Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI cup final - Sligo Rovers vs Sporting Fingal 22/11/09

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Clubman, you are dead right. When Bray played St. Francis there was 23.5000 in Lansdowne. .
    23 and a half? Wtf?

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    23 and a half? Wtf?
    Jesus, Brewer, I thought you were dead.

I think there were a large number of free tickets for the game distributed locally on the day though that bumped up the attendance

Heard from a good source that Rovers are to get 5000 tickets for the final & the club have heard nothing about a change of venue.

There were 900 at the semi final on Sunday anything more than 1000 tickets for Fingal would be a disgrace.

Heard a rumour it will be €25 a ticket, anyone else heard this?

why is the final being held in tallaght instead of RDS, Dalymount or Tolka ?

Quote Originally Posted by prodsc View Post
    Heard a rumour it will be €25 a ticket, anyone else heard this?
    €25 is a decent price for a cup final. I doubt most people will be too bothered about the price, we've had 15 years to save up for it !!

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Soprano View Post
    why is the final being held in tallaght instead of RDS, Dalymount or Tolka ?
    Rovers getting a good deal at Tallagh, RDS, Dalymount and Tolka not considered for good reasons. Sligo will have the main stand to themselves facing the cameras. With all due respect to Waterford and they played well against us, had they got through then the final would have been a disaster for the promotion of football in Ireland in a showcase event such as the Cup Final and sponsors would walk away for the future.
    From what I know the FAI have got it spot on in the selection of Tallagh and Rovers will get in excess of 4000 tickets, the capacity will be 6,200 . Next years event will present a different problem when the final will be at the Lansdowne Road and its 50k capacity. Without the BOR in this final it would have been a disaster for all concerned. Floating figures of 10,000 suppporters from Sligo is unreal, lets get in excess of 4000 into Tallagh to prove how strong and loyal our support is.

2009 fai cup final

so lads 2 weeks till the big day, im excited already. how do ye think we will fair out. fingal will give us a real game i fear and have some quality players and have one of the best strikers in the league in eamon zayed. looks like most of the support will be the bit o red so we will have our 12th man with us. pity o grady is out so its up to richie ryan to step up and prove he can do more than go backwards......... in raf and blinkhorn we now have our best strikeforce in years so hopefully fingals defence will be run ragged. it would be great for the county to bring the trophy back and hopefully get some more money for the club and some new fans along the way. who will be captain on the day now ??? its also tough on brush being injured, himself and o grady are a big loss but replacements will have to step up to the mark. COME ON THE BIT O RED !!!

21 Posts
    Cretaro should be captain for the day.

really looking forward to this game. with a big crowd supporting the rovers it should be like a home game. fingal have a very good squad & tore bray apart in the semi final, so one thing we won't be is over confident.

ya be nice to give it to a local lad, peers would be a good choice either. but raf sounds good be nice to see him and connor go and lift it together

Brushie said last week that he expects to be back for the final - I think Ciaran Kelly has done very well as a replacement so far-i think Gavin Peers should be captain but it is really tough on Conor - we will just have to win it in 2010 so that he can have his day of glory. I think he will be asked up to pick up the trophy anyway in Tallaght.

agree with you 100%
    Last edited by sligored; 09/11/2009 at 1:00 PM. Reason: rovers 100% got there first

21 Posts
    Wasn't Peers club captain for awhile and gave it up. Rovers won't lift the cup unless a Sligoman is captain.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Cretaro should be captain for the day.
    Not if he's going to leave....Conor O is the captain and deservedly so.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Rovers won't lift the cup unless a Sligoman is captain.
    There's multiple Sligomans?

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    There's multiple Sligomans?
    He's captain of the stewards for the day.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    Brushie said last week that he expects to be back for the final - I think Ciaran Kelly has done very well as a replacement so far-i think Gavin Peers should be captain but it is really tough on Conor - we will just have to win it in 2010 so that he can have his day of glory. I think he will be asked up to pick up the trophy anyway in Tallaght.

agree with you 100%
    That will be a major boost if he is

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    Not if he's going to leave....Conor O is the captain and deservedly so.
    thats a bit unfair on raf, we will all hate to see him leave but he has always given 110% for the club and loves sligo rovers. if he leaves it will be to better himself and challenge himself at a higher level plus if he is offered twice what he can get in sligo isnt he right. lets not forget there is a recession and raf has prob only 5 years left and then he will be out of football. i think anyone who says raf does not love the rovers and will leave with a heavy heart is talking sh1t. i think we need a local lad captaining the team and if it is rafs last game what better way to leave than leading his home town out on cup final day.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    thats a bit unfair on raf, we will all hate to see him leave but he has always given 110% for the club and loves sligo rovers. if he leaves it will be to better himself and challenge himself at a higher level plus if he is offered twice what he can get in sligo isnt he right. lets not forget there is a recession and raf has prob only 5 years left and then he will be out of football. i think anyone who says raf does not love the rovers and will leave with a heavy heart is talking sh1t. i think we need a local lad captaining the team and if it is rafs last game what better way to leave than leading his home town out on cup final day.
    Hope, if he leaves, only 100% of him goes. 10% of Raf on the bench could be handy.

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast