View Poll Results: Do you want Jamie O'Hara representing us?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

39 60.00%
  • No

26 40.00%
Page 29 of 53 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast

Thread: Jamie O'Hara

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    This hedging of bets scenario in such a public manner is farcical.
    His supposition that the Sun team of the week actually matters to Fabio Capello is even more farcial.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Is it just me or do O'Hara's virtual pleas to Capello seem...desperate?
    Why should it be remarkable that someone who was born and brought up in England and who is playing regularly for an EPL club (just!) be "desperate" to play for England?

Granted, I think he's a long way off being good enough (and I'm a Spurs fan), and so he may be deluding himself, but I kinda respect the fact he's showing this attitude, especially since he knows NI would likely give him an opportunity to play international football, even if Trapattoni might not fancy him.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Why should it be remarkable that someone who was born and brought up in England and who is playing regularly for an EPL club (just!) be "desperate" to play for England?

Granted, I think he's a long way off being good enough (and I'm a Spurs fan), and so he may be deluding himself, but I kinda respect the fact he's showing this attitude, especially since he knows NI would likely give him an opportunity to play international football, even if Trapattoni might not fancy him.
    I appreciate the fact that he'd rather play for England and his reasons why. I just find his constant 'tweeting' about his performances somewhat shameless, but that's just me. In a few years time, he could maybe break into the England set-up; I wonder is he willing to wait for his chance?

I suppose Nigel Worthington is aware of his eligibility. Do you know if NI are actively pursuing him in the way that Trapattoni is?

While O'Hara would undoubtedly improve the Irish team a small bit. I don't think midfield is that badly stocked right now.
    It's interesting that despite the continued calls to exploit the granny rule, for the most part Irelands best players have been homegrown lads like Given, McGrath and Keane. It's the same in Rugby with O'Driscoll, Wood and O'Connell. We're well capable of producing our own.
    Adding Meyler, Reid and Fahy to a squad which already contains Duff, Hunt, Gibson, Whelan and Andrews isn't too bad a position that we need to be chasing some tweeting geezer.
    Criticism is prejudice made plausible

2,771 Posts
    have to say i agree. Was willing to give his soccer am and newspaper comments the benefit of the doubt but when he is tweeting that crap you know where his allegiances truly lie. And as you point out, we have the makings of an excellent midfield there anyway and thats even with you forgetting to mention McCarthy..
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    I was all for giving O Hara a call up because I think he is a very good player, but I must admit in the last month I have changed that view a bit. For no one reason in particular, but he does seem to be making it a bit too obvious that an Ireland call up would be too much of a distant 2nd choice. Plus the emergence of Gibson, Meyler, Wilson and McCarthy is very pleasing and I would like to see those lads who are fully 1000% committed given the chance
    Its really not that complicated!!!

130 Posts
    As mentioned before, fair enough if the lad wants to play for England, he is English after all and good luck to him. I certainly wouldnt be as desperate from him to play for us as he appears to want to play for England.
    Anyways Im sure Trap mentioned in some interview around the brazil game that he had set a deadline for those that he has approached under the granny/parentage rules, I believe that deadline was the training camp this summer. Therefore, it appears O'H has well and truly made up his mind.

1,928 Posts
    It was a case of us approaching an English player, asking if he would declare for us and he says 'maybe later but for now I really want to play for England'.
    He does not owe us anything bar a polite answer, he gave an honest enough reply to Trap as to where his loyalties are.
    We do not have to pursue him any longer. Let him live out his football career and his ambitions. He is of no more concern to us than any other English footballer.

I'm not sure why people are surprised. He's English and has repeatedly expressed his desire to play for England. If he does choose to declare for us, it will because he has accepted he's not good enough to play for England (although he seems fairly dumb so maybe he'll think we're the better team). With a few exceptions, that's how we've gotten most of our granny-rulers.

Quote Originally Posted by MuckaTucka View Post
    It's interesting that despite the continued calls to exploit the granny rule, for the most part Irelands best players have been homegrown lads like Given, McGrath and Keane. It's the same in Rugby with O'Driscoll, Wood and O'Connell. We're well capable of producing our own.
    Adding Meyler, Reid and Fahy to a squad which already contains Duff, Hunt, Gibson, Whelan and Andrews isn't too bad a position that we need to be chasing some tweeting geezer.
    Its true that the only genuine international class players we produce are likely to be Irish born and bred. Any English with Irish family who fit in that band are inevitably going to pursue a career with England simply because they have the potential to do so. This is the case with O'Hara, who I genuinely believe has the quality to make it as an England player and seeing as he seems a nice lad I hope he makes it. The English that do end up in our team, such as Lawrence and St Ledger simply weren't rated high enough to even be offered a call-up at youth level for England. To put it simply if O'Hara were say 20% less talented he'd probably be playing for us by now because England wouldn't be on the horizon. For all the talk of the proud diaspora how many English born players have actually chosen us over England when actually being wanted by both? Even Steven Reid only made it to under-16 level with England before being overlooked.
    To add to those mentioned above a lad who always impresses me as a potential international player is Keith Treacy. Watching our under-21's is quite a dispiriting experience generally but he always looks a cut above the general mediocrity. So if Trap's looking for a wide midfield player to add to the squad perhaps he might consider an Irish option instead.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrock View Post
    For all the talk of the proud diaspora how many English born players have actually chosen us over England when actually being wanted by both?
    I know people would laugh at the thought of Kevin Kilbane playing for England now, but they wanted him at U-21 level and he rejected them for us.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

114 Posts
    They fought very hard for him - as they did with McAteer.

Personally speaking, I wouldnt want to see OHara near the squad. He has no interest.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I know people would laugh at the thought of Kevin Kilbane playing for England now, but they wanted him at U-21 level and he rejected them for us.
    I wouldn't laugh at all. Kilbane would have won a handfull of caps had he been English (only a handfull mind).
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Kilbane probably would have been in contention with England's dearth of quality left-sided players (which is as much an issue now as it ever was), but I don't know if he would have progressed passed the odd friendly.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    I think we can just about close the book on O'Hara playing for us. Fair play to him, he's a good player and he's desperate to play for his country, nothing wrong with that. No different than me, I'd give my left ball to play for Ireland but if I was towards the end of my career and had not received a call up I might consider playing for Canada.

285 Posts
    I'd be very surprised if England came calling for Jamie O'Hara any time soon, if at all. Far too many players ahead of him.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 13/04/2010 at 4:25 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

207 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    I think we can just about close the book on O'Hara playing for us. Fair play to him, he's a good player and he's desperate to play for his country, nothing wrong with that. No different than me, I'd give my left ball to play for Ireland but if I was towards the end of my career and had not received a call up I might consider playing for Canada.
    There's no need to close any book. He's still eligible. He said he'd decide after the summer. Why are people here so impatient?

2,771 Posts
    i think most (me included - he's a decent player) were willing to give him until then and let his performances do the talking as far as his England hopes are concerned. Its his tweeting along with some dodgy comments in interviews that have closed the issue for me. It is clear where his true allegiances lie and that leaves a bit of a bad taste.

Plus, as pointed out we have some excellent (irish born) midfield talent making great strides in the Premier League and suddenly a half committed O'Hara doesnt seem as necessary or attractive.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

285 Posts
    Kevin Nolan got his 16th & 17th league goal of the season tonight against Reading making him the 2nd top scorer in the Championship. That's good going for a midfielder in all fairness.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 13/04/2010 at 9:26 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Page 29 of 53 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast