Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

3,491 Posts

France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Post any info on drink, nightlife and craic in Paris here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.

For other info on the game, see -

Flights
    Accommodation (hotels to campsites)
    Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc)
    The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc)
    Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc)
    General (things to do, other chat)

Pubs
    Corcoran's
    The Hideout Bar and details

Meet up thread
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 27/10/2009 at 12:21 PM.

Corcorans in the Pigalle area was great craic when we were there before. The area around it is a bit seedy which might suit some on here!

http://www.wcities.com/en/record/127.../8/record.html

It's probably been 4 years since I last posted here but I'm still living in Paris and am also mod of Travel forum over @ boards.ie so if anyone has any questions about hotels or pubs then I'll do my best to answer.

2,796 Posts
    Guys, ptegan was invaluable to foot.ie posters last time we played there. Great guy.

214 Posts
    My advice is just to keep clear of Irish pubs. I found a lovely Argentinian restuarant/pub near the Eiffel tower the last time I was over.

The cheapest pint I found was 5.50 and that was the 'take away' price. If you wanted to drink it on the premises the price went up to 7 euros!

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Guys, ptegan was invaluable to foot.ie posters last time we played there. Great guy.

A legend in his own underpants - Great to see your still with us brother.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    [QUOTE=shakermaker1982; If you wanted to drink it on the premises the price went up to 7 euros![/QUOTE]

Yeah had the same experience myself 7 euros. Know one fella who was saying it was now 9 euros in some pubs.

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    A legend in his own underpants - Great to see your still with us brother.
    Cheers !

Amazingly enough the site I put together in 2004 for the last match is still hanging around though with a lot of broken links.

I suggest using the Funkymaps site to locate bars in Paris.

Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    Yeah had the same experience myself 7 euros. Know one fella who was saying it was now 9 euros in some pubs.
    I'll do a quick sweep of the major Irish places places later tonight and let you lot know what prices are like.

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan View Post
    Cheers !

Amazingly enough the site I put together in 2004 for the last match is still hanging around though with a lot of broken links.

I suggest using the Funkymaps site to locate bars in Paris.
    Great site, very useful thanks very much. Considered staying in Pigalle area but as you point out (and as I remember it) it's a bit seedy so considering the Bastille area. You're prob sick of being asked questions at this stage but if you could answer a couple more I'd be very grateful!

1. Is it easy to get from Bastille area to CDG Airport as we have an early flight on Thur morning?
    2. Can you recommend one or two budget hotels in the Bastille area? Cheap and cheerful once clean and safe is what we're after.

Quote Originally Posted by eaststand85 View Post
    1. Is it easy to get from Bastille area to CDG Airport as we have an early flight on Thur morning?
    2. Can you recommend one or two budget hotels in the Bastille area? Cheap and cheerful once clean and safe is what we're after.

A taxi from Bastille will set you back €50 and take about 25 minutes

The metro + train will cost you €8.60pp and take about 50 minutes (Metro line 5 to Gare du Nord and then RER B to CDG Airport. You'll be comfortable with the trip as it'll be the same one you take to get to the Stade (metro + RERB)

If you're just looking for a place to crash for the night then try Hotel Baudemaire Bastille @ €69 for a double room (2 people) They also have a room for 4 for €100. Very close to metro and lively drinking spot (Rue de lappe). It's only 1-star so don't expect much (still a clean hotel though)

If you're travelling with a fussy mate or perhaps someone of the female persusion then Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Bastille (2-stars) @ €99 for a double room may be better.

Both prices available on booking.com
    Last edited by ptegan; 20/10/2009 at 1:55 PM.

Hi Ptegan,

We have booked the two hotels below but will probably take the second one, whcih is the best location regards bars nightlife etc???

Thanks in advance

Aux Trois Portes
    Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir
    Paris, 75011
    France

Hotel des Arts
    Address 5 rue Tholoze
    Paris, 75018
    France
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by ptegan View Post
    A taxi from Bastille will set you back €50 and take about 25 minutes

The metro + train will cost you €8.60pp and take about 50 minutes (Metro line 5 to Gare du Nord and then RER B to CDG Airport. You'll be comfortable with the trip as it'll be the same one you take to get to the Stade (metro + RERB)

If you're just looking for a place to crash for the night then try Hotel Baudemaire Bastille @ €69 for a double room (2 people) They also have a room for 4 for €100. Very close to metro and lively drinking spot (Rue de lappe). It's only 1-star so don't expect much (still a clean hotel though)

If you're travelling with a fussy mate or perhaps someone of the female persusion then Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Bastille (2-stars) @ €99 for a double room may be better.

Both prices available on booking.com

Thansk ptegan, definitely owe you a beer at some stage!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Hi Ptegan,

We have booked the two hotels below but will probably take the second one, whcih is the best location regards bars nightlife etc???

Thanks in advance

Aux Trois Portes
    Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir
    Paris, 75011
    France

Hotel des Arts
    Address 5 rue Tholoze
    Paris, 75018
    France

Address 44, Boulevard Richard Lenoir, 75011

You're about a 10-minute walk to Bastille and a 10 minute walk to the gay area (just in case that's your cup of tea). The area is fine and perfect if you were thinking of spending few days in town. The hotel gets great reviews and at €75 for a triple room I think I should send eaststand85 there instead !

The Hotel des Arts is a much nicer hotel, ideal if you're spending several days in Paris. It's a little bit more expensive (€85 a night) but it's Picture Postcard Paris, an ideal place to go for a weekend with that special someone in your life

There isn't that much difference as regards bars and such though they're probably cheaper by the Hotel des Arts. It's a very nice area, a little touristy but it's the one I'd go for.

Quote Originally Posted by eaststand85 View Post
    Great site, very useful thanks very much. Considered staying in Pigalle area but as you point out (and as I remember it) it's a bit seedy so considering the Bastille area. You're prob sick of being asked questions at this stage but if you could answer a couple more I'd be very grateful!

a crowd of us are in the Eden Opéra in pigalle area. should be grand, though 1 of the crew aint to keen. probably to do with the fact he'll enjoy the area too much!!

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    a crowd of us are in the Eden Opéra in pigalle area. should be grand, though 1 of the crew aint to keen. probably to do with the fact he'll enjoy the area too much!!
    Just don't fancy sharing a room with you!

ptegan - cheers for all the useful advice so far. Much appreciated.
    A gang of us have booked into the Vintage Hostel at rue de Dunkerque 75009.
    Am just wondering how would this place compare location-wise and comfort-wise to the Aux Trois Portes & Hotel des Arts mentioned above?
    None of us have been to Paris before so we are taking a stab in the dark with that place. We wouldn't be too well informed of the best location to stay in in Paris.

Thanks for any help

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Galwayman View Post
    ptegan - cheers for all the useful advice so far. Much appreciated.
    A gang of us have booked into the Vintage Hostel at rue de Dunkerque 75009.
    Am just wondering how would this place compare location-wise and comfort-wise to the Aux Trois Portes & Hotel des Arts mentioned above?
    None of us have been to Paris before so we are taking a stab in the dark with that place. We wouldn't be too well informed of the best location to stay in in Paris.

Thanks for any help
    staying not too far from there myself. decent enough spot with a number of Irish bars etc about a 10 - 15 min walk away. o'sullivans (non pigalle) is particularly close as far as i remember

Well the Vintage is a Hostel @ €26 a night for a dorm and the Hotel des Arts is a 3-star hotel. You can't really compare them as such. The hostel will be ideal if you're just looking for a place to put your head down for the night.

The highlander was a good auld spot from what I remember
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast