression making it work really well as a unified work. Mind you, from Stann's pre-release blurb it seems his may be a close rival in that regard.

at Kingdom Hoop

Good news on my laptop is that the housemate's boyfriend is a bit of a whizz at fixing up computers so he reckons he can get a new motherboard put in for only 70 quid

The hard drive is fine anyway so should be able to retrieve my music even if not

Good to hear that your laptop's possibly on the mend jebus. And KH - I spent relatively little time on the ordering of the tracks compared to all the agonizing I did over my debut effort, so I'm glad it turned out ok then.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Mind you, from Stann's pre-release blurb it seems his may be a close rival in that regard.
    Feck, why do I keep writing cheques I can't cash like that??!!
    Anyway, rush job though it is, it's all done now, reasonably pleased with it, so Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In should be getting packed and posted later today after I finish work. Cheers for the PM Monzo!
    Tracklist to follow a suitable distance behind as per.

And just to whet the appetite a bit further, no, number 6 is not Dido!
    Last edited by stann; 06/01/2010 at 8:01 AM.
    more bass

Well, Another Hastily-Compiled Stanned In fell in the letterbox a short time ago, frosted cover belying the warmth inside. The first three songs have been a treat, the soundtrack to my dancecleaning the kitchen (dancing while cleaning). (New verb required to describe this activity I think.) Anyway, just on the fourth song now (also fantastic) and, whether hasty or otherwise, enjoying it immensely so far.

More to follow I suppose....

115 Posts
    Christ that was quick, they only went out late yesterday afternoon. Good to know at least one part of society doesn't go to pieces under a couple of cms of snow!
    Cheers for that KH, hope the rest goes as well for ya.
    (Clopping maybe? Cleaning and bopping? )

May go ahead with the track listing so...

1. The Herbaliser – The Turnaround [2002]
    2. A Skillz & Krafty Kuts feat Real Elements – Simple Things [2004]
    3. The Dream Warriors – Wash Your Face In My Sink [1990]
    4. G Love & Special Sauce – Blues Music (Slow Version) [1994]
    5. Goloka – Give Me Lovin’ (Mantra Mix) [2007]
    6. Frou Frou – Breathe In [2002]
    7. Lazyboy – Left Rev [2004]
    8. Barnes & Barnes – Fish Heads [1979]
    9. The Jack Rubies – Lobster [1988]
    10. Jethro Tull – Skating Away (On The Thin Ice Of The New Day) [1974]
    11. Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Watching The Detectives [1977]
    12. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Gentle Sons [2009]
    13. My Bloody Valentine – The Things I Miss [1987]
    14. Pet – Superpet [2004]
    15. Midwest Product – Dead Cat [2003]
    16. Gomez – Shot Shot (Freelance Hellraiser ElectroCash Remix) [2002]
    17. Rennie Pilgrem - Gladiator [2004]
    18. Mylo – Mars Needs Women [2005]
    19. The Fuze – It’s A Sunday Morning [1981]
    more bass

Got it as well, weather be damned says An Post it seems

Like the look of this, in general Stann's compilations have been the pick so far so looking forward to giving this a whirl later

51 Posts

Looks like a good one alright, looking forward to getting it.

Monzo's cd is excellent already know and love the songs by Sugar(Bob Mould is th most underratted songwriter of his generation), Eels, Rory Gallagher, Micah P Hinson and Loudon Wainwright - all winners.

Loved hearing loads of new tracks and Bands that I'd never heard of before my favourites being:

Pere Ubu - brilliant stuff, right up my street never heard of these before defo checking them out soon

Jason Anderson - love the male/female harmony on the corus, great song.

The Airborne Toxic Event - really cool slow building song liking this one a lot also.

All in all not a bad song on there and loads of new bands to check out!

Just after sticking your album into the computer stann, a lovely opener and yet more proof that I need to explore some more of A Skillz' and Krafty Kuts's catalogue (still love 'Tricka Technology' from the last compilation). I'll post again when I've listened to the mix fully.

Quote Originally Posted by Park_Lane View Post
    Pere Ubu - brilliant stuff, right up my street never heard of these before defo checking them out soon

Jason Anderson - love the male/female harmony on the corus, great song.

The Airborne Toxic Event - really cool slow building song liking this one a lot also.
    Spot on about Bob Mould PL. I have only one Pere Ubu album (The Modern Dance) and I'd warn you before getting it that Nonalignment Pact isn't really reflective of the album as a whole. It's a bit Beefheartian but if you like the Captain then I'd suggest getting it. Massively influential. As for Jason Anderson, he's released a ton of stuff for free on his website. A lot of it is great in a raw Replacements sort of way.
    Last edited by monzo; 07/01/2010 at 11:03 PM.

Only listened to the once Stann but sounds great. On first listen, i give particular praise to the opening 5 tracks. Heard none of them before but started of my wednesday morning brilliantly. I will say though that you really scared my car share buddy with Fishheads. She was screaming "Get it off, get it off" as we drove through East Kilbride

Will post more after a couple more listens
    JERRY: But are you still master of your domain?
    GEORGE: I am king of the county. You?
    JERRY: Lord of the manor.

115 Posts
    Haha, very good! It's as well she never saw the video then, it was a regular on 120 Minutes on MTV back when Paul King used to do it, and was quite a bit odd and creepy, as well as a wee bit arty, though am sure it was a p**s-take!
    On youtube if you fancy a look.

Monzo, both those tunes are from the A Skillz & Krafty Kuts album that's actually called Tricka Technology, and I would very much recommend that as a starting point if you were so inclined. Have a look about your local record shop though, as it's gone a bit dear on Amazon marketplace lately!
    Last edited by stann; 15/01/2010 at 1:31 AM. Reason: url
    more bass

Excellent contribution as usual Stann, loved it from start to finish, even the Fish Heads song

Top highlight for me was the Pains of Being Pure At Heart track as I'd never heard of them and now can't stop listening to their stuff on youtube, excellent new band for me to sink my teeth into!

Also would pick out the always brilliant Herbaliser as well as the Dream Warriors, Frou Frou, Elvis Costello and Lazyboy tracks as being highlights but really the whole album was wall to wall greatness

My laptop is still out of commission (should be good this week hopefully) so can someone go ahead of me again lads?

Have yours Stann, but haven't got to listen to it yet. In fact I've a bit of catching up to do on the last couple. I'm kind of up to my ears here at the moment.

Anyhoo, enough excuses, I think I'm next up, so I'll throw something together, but it might be later in the week before I get them done.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast