Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    crowd is, be that under the tower or paddy mcgintys or wherever.

Whatever happens, The most important thing with any of these trips if you are there - Enjoy yourself, sing loud once inside and come home safe Brothers!
    Yeah you're going to get all different types. If you travel with a criteria of what makes a good fan you will spend the whole trip complaining.

As long as people aren't giving us a bad name - causing trouble or wearing English club jerseys - I say live and let live.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    haha, this is getting embarrasing lads, 'water them down a bit'?????

We could be the classic geek gang in school, maybe we should all wear 'foot' badges as well so we know our own, as opposed to the tools
    The badge is a good idea Polster, because I could well be mistaken for a tool when I fall into sullivans with a black mouth from the cheap red wine ive been drinking out of a 2 litre coke bottle!!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool, falling off my stool,
    Oh, I'd rather be a tool than a frog.........

.....or a perfect more superior Irish supporter that some on here think they are, compared to all us tools that like to go to an Irish bar, where there will be Irish fans singing Irish songs and having a general good time.

Some people really need to lighten up on here. Live and let live, there are plenty of nice quiet french bars you can go off to and enjoy your pint in peace, we won't label you a 'tool' if you do. If some people on here had their way, we would probably only have 100 or so 'proper' fans at any game.
    Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    Can I get clarification on something ?

Are you a tool for going to an irish bar and a snob if you dont? If your somewhere in the middle are you a stool?
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Yes its as clear cut as that.

Unless you go to a northern oirish bar...

I think the point being made is that, the irish (want to)go to where all the other fans congregate. It doesn't have to be an irish bar, but you know that you will find other fans there too(not necessarily like minded people) and a good chance of songs being played and/or sung there to build up the atmosphere....for the battle ahead so to speak.
    Its less to do with going to an Irish bar, the fact is that the vast majority of Irish fans at nearly all matches are great craic. Its more to do with my opinion, as voiced by others, that when messers/tools/over-aggressive sorts who can't handle their beer travel, they go to Irish bars. In my experience.

I've noticed the incidence of these types travelling increasing over the last few years, although the recession will hopefully sort it out.

So I'm definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush.

But I don't like being in the company of these tools and thats one of the main reasons why I don't go to Irish bars if I can help it.

Some of you would want to stop jumping to conclusions.

Yep, people who get aggressive with drink should f#ckoff and stay at home..

Pash my pint pleash mate...

So it seems to be O'Sullivans in place de glichy for the banter?
    can somebody not giving out about "tools" havin a laugh confirm that because im goin for a sing song and a bit of craic and i dont want to be offending people who are looking for a deep conversation

Quote Originally Posted by chunger View Post
    So it seems to be O'Sullivans in place de glichy for the banter?
    can somebody not giving out about "tools" havin a laugh confirm that because im goin for a sing song and a bit of craic and i dont want to be offending people who are looking for a deep conversation
    You'll be grand chunger, I think I was one of those 'tools' in 04, we ended up on the tables in Sullivans, singing and dancing till the early hours, fella was about to close up untill we started it, and got things going again. And I have only been travelling to Ireland games reularly for the last 20 years, have to say I have never seen any trouble on my away trips, and rarely anything at home.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Its less to do with going to an Irish bar, the fact is that the vast majority of Irish fans at nearly all matches are great craic. Its more to do with my opinion, as voiced by others, that when messers/tools/over-aggressive sorts who can't handle their beer travel, they go to Irish bars. In my experience.

I've noticed the incidence of these types travelling increasing over the last few years, although the recession will hopefully sort it out.

So I'm definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush.

But I don't like being in the company of these tools and thats one of the main reasons why I don't go to Irish bars if I can help it.

Some of you would want to stop jumping to conclusions.
    You expect the Recession to sort it out, so although you are "definitively not tarring everyone who goes to Irish bars with the same brush." , you are tarring any trouble makers/tools as less affluent people in society. You'd be amazed the jobs and social status a lot of proper 'hooligans' have that travel with other countries, not a problem for the Irish National team to date, thank god.

ORA is a bit of a wum polster ignore it.

polster we were dancing on a table, but we were the only ones dancing on the table and you were not one of them!!! In the back part?! then everyone started doing hte wave thing in and out on the dance floor.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ORA is a bit of a wum polster ignore it.

polster we were dancing on a table, but we were the only ones dancing on the table and you were not one of them!!! In the back part?! then everyone started doing hte wave thing in and out on the dance floor.
    lol, some boy ronane, there are a few sullivans i believe, for what its worth, was night before the game, near the front, and there was some dodgy armagh meeting going on down stairs

And to be honest, I would have no hope of remembering the finer details like yourself You must of been on the coke that night.

anyone know of an off license near the Eiffel Tower? last time there was someone selling crates of beer from a bus down by the river... would prefer not to rely on this again.

Walk to the tower from your digs and you're bound to pass a small super market type shop.

Ya i love those chain stores desyf.

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    anyone know of an off license near the Eiffel Tower? last time there was someone selling crates of beer from a bus down by the river... would prefer not to rely on this again.
    There's few supermarkets in that area where you'll get cheap beer:

A Shopi on Avenue de la Motte-Piquet at the bottom of the Champs de Mars. There's an Ed Discount on rue saint dominique (there's also an O'Briens "Irish" bar on this street) as well as a few Franprix scattered about. You'll have no trouble finding somewhere anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    If you've the time I'd recommend this place in the Marais for a steak frites, unbelievable fillet steak. Not too pricy and cooked just right. This place changed my attitude away from well-done steaks. Will be there on the afternoon of the game, filling up for the drinking ahead.

http://www.qype.co.uk/place/36433-Au...a-Cheval-Paris
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    To be fair Paul I usually do ( although after 7 days of the same as same as Italien food in Sorrento I would of killed for a chinese) and I fully intend to have a bowl of French onion soup and plate du jour in the Latin quarter if I can find the same cafe again .

However for match days you cant beat steak and chips to soak up a few beers.
    Anyone else got any recommendations for a decent, good value lunch on Wednesday (3 courses and wine/beer rather than chicken wings which I had more than enough of in Happy Bar in Sofia )? Is the Latin Quarter a good spot to just take a wander and go wherever looks good? Thanks.

47 Posts
    Ahh Paris a city of fine wines and fine cuisine yet I can see myself in a kebab shop with a can of their finest cheapest lager.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Boulevard de Clichy / Pigalle area, Metro stops blanche or Pigalle is the best area for pubs. There is about 20 of them along that stretch. Plenty of places for grub too.

http://www.funkymaps.com/pubs_and_ba...it+your+search

lads any idea how far the stade de france is from the tower and how to get there?

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567