Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: France away 18 November 2009 - accommodation

Quote Originally Posted by eaststand85 View Post
    6 of us in there too, getting in to CDG on Tuesday at 17.45 so hopefully be there around 7pm. Was going to say see you at the bar but there doesn't appear to be one, am off to have a word with the lad who booked it!
    I didnt realise that there was no bar, Im there Tuseday to Friday, Ill make the most of the pubs thats near the hotel(watch now probibly miles away)

Ptegan

I'm staying at the 3 ducks hostel - cheap and hopefully cheerful at £20 per night.
    3 DUCKS HOSTEL: 6 place Etienne Pernet - Paris (PA) 75015, France

is it a decent area for a pint (at a reasonable price) and a bit of craic

Thanks for help - invaluable as never been to Paris before

Staying at the acte V hote lnear pantheon, cheap and central. and good reviews.

Quote Originally Posted by GM11 View Post
    Ptegan

I'm staying at the 3 ducks hostel - cheap and hopefully cheerful at £20 per night.

is it a decent area for a pint (at a reasonable price) and a bit of craic

The 3 Ducks Hostel has a great rep in town. Very cheap and usually very cheerful as well

Compared to other places in town though it's in a "quiet" area. Not that there aren't any bars around but that you won't find hoards of Green supports walking past your hostel door all day.

This doesn't matter though because in Paris your hotel/hostel is almost always no where neer you do your drinking and dancing. 90% of the 2-star hotles for example are in areas that you wouldn't spend the evening in; if the area had a load of cool, funky bars and great places to eat well you hotel/hostel wouldn't be only costing you €20 or €40 but more like €120 or €160.

Within a few minutes you have the metro line 8 which takes you direct to Opera district, Republique and Bastille. Better IMHO to get a cheap hotel on a good metro line as you have done rather than pay over-the-top money for a crap hotel smack-bang in the center of town. The €100 you save on your bed for the night is easily made up in the 30 minutes you'll spend in the metro.

Quote Originally Posted by skimcg View Post
    Staying at the acte V hote lnear pantheon, cheap and central. and good reviews.
    Right by the Rue Mouffetard. Lots of cheap places to drink and especially a lot of cheap places to eat (€17 for 3-courses + wine is common).

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GM11 View Post
    Ptegan

There's a few of us staying there too. Arriving on the Wednesday morning.

Hi Ptegan do you have any opinion on Best Western Aulivia Opera
    Paris, FR
    in relation to location and quality.

Many thanks for any help
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

3 of us in the Victor Masse hotel tues and wed nights. single rooms for 65 euro per night

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    There's a few of us staying there too. Arriving on the Wednesday morning.

Good stuff - I am going Tuesday night - Belfast to De Gaulle back on thursday evening with Esayjet.

Will be on my jack on tuesday night as mates not arriving until Weds morning on Liverpool flight - but will prob just take up residence at the 3 ducks bar!

Thanks for the help Ptegan - sounds promising all need now is a result!!

2 of us in Hostel Vintage. 500m from Gare du Nord apparently
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

2,284 Posts
    Paris35 is a handy site to use to search for cheap accommodation.

Auberge internationale des jeunes

There is a good group of six or seven of us lads staying in "Auberge internationale des jeunes paris". It's dirt cheap at 14 euro a night so I know thje place will be a bit 'kippy', but we jus need a place to go for a few blinks and thats it. Don't plan on spending much time there obviously. Does anyone know what it's like? I have looked on google maps and the area looks O.K.
    pain is only temporary, glory is forever.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Larks View Post
    There is a good group of six or seven of us lads staying in "Auberge internationale des jeunes paris". It's dirt cheap at 14 euro a night so I know thje place will be a bit 'kippy', but we jus need a place to go for a few blinks and thats it. Don't plan on spending much time there obviously. Does anyone know what it's like? I have looked on google maps and the area looks O.K.
    google the name of the hotel and tripadvisor

Staying in the Timhotel in Clichy our next door neighbour is the sexodrome ! Should be fun coming home at night . Which door to chose ??

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour View Post
    Staying in the Timhotel in Clichy our next door neighbour is the sexodrome ! Should be fun coming home at night . Which door to chose ??
    Stayed in that place in 04, the nightporter wuz not happy wit the hrs we kept, threw the keys at us every night when we arrived back. Still it was cheap as ****, unlike the sexodrome lol!

Quote Originally Posted by rfkimble View Post
    Stayed in that place in 04, the nightporter wuz not happy wit the hrs we kept, threw the keys at us every night when we arrived back. Still it was cheap as ****, unlike the sexodrome lol!
    Is it as bad as im expecting ?? Not the sexodrome ! Dont really mind cause in great location for everything

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour View Post
    Is it as bad as im expecting ?? Not the sexodrome ! Dont really mind cause in great location for everything
    yeah dont worry its grand, as u say great location, we're stayin just up the road this time, hotel avenir monmartre

Just booked into Paris Hilton, heard its supposed to be gorgeous
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by prince20 View Post
    Just booked into Paris Hilton, heard its supposed to be gorgeous

Depends on how many you have had.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

214 Posts
    The reviews on trip advisor make me laugh for each hotel I've been checking out.

1 star - the lift was tiny.

1 star - I saw a drunk 400 metres from the hotel one night.

Americans eh?

I'm going for a bit of comfort this time around.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast