Beecher Networks - Web Development, Hosting & Domains

View Poll Results: How many private sector workers have taken a pay cut or been made redundant

Voters
28. You may not vote on this poll
  • I work in the private sector and I have taken a paycut since the start of 2008 or been made redundant

10 35.71%
  • I work in the private sector and my pay has increased or stayed the same since the start of 2008

18 64.29%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The public vs private sector

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    82 Posts

The public vs private sector

The main economic bodies, both Irish and internationally and the private sector see the obvious solution to the country's spending deficit as a fairly significant pay cut across the public sector.

Obviously the public sector have come out against this and feel they will be sharing an undue burden of the economic pain. They have specifically denied that paycuts in the private sector have been widespread.

So, I thought a simple poll would be informative.

Only to be answered by those in the private sector. Simply, since the beginning of 2008, have you either taken a gross pay cut (i.e. before tax or government intervention) or have you been made redundant (the ultimate pay cut).
    OR
    is your gross pay the same, or more, than at the start of 2009.

The poll is private BTW.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 14/10/2009 at 10:26 AM.

International Prospect osarusan's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1,000 Posts
    ORA, do you (as the setter of the poll) get to see which option people voted for?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    ORA, do you (as the setter of the poll) get to see which option people voted for?
    No, definately not. Not sure whether Adam does?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    501 Posts