Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan View Post
    Alas the days of you serving me pints of G in the Lollipop are dead and buried !
    I don't know if it's even still open...?
    It is, as a french lounge & $hite by all accounts.

I would recommend Quigleys Point by St Suplice church at Les Halles. Its right on the RER line to the ground, good owner/staff and lovely location from a transport/senic point of view and a nice plaza to spill out on.
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    One of the lads in my group sent me this link: http://www.hideout-bar.com/welcome.html

I sent them this email:

Hi. Myself and several thousand other Irish football fans will be in Paris from the 16th - 19th of November for the World Cup qualifier between Ireland and France on the 18th of November. I know that some bars in Paris can be very expensive so can you please send me your beer prices? Also, do you have Guinness? If yes, how much is a pint? Thanks. Paul.

To which I got back:

Hi

Thank you for your mail.
    We' ve 3 locations in Paris:

Hideout CHATELET
    46, rue des Lombards 75001 PARS
    Open every day: 3pm to 5am
    Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm:
    Pint St Omer: 3.00€
    Mojito: 4.00€

Hideout St GERMAIN
    32, rue Dauphine 75006 PARIS
    Open every day: 3pm to 2am
    Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm

FAC ANNEXE
    20, rue Censier 75005 PARIS
    Open every day except sunday: 8am to 2am
    Happy Hour: 3pm to 9pm every days except thursday 3pm to 11pm

Instead Guinness beer, we propose on all ours Pubs, Murphy's Stout.
    Price pint 50cl:* 6.50€
    Half pint 25cl: 3.50€

If you want, we can also private bassement space in the pub Châtelet 18th november (Wednesday). 3pm to 5am.

Do not hesitate for more information.

Best regards

Group HIDEOUT
    Thierry DARGELOS
    32, rue Dauphine. 75006 PARIS
    +33 1 40 28 04 05
    +33 6 74 69 20 56

We don't normally do the whole Irish pub thing on the trips, but they can be handy for a bit of craic for the first night of a three night trip, as there normally aren't that many fans around until the day before the game. These pubs look like a good option for the Monday night as they are not too pricey (relatively speaking), they stay open late (some as late as 5am), they have live music, and last but not least, Monday night is ladies night! It's nice to have some eye candy when having pints.

Did they say how much after 9pm for the gargle???

Is it double ???
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

I lived in Paris for a year in 2002/3 and worked in Corcorans in Saint Michel. Pteagan is correct in that its the McDonalds of Irish pubs. I wouldnt be going to any Corcorans or Sullivans but they will all be packed.

I was there in 2004 with Ireland and loved every minute but now live in the states. The credit card was quivering when this draw was made but I realistically cant go. Midweek makes it impossible and money wise it would be very foolish.

Paris is the greatest city in the world. Enjoy it.

I'm happy to help out with any questions though. I know Pteagan helped a lot in 04 too.

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    The highlander was a good auld spot from what I remember
    The highlander is a scottish bar near enough to pont neuf is a good spot. the auld aliance in the marais is another one and thats fun too!

iirc there was an Aussie bar in the Pigalle area with cheap beer, pool table, dart board etc. Anyone happen to know if it's still there (or was it just a figment of my over active imagination)?

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    I lived in Paris for a year in 2002/3 and worked in Corcorans in Saint Michel. Pteagan is correct in that its the McDonalds of Irish pubs. I wouldnt be going to any Corcorans or Sullivans but they will all be packed.

I was there in 2004 with Ireland and loved every minute but now live in the states. The credit card was quivering when this draw was made but I realistically cant go. Midweek makes it impossible and money wise it would be very foolish.

Paris is the greatest city in the world. Enjoy it.

I'm happy to help out with any questions though. I know Pteagan helped a lot in 04 too.

Its good alright, but id take chicago or even beantown over it if you know where to go. I lived in cambridge/somerville for a while too onenilgameover. interesting to see how you got back out there on a visa?

Anyway the thing is they are on a good street with lots of bars so its easy for the irish to congregate in. I usually do the night before in some nice french place with local people, and then the day of the game just congregate with other irish fans, which generally means outside or near irish bars!

Quote Originally Posted by eaststand85 View Post
    iirc there was an Aussie bar in the Pigalle area with cheap beer, pool table, dart board etc. Anyone happen to know if it's still there (or was it just a figment of my over active imagination)?
    ya they were celebrating australia day there if i remember correctly.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Its good alright, but id take chicago or even beantown over it if you know where to go. I lived in cambridge/somerville for a while too onenilgameover. interesting to see how you got back out there on a visa?

Anyway the thing is they are on a good street with lots of bars so its easy for the irish to congregate in. I usually do the night before in some nice french place with local people, and then the day of the game just congregate with other irish fans, which generally means outside or near irish bars!
    Thats the way to do it Paul. I love Boston but Paris has everything for me and I'd live there again if I could find proper well paid work.

I'm not on a Visa. My mother is originally from Somerville and I am an Obama voting US citizen. She came over to Dublin to teach the deaf met my dad in O'Donoughues playing music and has been there for forty something years. 2 years ago I went the other way. I was in Chicago for work a few weeks ago and while I didnt see a whole lot I didnt think it was up to much.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Did they say how much after 9pm for the gargle???

Is it double ???
    They didn't say. I doubt it's double but that's just a guess.

Think this is the place I was talking about it if anyone's interested but looks a lot worse in the cold harsh light of day/internet.

http://www.cafe-oz.com/cafe.php?id=1

Seems to be a few of them in Paris, anyone (ptegan to the rescue again?) know if they're actually any good?

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
    The Coolin, in Mabillon. best irish bar to drink before and after the match.

for the cheapest beer, avoid all the irish bars and go to Rue Mouffetard in the 5th, its the student area, so way cheaper than your tourist areas like Bastille etc.

tbh, the best ones will be where everyone congregates, they're all a much of a muchness, but Coolin will open very late.
    The Coolin shuts early, at least by Irish standards, although it's close to Corcorans, in St. Germain which stays open very late.

Magnumpi is correct, the Irish bars are best avoided, unless you want to pay 8 euro for a crap pint. There are some fantastic bars in Paris where you can enjoy a good pint, meet decent football people and enjoy the local scenery .

Parts of Monparnasses are great and also around Les Halles. For example, I live in the 15th and Bar Cristal is a nearby favourite. All pints are 4/5 euro and cocktails are 6 euro. It's good sports bar and close to both routes, Metro 13 and the RER, to the Stadium.

Also, note that the sale of alcohol is banned near Stade de France and there are no bars in the general area at least if you are coming from Paris. It can take up to 70 minutes to get to the stadium from Paris so care has to be taken when planning pre-match festivities. You don't want to spend more time than necessary getting to the Stade....

You can PM me if you want any information about Paris.

Think this is the place I was talking about it if anyone's interested but looks a lot worse in the cold harsh light of day/internet.

http://www.cafe-oz.com/cafe.php?id=1

Seems to be a few of them in Paris, anyone (ptegan to the rescue again?) know if they're actually any good?
    They are just crap oz bars much like the crap irish bars. I was in one or two of them and they are nothing to right home about. Depends what you are into though. I myself would pass.

The whole bars from other cultures thing took off in a big way after the 98 world cup and the oz crap is just an extension of that.

By all accounts there was not many non-french places before 98 and now there is far too many.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover View Post
    They are just crap oz bars much like the crap irish bars. I was in one or two of them and they are nothing to right home about. Depends what you are into though. I myself would pass.

The whole bars from other cultures thing took off in a big way after the 98 world cup and the oz crap is just an extension of that.

By all accounts there was not many non-french places before 98 and now there is far too many.

Thanks for that, doesn't look very appealing alright so will steer clear.

Ptegan,

I would be grateful if you could let me know the following information, if you could answer any or all of the questions that would be great.

our hotel address is the following:

1) We are getting the Eurostar is it difficult to get to the hotel from the Eurostar?

2) What is the area we are staying in like? Any good bars etc. near it?

3) In terms of a good pub where would be a good stop off that is near us, but not too far from the stadium?

Thanks chief!

Alas....you never actually said which hotel it was

Also this would be better in the hotel thread but I'm sure that as soon as a mod sobers up enough it'll be moved

Hey Lads,

Booked Hotel opposite Kitty O'Sheas in Opera district. Handy as I'm going with my dad who's 82 and likes a pint but not a long walk home after pints.

First away game for both of us so looking forward to it - well he doesn't know as it's a suprise.

Was anyone there in 2004? And how rammed will it be - will I be dragging a stool from the hotel for him to sit on?!

Just got E-Mail from FAI rejecting ticket application so I'm joining the ranks scratching around for tickets - Hopefully we won't be watching it in the pub!

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan View Post
    Alas....you never actually said which hotel it was

Also this would be better in the hotel thread but I'm sure that as soon as a mod sobers up enough it'll be moved

Haha i'm sorry i meant to copy and paste it in.

it's Hotel Elysées Union
    44 rue de l'Amiral Hamelin - 75116 Paris (obviously)

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shay C View Post
    Hey Lads,

Booked Hotel opposite Kitty O'Sheas in Opera district. Handy as I'm going with my dad who's 82 and likes a pint but not a long walk home after pints.

First away game for both of us so looking forward to it - well he doesn't know as it's a suprise.

Was anyone there in 2004? And how rammed will it be - will I be dragging a stool from the hotel for him to sit on?!

Just got E-Mail from FAI rejecting ticket application so I'm joining the ranks scratching around for tickets - Hopefully we won't be watching it in the pub!
    have been there a couple of times for football and rugby matches and its one of the lesser wedged ones. a seat may not be a problem but getting served quickly might!

hope you get a ticket ok

Quote Originally Posted by themudfactor View Post
    Haha i'm sorry i meant to copy and paste it in.

it's Hotel Elysées Union
    44 rue de l'Amiral Hamelin - 75116 Paris (obviously)
    It's quiet enough along there but it's only a short hop to Avenue des Champs-Elysees. Otherwise, it's easy to get to Les Halles or Bastille on the metro. I guess it depends on where the pre- and post-match action is.

The hotel is close, about 700 metres, to line 13 at Etoile (under the Arc de Triomphe) and from there the metro goes straight to the Stade. You'll be at the Stadium in less than half an hour or thereabouts. Move early though......Etoile will be heaving.

Bon Voyage..

sorry if this has been posted already, but has a meet-up spot been organised. heard some chat on ybig about lads drinking and playing footy under the eiffel tower for a bit, but not sure when?

i'll be at the Coolin out of loyalty.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast