Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Play Off Predictions?

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    In fairness, I don't think Lawrenson would be expected to watch every French game during qualifying given that we only knew we were playing them a few weeks ago.
    I never said he should, but it's not too much to ask to read through the archives on fifa.com for reviews of their qualifiers is it?

Well, if you had world class players like the French, and you struggle to beat the Faroes and lose to Austria and teams like that, it's probably an indication of tactical flaws.

Something, somewhere went wrong. Either he picked the wrong players, didn't pick certain players, picked the wrong team for the conditions and opposition.

I won't mention names but if previous Irish managers struggled to break down and defeat poor teams, it's probably because the Irish tactics were flawed, with players playing out of position, no attacking threat, not knowing what was expected of them and so on.

You could hardly call a 1-0 win over the Faroes a tactical success.

446 Posts
    2-1 to France overall.

Our lack of goals & well documented midfield creativity is going to come back to haunt us.
    Which for all his other good points, is Trap's blind spot.
    Though he does have one fecking eejit who should be equally blamed. ****.

And with respect, who gives a f*ck what 'Lawro' thinks ?

I respect what he thinks.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    think you misunderstood geysir. if I was being paid the same as Lawrenson to "write" these columns, I'd put time, effort, and energy into finding instances of Domenech's tactical mistakes, then compare and contrast them with any that Trapattoni has made during his tenure.
    There's no way I'd write something like "I'm pretty sure Domenench has made loads of tactical mistakes"
    It's not good journalism or a long review.
    It's just a phone conversation with Lawro and no attempt is made to hide that.
    The journalist writes it up as a conversation piece, cheap and cheerful.
    The responsibility for how it looks in print is with the journalist.

From what I recall, Lawro does not write like that when reviewing our performances in the IT.

Good point geysir...

I'd say someone called him up out of the blue and gave him no chance to do any research or even let him know in advance what was going to be discussed.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Was having a sandwich at lunchtime today while reading the latest build up in the papers and I swear I got so nervous I couldnt finish the damn sandwich. NEVER been so nervous about a game before. But the closer its coming the more I do fancy us to get through... although by the time game kicks off on saturday Im pretty sure Im gonna be almost catatonic
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Thats awful funny razors ive got that before but over a match with 3 days to go. Im splitting meself here laughing at ye

253 Posts
    No I know what he's feeling. I couldn't eat breakfast here myself this morning while reading this forum.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

161 Posts
    I've been waking up at 2am with a feeling of dread (France win 2-0). Utter dejection until I realise Saturday is days away. What does it all mean? Nothing I'm sure. I prefer to see us losing when it does not matter.

Stoke city v arsenal?

How would you compare this game in terms of EPL?

STOKE CITY V ARSENAL?

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    A junkie on my bus yesterday said he woke up convinced Ireland were going to win 2-0, I can't think of any better reason to predict 2-0 Ireland
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

214 Posts
    0-0 would be a decent result for us because I'd back us to score in Paris. However I fear we'll slip up at home by conceding a soft goal at some point.

If we score first we'll go into a shell. If we go one nil down we'll be all over em. It's a funny old game.....

looks like the weather's gonna do its job
    "SATURDAY will bring further heavy showers or longer spells of rain. There may be some thunder also"-perfect
    on that note im gonna go for 1-0 in croker
    and 1-1 in the stade

Quote Originally Posted by hunt4the View Post
    "SATURDAY will bring further heavy showers or longer spells of rain. There may be some thunder also"-perfect
    and 1-1 in the stade
    I'm gonna go for an umbrella..eile, eile, eile

Quote Originally Posted by hunt4the View Post
    and 1-1 in the stade
    Nice. I hope it is a fu cking quagmire out there.

Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Lads i had a dream two days ago that I missed the match cos I flew into knock and was at home and left it too late to get to dublin, i had an hour to make a 2 hours journey and even then i would have only got in when the game was near over. I was so upset. I mean unbeleiveably upset, and so annoyed with myself how i went so wrong logistically and then I told myself ah its only dream(i can control my dreams sometimes and can tell myself its only a dream and hten i wake up ) but i didnt wake up. Jees i was awful relieved when I woke up that morning and it was Tuesday and I hadn't missed hte match.

We lost 2 - 1 in the dream and i had to watch it at home with no craic whatsoever and i couldn't sing and get behind the team

Check this out. A wind up but funny all the same.

http://irishsoccerinsider.wordpress....-box-incident/
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    This is someone pretending to be a French supporter surely.

He clearly overdoes it with with the "Blue cheese is so good" ending.

Good effort though.

I like this line, "We've got lots of very laughin stories about him".

Most French people are just as barmy as Domenech just as most English people are like Terry Venables, so I doubt this really is a French person.
    how do you say Andy Reid is not a good defensive midfielder" in French?

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    how do you say Andy Reid is not a good defensive midfielder" in French?
    something along the lines of "Andy Reid n'est pas un bon milieu de terrain défensif"
    Not sure if there's a specific word for defensive midfielder. Other than "Makelele" obviously!

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast