Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI cup final - Sligo Rovers vs Sporting Fingal 22/11/09

Hopefully everyone that wants a ticket will get one including the "sunshiners".
    Its games like these that convert sunshiners or their children into regular goers, which can only help our club grow. Sometimes we as "hardcore" followers of the club can sound a bit elitist and put people off going. We are the first ones on message boards etc boasting about 4,500 attendance figures and then give out about the sunshiners.

Im sure the FAI will install temporary seating if the demand is there, just like Platinum done for the Madrid game.

I agree. I remember Rovers playing a pretty dire season in an almost empty Showgies in '83, but having a crowd at the final that rendered Bohs' home advantage meaningless. Unfortunately, that's the nature of football. In the less-than-inspiring early stages of '94, we couldn't bring enough fans the few miles to Athlone to drown out the Frank Darby squeal as we lost and had people believing nothing good was coming out of the season. For anybody who was in S'Mels the night Gabbiadini twisted the knife, don't tell me the stand packed with red didn't raise the hairs on the back of your neck.
    If you've been there when almost nobody else has, it's hard not to feel a bit exclusive at times, but big crowds following Rovers should be a cause for satisfaction - some of them will keep coming back.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

What I heard last night is O'Grady misses the final(as a result of picking up a yellow last night, .
    Thought that might be the case alright when he got the yellow. Pity he can't miss the Drogs or Bohs game instead. Not the most technically talented footballer, but we could do with him for the Cup Final.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Thought that might be the case alright when he got the yellow. Pity he can't miss the Drogs or Bohs game instead. Not the most technically talented footballer, but we could do with him for the Cup Final.
    gutted for O'Grady to miss the final.

His passing has really improved over the last few months.

81 Posts
    I'm sure a few Town fans would like to go! A few of ye did support us in 07 after all!

81 Posts
    3-0 good man Kirbs but I don't want Franchise anywhere near the final!

We'll get tickets no hassle now. Sporting "no fans" Fingal have won. The sunshiners and Longford lads will be able to come now.

Quote Originally Posted by mint sauce View Post
    any confirmation on the date and time yet, cant see anything on the FAI or LOI sites

any word what time kick off is

That was a terrible attendance for the semi final! Even the Liverpool-United game is no excuse for such a poor attendance! We'll easily outnumber anyone at the final for Fingal and could possibly get more tickets than Fingal due to popular demand!
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post
    Why do people always panic about tickets when they are advance sales? We only have a few hundred season ticket holders, if they are given two each that means there will still be over 1500 left over at least. The rest would probably go on general sale so all you have to do is make sure you are near at the top of the queue.
    If anyone is stuck for a ticket I can get a few up here in Fingal if the queues aren't too big :-) only issue I see now is the FAI and the SDCC not bothering with the temporary seating , they also need to factor in that a lot of locals in tallaght will see "rovers" in the cup final and will turn up and wonder why we are playing in red and white although it would be nice to be the first rovers to win something in tallaght.

In the 70s and 80s at Arsenal on the back page of every programme there was a voucher in the bottom corner that you cut out to prove that you were going to the games.The vouchers were attached to a sheet that come the end of the season and you were in a final you could send off the sheet and were given first preference for a ticket for the match.This stopped the sunshiners getting preference for tickets and rewarded the loyal fans with a final ticket for all the support during the season....might be a good idea for the future?

found this is there something the fai aren't telling us
    read the first line

Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    read the first line
    Ha ha that threw me for a sec, it mentions Tallaght further down the page.

Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    read the first line
    A few radio stations announced it yesterday as the cup final being at the RDS, i'd put it down to the stations just being lazy and guessing it will be in Donnybrook, as the last few finals have been there.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    A few radio stations announced it yesterday as the cup final being at the RDS, i'd put it down to the stations just being lazy and guessing it will be in Donnybrook, as the last few finals have been there.
    Christ, I see your Dublin geographical knowledge still hasnt improved one bit. The RDS is in Ballsbridge.... ya loo laa!! How do u manage to find your way to college every day?? wait until Rory leaves the house and then follow him??

Quote Originally Posted by Jeebus View Post
    Christ, I see your Dublin geographical knowledge still hasnt improved one bit. The RDS is in Ballsbridge.... ya loo laa!! How do u manage to find your way to college every day?? wait until Rory leaves the house and then follow him??

There all in D4 though, yes? I don't go out there too often, bit too upper-class for a culchie like me

Sure i couldnt even find me way to Messers the day of the Cliftonville game! As for college, as long as i take a left at the garden gate...i'm sorted!

Everyone on this forum will be ok for tickets - buy them immediately after they go on sale and you will be ok!!!

Fingal will take up 1500 tickets and that means very roughly 1500 +3000 for SRFC?

if there was huge demand then bucket seats could be put in but you would need to get that arranged sharpish!!

Still travel problems, ticket problems....nice problems to have!!!!!!!!!!

21 Posts
    Limiting the crowd to 6,000 for a cup final if it happens is ridicoluous. Even with small Fingal support they might muster up a few thousand on the day. I know the sunshiners arent coming out in the same numbers as previous cup campaigns but on the day we could get 6 or 7,000 to this one. Hopefully the O Grady situation gets sorted. Rovers wont win the cup without a Sligoman as club captain.

Lads don't underestimate the pulling power of a club like Fingal. Remember the population of the area is 250,000 so I'd imagine they'll fill out the venue on their own. Remember a number of years ago when St Francis made the final and it was the best attended final in years. I'd imagine the interest in this one will be huge so anyone worring about getting their hand on a ticket, especially anyone living outside of Sligo, has every right to be. The only answer is, as someone else has stated, get to the showgies as soon as they go on sale as I'd say they'll be snapped up in record time.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by clubman View Post
    Lads don't underestimate the pulling power of a club like Fingal. Remember the population of the area is 250,000 so I'd imagine they'll fill out the venue on their own. Remember a number of years ago when St Francis made the final and it was the best attended final in years. I'd imagine the interest in this one will be huge so anyone worring about getting their hand on a ticket, especially anyone living outside of Sligo, has every right to be. The only answer is, as someone else has stated, get to the showgies as soon as they go on sale as I'd say they'll be snapped up in record time.
    Clubman, you are dead right. When Bray played St. Francis there was 23.5000 in Lansdowne. I know because I had the score right in a cruise to Italia 90 competition and lost out on the attendance. I've never been the same since. Recommend you guys pick ip the first ticket that comes into view.

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast