Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - pubs, etc

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
    sorry if this has been posted already, but has a meet-up spot been organised. heard some chat on ybig about lads drinking and playing footy under the eiffel tower for a bit, but not sure when?

i'll be at the Coolin out of loyalty.
    There was another thread alright but hasn't been updated in a little while (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126288&page=2). Cans under the Eiffel Tower from 2pm seems to be the feeling.

Lads tehre was way more out along place de glichy the last time raiding the off licenses and drinking on teh streets, i dont think you could get a better st really for it.

We're staying in Peace and Love Hostel on Rue La Fayette near Gare du Nord.

I'm thinking we check in then get the metro down to Pigalle or Place de Clichy for a few before heading back up to the match. I don't know Paris that well; I'm wondering if where we're staying is safe enough etc?
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Make sure you tidy up your rubbish after you....otherwise you won't be able to see the poodle sh!t before you tread in it.

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    We're staying in Peace and Love Hostel on Rue La Fayette near Gare du Nord.

I'm thinking we check in then get the metro down to Pigalle or Place de Clichy for a few before heading back up to the match. I don't know Paris that well; I'm wondering if where we're staying is safe enough etc?
    To be honest it's not the best part of town but it's generally safe. Most places in Paris are - just don't do anything stupid and look after yourself on the way home.

Last time in Paris we went to o sullivans on the night before the match ,the place was packed as you would expect and it was full of drunken persons,so me and me mates found a small bar about 10mins away ,filled it up and drank for haltf the price.great craic .There`s plenty of places to drink inParis .We found a lovely little place near the stadium ,great food as well.Suited our needs , will head for the tower but at some stage will need to fuel the tummy ,pick the right restaurant nd you won`t get ripped off.

Dont order steak!

ANyone know any good rock/metal bars?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Dont order steak!

ANyone know any good rock/metal bars?
    I would say Granite and a Crowbar
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Unfortunately crowbar is a bit awkward to get on the plane....smart arse!

Ask a stupid question O Shea....

Thats not a stupid question, im partial to some good rock tunes and a few pints and ye wont be in by that stage, so ill head off with the brother and a few lads first.

Katabar on rue Fontaine in the 9th or Cantada at 13 Rue Moret in the 11th. Please remember that waht might be classed as rock/metal in France might be no more than MOR in Ireland. No different than Mayo I guess............
    Cantada
    Katabar
    Last edited by Raheen; 04/11/2009 at 3:38 PM. Reason: spelling error

Why not order steak Paul. Are you a well done steak few spuds and veg and cup of tae man. !!!!
    In Trap we trust

Dear God, don't start singing !!

Let me know where you'll be and I'll make sure I'm elsewhere...

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Why not order steak Paul. Are you a well done steak few spuds and veg and cup of tae man. !!!!
    If you like horse meat, order away.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Quote Originally Posted by Raheen View Post
    Katabar on rue Fontaine in the 9th or Cantada at 13 Rue Moret in the 11th. Please remember that waht might be classed as rock/metal in France might be no more than MOR in Ireland. No different than Mayo I guess............
    Cantada
    Katabar
    I vaguely remember a french rock band from school trip years ago Trust ?

47 Posts
    A tout le monde
    A tout les amis
    Je vous aime
    Je dois partir
    There are the last words
    Ill ever speak
    And theyll set me free

If I find a french metal karoke bar I will get to sing this
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

haha, ya that could be good id do backing vocals desyf would love that. Btw its These are the last words...

NeilMcD, they dont have steak its this stringy crap or steak haché(sp>) unless of course you want to pay an arm and a leg for what we know as steak!

47 Posts
    My clumsy fingers mistyped!
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

haha, ya that could be good id do backing vocals desyf would love that. Btw its These are the last words...

NeilMcD, they dont have steak its this stringy crap or steak haché(sp>) unless of course you want to pay an arm and a leg for what we know as steak!
    Paul I have lived in France I know what they have. And you can certainly get good steak in Paris without spending an arm and a leg. The Steak hache is just like a burger really, minced beef. Not a big fan of horse either. Lésgargot and frogs legs are grand though. French cooking is top notch and you do not have to pay and arm and a leg to get it either.
    In Trap we trust

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast