View Poll Results: Do you want Jamie O'Hara representing us?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

39 60.00%
  • No

26 40.00%
Page 21 of 53 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: Jamie O'Hara

285 Posts
    How's it going to be weird? All his family are from Wicklow.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

2,771 Posts
    its great news. Ive seen alot of him this season and hes going to be a great addition to our team.

Not keen on Nolan.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    How's it going to be weird? All his family are from Wicklow.
    Hi Trap,

What I mean is that he has already played for England. Me wonders what his offical statement is going to be.

Also, what do you mean by 'all' ? Are both his parents from Ireland? Im sorry, I honestly dont know

Someone said on the YBIG forum that his uncle played for the Republic. Can someone shed some light on this please?
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    its great news. Ive seen alot of him this season and hes going to be a great addition to our team.

Not keen on Nolan.
    Dont worry, Nolan is not coming.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Smile

Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best. Didn't know his lack sorry fiancee was Danielle Llyod.....lucky boy

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...und-melee.html
    I have a head only Snow White would love

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    Hi Trap,

What I mean is that he has already played for England. Me wonders what his offical statement is going to be.

Also, what do you mean by 'all' ? Are both his parents from Ireland? Im sorry, I honestly dont know

Someone said on the YBIG forum that his uncle played for the Republic. Can someone shed some light on this please?
    I thought his dad was from Magherafelt? And is Grandad was from the republic somewhere? No?

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best.
    Aargh!! He's part of the Warrior Nation now!!..
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,501 Posts
    that's a one warrior nation doc!

626 Posts

Beauty is not skin deep

Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Our Jamie in the wars at Pompey.....at least he came out best. Didn't know his lack sorry fiancee was Danielle Llyod.....lucky boy

l
    That stupid, racist, cheating (in competition and relationships) village bicycle - Don't allow him in until he loses that baggage

87 Posts
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2085196.html

.............."Everyone wants to play at the best level possible," adds Wilson, who hinted that Pompey team-mate Jamie O'Hara will join him in the Irish fold after discussions with FAI representatives.

OHara would be strong in midfield

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Just watched an interview with O Hara on Soccer Saturday on Sky. Said hes honoured to be linked with us but is going to wait until after the World Cup to make a decision because alot of the England players are in the later part of their career and he would like to think hes good enough to be considered as part of the new generation. Said he definately wants to play international football and because he has already played for England that would be his first preference.
    First time Ive heard him interviewed and comes across as a decent fella
    Its really not that complicated!!!

lol so here a lad who definetly won't be called up is still waiting to play for england...like fair play to him for being straight about it but thats a joke really.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Just watched an interview with O Hara on Soccer Saturday on Sky. Said hes honoured to be linked with us but is going to wait until after the World Cup to make a decision because alot of the England players are in the later part of their career and he would like to think hes good enough to be considered as part of the new generation. Said he definately wants to play international football and because he has already played for England that would be his first preference.
    First time Ive heard him interviewed and comes across as a decent fella
    Disappointing but at least he's being straight. Seems to be saying the right things in order to keep his options open (according to what Razor has said). Bit surprising given the general concensus in the Irish media that he was most likely going to join us.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Tony Cascarino and Martin Keown debating this now on TV3

Keown mentioned that he played for England because his Dad didn't want them to move to England and take advantage of what was offered there, and then not give something back. Might not have that word for word.
    Said he saw Cunningham play as a striker, and mentioned his parents by name.

Really hope they make this available online later, it's well worth seeing.
    ye keowns father would be like my dad. he makes a good point too.

1,001 Posts
    To be honest I have no problems with O Haras attitude towards it.He was raised in England and e has played up to under 21s for England so I dont see a problem with his first choice being getting senior caps with them. He is also playing extemely well at the moment so it is not beyond the realms of possiblity that he could get a call up for them in the future. But he was respectful about the possiblity of playing for us and I would personally welcome him aboard. I know there are some lads that wont want that but that debate has been done to death so many times already on here so Im not gonna get into it again.
    One other thought I had is that if he is not involved in the end of season friendlies and training camp I would wonder about whether Trap would call him up for the next campaign anyway. We all seen how loyal he was to players that were in his original training squad when he took over and how hard it was for players that werent there to break into the squad afterwards

To be honest I have no problems with O Haras attitude towards it.He was raised in England and e has played up to under 21s for England so I dont see a problem with his first choice being getting senior caps with them. He is also playing extemely well at the moment so it is not beyond the realms of possiblity that he could get a call up for them in the future. But he was respectful about the possiblity of playing for us and I would personally welcome him aboard. I know there are some lads that wont want that but that debate has been done to death so many times already on here so Im not gonna get into it again.
    One other thought I had is that if he is not involved in the end of season friendlies and training camp I would wonder about whether Trap would call him up for the next campaign anyway. We all seen how loyal he was to players that were in his original training squad when he took over and how hard it was for players that werent there to break into the squad afterwards
    http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/frattonl...-to.6128900.jp
    Just found this. Clarifies his position a little bit more. Again, he's said all the right things. Slightly different sounds from what came out of Trap's press-conference last week. I would also welcome him and appreciate his honesty.

Saw the interview earlier, and OK he was fairly honest about his intentions - he likes to think he could be part of the "next generation" of English players after the WC, but wants to play international football. So, we are his second choice - are we ok with this half-arsed type of commitment?

Quite amusing how he kept stalling when referring to "my country".

I think he should now be ruled out, unless you're 100%, you don't deserve the jersey

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sproston Green View Post
    Saw the interview earlier, and OK he was fairly honest about his intentions - he likes to think he could be part of the "next generation" of English players after the WC, but wants to play international football. So, we are his second choice - are we ok with this half-arsed type of commitment?

Quite amusing how he kept stalling when referring to "my country".

I think he should now be ruled out, unless you're 100%, you don't deserve the jersey
    You dont think Andy Towsend grew up wanting to play for England? But yet went onto be a great captain for us with no one doubting his commitment

I guess I just speak from my own experience - born in UK, have never supported England. I would just like all non-Irish born players to have that commitment - like Kev Kilbane

Page 21 of 53 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast