Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Only 8,000 tickets made available in Paris

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Interesting to see what the split is between BB and non-BB. I have a feeling I will be out with the begging bowl again, just like Basel I and Germany.

if you are a regular traveller and have purchased your tickets from the FAI in your own name, point that out to the FAI with your application. Unfortunately if you are a regular traveller and get them through a different source you have to rely on them.

Most of the regular travellers I know would be well know within the FAI at this stage, purely through getting their tickets for all the games,
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ok so if 15k looking then expect around 18k that are planning on going to the game.
    id say that a fair few double bookings were made so maybe the number will be closer to 10,000

Would agree on the double booking, most people apply for more tickets in the hope of getting want you need. Surely they take into account if you have been to away game in this and previous campaigns. Myself and my brother generally do 1 away game per campaign. People who have been to more should get 1st preference. Do the FAI look at it like this? The same people who have slagged off Ireland for the last few years, didn`t go to the games, are the very ones booking Paris and trying to board the BAND WAGON!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    if you are a regular traveller and have purchased your tickets from the FAI in your own name, point that out to the FAI with your application. Unfortunately if you are a regular traveller and get them through a different source you have to rely on them.

Most of the regular travellers I know would be well know within the FAI at this stage, purely through getting their tickets for all the games,
    This is where problems can arise.

I get my tickets in my own name for home and away games but some of our crew get them via a 3rd party. Problems can arise when the 3rd party decides he wants to go to Paris with the wife. I'm not talking about a real case here but something similiar has happened in the past.

The new travel agents seem to be getting far more tickets than Treacy too which isn't helping.

GF surely they would have a record of that via the BB or WL number on the request? . There was a box for such a number on the online application.

Are they going to confirm by email those in the UK where possible (postal strike and all that)

Just checked on ebay and someone is selling a ticket for the irish section in Paris, seller is based in the UK, surely chancing their arm, is this possible at this stage?

Quote Originally Posted by jok1 View Post
    Just checked on ebay and someone is selling a ticket for the irish section in Paris, seller is based in the UK, surely chancing their arm, is this possible at this stage?
    Got a 100% record, so looks a good candidate. Only people I know who would be sure they've got a ticket would be the long term block bookers in the RISSC, and any absence would be noted.

Much more interesting is the ammount of tickets on sale on ebay.fr. 200 plus listings starting at €80 for a view with the Lord himself. Still it beats the barstool. The more popular ones are the tickets with photos. Still, if its a 100% lister, and you pay with paypal, toutes et couvert a 100%.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    GF surely they would have a record of that via the BB or WL number on the request? . There was a box for such a number on the online application.

Are they going to confirm by email those in the UK where possible (postal strike and all that)
    I've gone to quite a few away games over the last few years but always get tickets off a mate. He said he had to give my name to the FAI when applying for the tickets though. This time I'm applying for them myself so do yis reckon the FAI will take the previous trips into account??

Still reckon everyone who's going will get sorted but it'd be nice to have tickets sorted beforehand and not have to hit up the French touts over there.

Could be an anxious few weeks me thinks

'Massive' was the word the ticket office used when I wsa on the phone today in terms of supply. I was ringing because both me and a friend of a friend applied for seven tickets by mistake (when we only wanted seven in total). I clarified this with them so hopefully one of us gets the tickets!

If the 15,000 is true though, I don't hold out great hope. My friend has been to two games this campaign but I haven't been to any aways with the exception of San Marino and Wales last time out.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

I as in touch with the FAI today they advised that they will advising people tomorrow by E-mail if they have been successful in getting tickets for the away leg. Fingers cross!!

Cheers for that Ro.

wonder what the total number of tickets asked for was. surely on average 2-3 tickets per application??
    Last edited by ollie; 29/10/2009 at 5:56 PM.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ro81 View Post
    I as in touch with the FAI today they advised that they will advising people tomorrow by E-mail if they have been successful in getting tickets for the away leg. Fingers cross!!
    Thanks for the update RO81 *Crosses his fingers and toes*
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Great stuff, this is definite? I really cannot bear waiting any longer, just want to find out either way so i can go ahead and secure my ticket.

Quote Originally Posted by ollie View Post
    Cheers for that Ro.

wonder what the total number of tickets asked for was. surely on average 2-3 tickets per application??
    15000 tickets requested approx
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by Slim Pickings View Post
    I've gone to quite a few away games over the last few years but always get tickets off a mate. He said he had to give my name to the FAI when applying for the tickets though. This time I'm applying for them myself so do yis reckon the FAI will take the previous trips into account??
    Still reckon everyone who's going will get sorted but it'd be nice to have tickets sorted beforehand and not have to hit up the French touts over there.

Could be an anxious few weeks me thinks
    SP, you probably would of had a better chance applying through your mate as they probably go on WL/BB number but I'm only guessing. Still good luck

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    SP, you probably would of had a better chance applying through your mate as they probably go on WL/BB number but I'm only guessing. Still good luck
    Cheers Newryrep, on the WL so hopefully that'll save me. Shouldn't fret though, haven't known anyone at any away game to be stuck come the day of the match and given the amount of them on sale on ebay and other sources, I reckon everyone'll be grand.

reder
    I am a bber who travels to away friendlies and group games but hold out little hope of getting the 2 tickets I need from the FAI. We couldnt put any such notes on our application this time, if I remember correctly.

Anytime there is a shortage of tickets, I always miss out. I got none for Basel I and ended up going with Abbey travel, who were not an official agent at the time, and we, along with 2 other bus loads got tickets in the irish section. I got no tickets for Germany away and ended up having to travel and locate tickets over there, even though we rarely missed an away game back then.

Ebay.fr, .ie and .co.uk are going to be flooded with tickets for both legs.

Anyone get notice today yet?

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    I am a bber who travels to away friendlies and group games but hold out little hope of getting the 2 tickets I need from the FAI. We couldnt put any such notes on our application this time, if I remember correctly.

Anytime there is a shortage of tickets, I always miss out. I got none for Basel I and ended up going with Abbey travel, who were not an official agent at the time, and we, along with 2 other bus loads got tickets in the irish section. I got no tickets for Germany away and ended up having to travel and locate tickets over there, even though we rarely missed an away game back then.

Ebay.fr, .ie and .co.uk are going to be flooded with tickets for both legs.
    If you are a bber and get away tickets via the FAI using your bbing number then they know what games you've been to.

The only travel agent to get tickets from the FAI for Basle 03 was Treacy. I witnessed Cassin's rant in the recption area of Merrion Square as I was waiting to get my tickets. He and SG did get Swiss tickets. Basle 04 saw enough tickets for all fans incl travel agents.

If Abbey travel had FAI tickets in 03 they were obtained through bbings.

Nothing yet from FAI!

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast