Quote Originally Posted by mkbucks View Post
    IRELAND 1 - 0 France
    FRANCE 2 - 1 IRELAND

That would be sweet!!!!
    ps. John Giles was asked on Newstalk this morning if the away goals rule counts, he replied:

"Eh, I don't know but I'd say so like in other European games"

Sweet divine Jaysus!!!!

Think ireland will win 2-1 saturday with a late set-piece goal. 2-1 would be a precarious lead to take to paris but any sort of lead would be fantastic.

Thinking of the roar around the stadium when/if ireland score on saturday gives me goosebumps all over.

Biggest game in 8 years....believe

1,928 Posts
    An Taoiseach has the faith, sort of.

Il go for 1-1 in Croker 2-2 in Paris with O'shea scoring a header late on in Paris
    "when the seagulls follow the trawler,
    it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea" Ooh Ahh

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    ps. John Giles was asked on Newstalk this morning if the away goals rule counts, he replied:

"Eh, I don't know but I'd say so like in other European games"

Sweet divine Jaysus!!!!
    Whats wrong with that? It does normally apply in 2 legged european games. I doubt he carries rule book around with him.

Close nervouse game in Dublin
    Ireland 0 - 0 France

Even more nervous game in PAris
    France 1 - 1 Ireland

My stomach is in knots waiting for this game. Ive gone from resignation to cautious optimism to punching the air come-on-Ireland mode to that horrible nervouse feeling you get just before exams back in the day.

Quote Originally Posted by Leeside Swagger View Post
    Whats wrong with that? It does normally apply in 2 legged european games. I doubt he carries rule book around with him.
    Is everyone form Cork thick? Just got an equally moronic post from a Cobh supporter on another thread, it's no wonder we had such problems with Keane, S. Ireland etc.

A finger nail crunching nil nil in Croker
    Ireland 0 - 0 France

Heroic Irish performance in Paris
    France 1 - 1 Ireland

Happy days if it comes to pass. Cant wit for game tomorrow night, def the biggest game at home since Holland in 2001! Should be a fantastic atmosphere and I'd urge everyone to give the songs socks from the off!! Heading to Paris Wednesday and looking forward to what hopefully will be a memorable trip. I'm still searching for two Irish tickets though, so any if ye lads have spares or know someone with spares give me a pm and I will be your friend for life!!

Quote Originally Posted by Uncle_Joe View Post
    Close nervouse game in Dublin
    Ireland 0 - 0 France

Even more nervous game in PAris
    France 1 - 1 Ireland

My stomach is in knots waiting for this game. Ive gone from resignation to cautious optimism to punching the air come-on-Ireland mode to that horrible nervouse feeling you get just before exams back in the day.

I keeping thinking laterally on this and imagine if I was say a English ,Scottish or welsh how I would view it. - I would assume in the end despite a valiant display those spikey Irish would eventually be beaten by french class.. Imagine if Scotland were in a similar position this is how you would call it in a much less partisan impassioned frame of mind. So in Reality it has got to be les Bleu..

2,081 Posts
    Is everyone form Cork thick? Just got an equally moronic post from a Cobh supporter on another thread, it's no wonder we had such problems with Keane, S. Ireland etc.
    To be fair to Giles he just analyses what he see's. He never knows the in and outs or permutations. He doesn't let on that he knows more than he does, he says straight out - "what's his name again Bill/Eamon?" It's the likes of Lawrenson and Dunphy that wreck my head by pretending they know more than they do. No need to get personal by the way.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 13/11/2009 at 1:03 PM.

Can you explain your point without resorting to wummery?

2,771 Posts
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8356372.stm

a good assessment of the reason France should be fearful.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I thought that was an article with Dunne of a photo of sarkozy in a compromising position.

Can't pin myself down to exact predictions, but Ireland to go through on away goals. I am normally the most pessimistic fan imaginable but there's something different about this... Believe. The nerves and the panic of the next five days will take years off our lives, but we will just about edge it. And if screaming my lungs out for the team at Croker tomorrow night takes a few more off, well, it'll have been worth it. COME ON!!!

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910