Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Ive been travelling to irish games for well over 20 years and the Irish bars are always the dearest wherever we go usually shoving their prices up for the day before and after the match.
    Hence the reason why Ive contacted the pub and asked them to guarantee prices before we get there and they have gone one better in getting in a cheaper option - so kudos in their direction - well done O'Sullivans I say
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

McBrides did similar in 2004...

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    its not just the Irish bars that do this in my almost 20 years experience of going to away games with Ireland.

always a great atmosphere in the Irish bars around these matches
    Disagree. The Irish bars are generally a magnet for the tools of the day. That was certainly the case in 2004 around Sullivans.

Each to their own.

We used to do the Irish pub thing when away on Ireland trips but we don’t do it nearly as much now. The hiked up prices and also the fact that if there are any tools on the trip, it is usually in the Irish pub that they will be found, kind of put us off. Having said this, they can serve a purpose. In a smaller city you will find Irish in the majority of pubs, but in a city the size of Paris, without the Irish pubs you could spend all day trying to find other fans (if that is what you want), so they are handy for finding other fans as you know that they’ll be packed. This time around, we’ll go to an Irish pub on the Monday, as we just want to have a few games of pool and relax for a bit before moving on elsewhere. That could well be the last time we go to an Irish pub for the duration of the trip though.

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    We used to do the Irish pub thing when away on Ireland trips but we don’t do it nearly as much now. The hiked up prices and also the fact that if there are any tools on the trip, it is usually in the Irish pub that they will be found, kind of put us off. Having said this, they can serve a purpose. In a smaller city you will find Irish in the majority of pubs, but in a city the size of Paris, without the Irish pubs you could spend all day trying to find other fans (if that is what you want), so they are handy for finding other fans as you know that they’ll be packed. This time around, we’ll go to an Irish pub on the Monday, as we just want to have a few games of pool and relax for a bit before moving on elsewhere. That could well be the last time we go to an Irish pub for the duration of the trip though.
    Chances are the hotel bar in the place you are staying will be full of fans. This also has the benefit of befriending the barman / manager / proprietor so that if you wander in after the game he may well be willing to indulge your late night requests for a few extra jars... although of course he may be a frenchman and not too enamoured with having to serve Irish fans after seeing them knock his beloved frogs out of the coupe de monde.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Disagree. The Irish bars are generally a magnet for the tools of the day. That was certainly the case in 2004 around Sullivans.

Each to their own.
    2004 was a once off with many day trippers etc attending.
    with the limited amount we have attending this time there wont be the same level of dossers at all. the amount of "tools" that i have met on many away trips over the years would amount to almost none

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    Chances are the hotel bar in the place you are staying will be full of fans. This also has the benefit of befriending the barman / manager / proprietor so that if you wander in after the game he may well be willing to indulge your late night requests for a few extra jars... although of course he may be a frenchman and not too enamoured with having to serve Irish fans after seeing them knock his beloved frogs out of the coupe de monde.
    I don't think our hotel even has a bar. It's probably for the best.

82 Posts
    the amount of "tools" that i have met on many away trips over the years would amount to almost none
    I obviously have a lower "tool" threshold.

They were rife throughout the last campaign, particularly in Stuttgart. Granted, less so in the campaign just finished, at the away matches I went to in any case.

544 Posts

They were rife throughout the last campaign, particularly in Stuttgart. Granted, less so in the campaign just finished, at the away matches I went to in any case.
    maybe its the punters in the non-Irish bars you go to at these events?

So is it safe to say the majority will meet in Sullivans? Tools and non tools meeting on bar stools?

Arriving on tuesday around 1600.

tool army !!

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude View Post
    So is it safe to say the majority will meet in Sullivans? Tools and non tools meeting on bar stools?

Arriving on tuesday around 1600.
    which one? there is one in pigalle and one near opera area?

Not sure, I didnt attend the last French game... Can anyone recommend a Sullivans that might have less toolage? If all us Foot.ie'rs show up it should water them down a bit..

place de glichy stop was where we all met the last time. The street was jammers with irish fans but i doubt it will be as packed this time round.

I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool, falling off my stool,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog.........

.....or a perfect more superior Irish supporter that some on here think they are, compared to all us tools that like to go to an Irish bar, where there will be Irish fans singing Irish songs and having a general good time.

Some people really need to lighten up on here. Live and let live, there are plenty of nice quiet french bars you can go off to and enjoy your pint in peace, we won't label you a 'tool' if you do. If some people on here had their way, we would probably only have 100 or so 'proper' fans at any game.

Polster if someone thinks you are a tool, because they dont like you, it doesn't make much sense. There are plenty of people who dont like me, im not going to call them tools for that reason.

There is an inverted snobbery element with some Irish people, its nothing to do with being a tool per se, some of the above, but I mainly find it with the rugby folk.

Having said that there has been a few eejits at the few trips ive been on, but generally everyone is just up for singing and having the craic! And thankfully the snobs are nowhere to be seen.

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude View Post
    Not sure, I didnt attend the last French game... Can anyone recommend a Sullivans that might have less toolage? If all us Foot.ie'rs show up it should water them down a bit..
    haha, this is getting embarrasing lads, 'water them down a bit'?????

We could be the classic geek gang in school, maybe we should all wear 'foot' badges as well so we know our own, as opposed to the tools

Can I get clarification on something ?

Are you a tool for going to an irish bar and a snob if you dont? If your somewhere in the middle are you a stool?

Yes its as clear cut as that.

Unless you go to a northern oirish bar...

I think the point being made is that, the irish (want to)go to where all the other fans congregate. It doesn't have to be an irish bar, but you know that you will find other fans there too(not necessarily like minded people) and a good chance of songs being played and/or sung there to build up the atmosphere....for the battle ahead so to speak.

To be honest regardless of what event or occasion, people go according to what the mood dictates.

If you wanna have a quiet chat with your mates and discuss the merits of Trap v Domenech over a coffee and a croissant you'll find a quiet spot off a side street. If you want to get up to divilment, have a song and a dance and let loose a bit, youre going to go to where the crowd is, be that under the tower or paddy mcgintys or wherever.

Whatever happens, The most important thing with any of these trips if you are there - Enjoy yourself, sing loud once inside and come home safe Brothers!

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast