Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Montenegro - Wednesday, 14th October 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

what a load of muck. we better pray for greece or we are going nowhere

Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Tommy Smyth i think his name is, been on ESPN for years and I believe he is fairly legendary for really not having any idea what he is rambling on about. Ever.
    Tommy Smyth - resident soccer expert on the Extra Special Pronunciation Network
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

Quote Originally Posted by Evertonian View Post
    what a game. Worst **** i have ever watched in my life. We will beat nobody in the playoffs
    Yeah, what a disgrace, within 2 minutes of winning the World Champion's group.

Take the negativity and shove it up Dunphy's ****. Too many of this type on here at the moment.

65 Posts
    I wouldnt read anyhing into tonights game. There wll be four countries praying they dont get dran against us on Monday, Sepp Blatter will fix the draw anyway so France and Portugal dont get us.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Utterly brutal game and the ESPN commentary to match.

But those of ye saying we've no chance in the play offs because of tonight - calm the feck down. We started 5 players short of our first XI

749 Posts
    Thankfully the team we put out in the playoffs will be a lot stronger than this one. But it just shows that the seeding of the play-offs matters little to us, we'll always up our game against the big teams and struggle against the lesser ones.

Would you rather be winning 6-2 against Georgia but be out of the tournament?

2 quick goals for Italy there, 2-2 now.

Liam Miller has proved tonight that he shouldn't be near the Ireland squad. Very poor team, how we got this far I'll never know. Fair dues to Trap.

749 Posts
    Thank feck that's over...

Quote Originally Posted by shaneker View Post
    Yeah, what a disgrace, within 2 minutes of winning the World Champion's group.

Take the negativity and shove it up Dunphy's ****. Too many of this type on here at the moment.

get real and comment on whats in front of you, or is it now the fashionable thing to say wer brilliant and anyone that says otherwise is a dunphy lover??? italy are not a great team. they have topped the group easily by playing terribly
    Last edited by ronburgundy; 14/10/2009 at 7:54 PM.

Bloody pitiful performance. Shameful. ****ed away or chance of getting into the second pot for the draw for Euro 2012. Id say this performance will really worry France, Portugal, Greece and Russia. Shame.

Muppets ye are. We looked tired today and we had a totally makeshift midfield. Should have been 2-0 up at halftime.

We also need a performance like this to keep our ego in check. Bring on the playoffs> I fear no team.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Dreadful game.

Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post
    Muppets ye are. We looked tired today and we had a totally makeshift midfield. Should have been 2-0 up at halftime.

We also need a performance like this to keep our ego in check. Bring on the playoffs> I fear no team.
    you are obviously a footballing genius

Quote Originally Posted by ronburgundy View Post
    you are obviously a footballing genius
    Thanks. Now pish off

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    I wouldnt read anyhing into tonights game. There wll be four countries praying they dont get dran against us on Monday, Sepp Blatter will fix the draw anyway so France and Portugal dont get us.
    I laugh when I hear that. No one fears getting us in the play-offs. Only Slovenia would arguably be a better draw as far as the seeded teams are concerned.

749 Posts
    Take it easy lads, it was a glorified friendly.

Injury time winner for Italy, 3-2. Probably as well we didn't win the last night - how sickened would we have been if that had happened tonight after we beat them on Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post
    Thanks. Now pish off
    good one

Quote Originally Posted by ronburgundy View Post
    get real and comment on whats in front of you, or is it now the fashionable thing to say wer brilliant and anyone that says otherwise is a dunphy lover??? italy are not a great team
    This may take some explaining.

We got hammered by Australia in a friendly. We then matched Italy - maybe not a 'great' team like, for example, Spain are (they are probably the only 'great' team in international football right now, possibly Brazil too, but nobody else) but certainly a 'top' team in terms of winning the last World Cup and topping their group for the next one. Italy will be in the quarters or semis next summer at worst. Clearly the friendly result meant nothing to our next competitive game.

So drawing 0-0 while dominating the game, hitting the crossbar and generally playing reasonably well with a severely weakened side in what was clearly a game played at friendly pace means...sorry, just getting the calculator...sod all.

Go on a France or Portugal forum and find the posters saying 'I really hope we draw Ireland, they've looked dreadful in qualifying.' We've done very well, unbeaten in 10 and 2 great results against a top team. We're not muck, we're just dull and efficient. Find me Padraig O'Iniesta and Dermot FitzMessi and then we can complain about that. Until then - I repeat - take the negativity and go jump into bed with Eamon. This team and this manager deserves respect for how far it's come in 2 years. Cyprus, San Marino, Slovakia, Czech Republic. Not ancient history. We've as good a chance as anyone in the play-offs.

Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Take it easy lads, it was a glorified friendly.

Injury time winner for Italy, 3-2. Probably as well we didn't win the last night - how sickened would we have been if that had happened tonight after we beat them on Saturday.
    im sure if they needed the result italy would have hammered cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    I laugh when I hear that. No one fears getting us in the play-offs. Only Slovenia would arguably be a better draw as far as the seeded teams are concerned.
    well said. its sad how far up our own arses we have gone

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast