Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: "A skinny rat, a skinny little rat"

Lads, can ye not see whta the skinny rat is doing. I read in reverse order, i saw dunphys "interview" on rte.ie and thought i would never see him admit to being wrong, and thought fair play.

The only reason he did it is obviouslly in response to what Trap said. Trap has made him look a fool and he knows it, thats the only reason he has come out with that tripe. Don't be so easily fooled.

Is it not great that the Emao, Bill and Giles show gives us so much to discuss and in my case, laugh about. You really shouldn't take them seriously, its been going on since the 80's. Its like tuning into a cabaret act at this stage. Personally I find it very funny, and would much prefer it to falling alseep through Frank Stapletons exciting analysis, or those muppets that fill up the uk studios.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Lads, can ye not see whta the skinny rat is doing. I read in reverse order, i saw dunphys "interview" on rte.ie and thought i would never see him admit to being wrong, and thought fair play.

The only reason he did it is obviouslly in response to what Trap said. Trap has made him look a fool and he knows it, thats the only reason he has come out with that tripe. Don't be so easily fooled.
    Dunphy didn't admit to being wrong though...he's actually claimed that he was misinterpreted, which is complete B.S.:

'One word was taken out of a 20-minute conversation - the word 'shameful'. It's not an appropriate word to use for the performance (against Italy); what I was referring to was Andy Reid's omission from the squad,' said Dunphy.
    It's clear to anybody with any sort of basic comprehension skills that Dunphy was referring to our performance when he used the word shameful. So no, it's not "fair play to him," because he's not apologizing, he's actually lying and twisting to get himself out of a jam.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

Ah, thats why he did it, thanks for clearing it up Paul

I think I'll go with my own happy theory that the bully backed down after he was stood up to by one of the smaller guys, thats Hunty I mean by the way.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Definitely, he said it even before he started going on about Andy Reid. Surprised he's back tracking a bit though, must be going a bit soft.
    Soft as in spineless? he has always been like that.
    Backtracking, twisting words, grovelling, is his stock in trade.

It's called entertainment.

Dunphy apologised, I think that sould be the end of the matter.

There is no reason to personalise anything in football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

It's only a game after all.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post

There is no reason to personalise anything football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

When you call a creditable performance against the world champions shameful, and then go on to try and twist your way out of it by saying you were misunderstood, then I'd say it's personal, at least for the members of the squad (as evidenced by Hunt's reaction, and even Given's reaction talking about how you can never please some people).

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post

There is no reason to personalise anything in football really, that includes criticising Dunphy, Trap, Hunt, etc.

Where did he apologise?
    he slithered/backtracked and tried to twist what he said into another context.

'One word was taken out of a 20-minute conversation - the word 'shameful'. It's not an appropriate word to use for the performance (against Italy); what I was referring to was Andy Reid's omission from the squad,' said Dunphy.

Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    Ah, thats why he did it, thanks for clearing it up Paul

I think I'll go with my own happy theory that the bully backed down after he was stood up to by one of the smaller guys, thats Hunty I mean by the way.
    He never gets into spats with individual players though, its the manager he goes for.

IF86, i should have used a different word perhaps(im sounding like dunphy), but its as close as he is capable of apologising and admitting wrong. He is squirming his way out as he knows Trap and to a lesser extent hunty have made a fool of him, Trap has done it the smart way, hunty has done it a little less tactfully but the 2 combined will have all on side and dunphy knows this and that they have made him look like an eejit. He is trying to save face here before he loses that small little bit of respect he still has that keeps him on tele.

It will be very interesting to see him tonight, i for one am pretty sure he will be no longer a rat but a skinny little weasel, both vermon at the end of the day
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 14/10/2009 at 10:24 AM.

1,025 Posts
    'I would say the word 'shameful' in the context I used on Saturday was wrong. I've no problem admitting that.'
    He is not apologising, but at least admitting he was wrong.

I don't see what all the fuss is though. Dunphy has always made outrageous statements just to be controversial. I don't see why people so outraged by more of the same stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    When you call a creditable performance against the world champions shameful, and then go on to try and twist your way out of it by saying you were misunderstood, then I'd say it's personal, at least for the members of the squad (as evidenced by Hunt's reaction, and even Given's reaction talking about how you can never please some people).
    I agree he did personalise an attack on Trap, although Trap is too professional to take the bait and has had dealt with a lot bigger fish than Dunphy in the media. After all, the Italian media is dominated by people like Berlusconi so you can imagine what it's like.

I don't like the way Dunphy tries to turn the Irish people against Trap. With Giles sitting in the corner nodding his head in agreement. That is really shameful. These two codgers had their go at management and their results were mixed. They don't give credit to Trap. They call some Irish players nothing players and disrespect them.

They do personalise their attacks, particularly on Trap by constantly going on about his tactics and team selection. An objective analysis of both Italian games would say there were periods when we dominated and there were periods when we didn't. But it's the same when Man Utd play or Liverpool play and they don't call their performance shameful.

I just wonder who are the real fans or the old Irish players Dunphy thinks have been shamed by Ireland's recent performance? Liam Brady? Cascarino? Lawrenson? The vast majority of ex Irish players think Trap is a good manager doing a decent job with limited resources.

Most fans think the same.

I am all for free speech and Dunphy can say what he wants. But if he is going to personalise attacks against managers or players he shouldn't be surprised or upset if he gets the same in return.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 14/10/2009 at 10:43 AM.

20 Posts
    Has anyone, or any group of fans considered bringing a banner to tonight's match with something like "Dunphy Out"? I mean if that route of protest is good for chairmen or managers, then why not pundits?

"No No No Bill, we need to bring back Leonardo and Donatello into the squad"

49 Posts
    "skinny rats out"
    this comment is going to have a life of its own i feel.
    going to end up a classic.

Get your Hats Flags or

Defo going one better than the Ukrainians throwing this onto the pitch
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

1,928 Posts
    It was a misquote from Hunt

'twas more of a 'you dirthy little rat'

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I remember that alright now. Didn't know your mans name or that he had a love fest with Dunphy the next day. Actually reflects worse on Liddle than Dunphy really, which is saying something.

Brady used be tough enough with Dunphy alright but even that tension seemed to ease in Brady's final days.

was Rod Liddle the guy who wrote the artice during WC 2002 questioning why everybody loved the Irish and going on about leprachauns, and Robbie Keane's celebrations etc? I remember there was some kind of petition that went around by email?

That aside I actually like Liddle's column in Sunday Times

Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    Robbie Keane needs a good kick up the backside at times, as does mcgeady, both great players, technically way ahead of hunt, but in my opinion could try harder at times. Then of course we have guys not in the squad for various reasons.

But its just an opinion, a counter to the one that Hunt is a useless moron not worthy of a green jersey.

If you want to talk about embarrasing/unnecessary interviews, how about Robbie Keane on the late late, telling us how great Stan was.

I just find it strange that so many want to condemn a guy who gives 100% everytime he plays, and although not the most articulated person in the world, I believe his heart is in the right place. I'm sure the rest of the Irish squad will be pathing him on the back for his Dunphy put down. It also illiminates any urge that Trap or anyone else involved in the setup might have had to respond.

If you believe that is 'utter bulls**t', that is your opinion, and your quiet entitled to voice it.

Roll on South Africa.
    Just because he moans the odd time doesn't mean lessen his passion or commitment. If I remember correctly, Robbie played an away match for Ireland a few days after his father died. There can be no greater show of commitment than that. In addition, Mcgeady has taken years of abuse for choosing to play with us

161 Posts
    Dunphy on the radio this morning is like a movie trailer for tonights match punditry. I agree with P O'Shea. Trap made Dunphy backtrack (of sorts) by not playing the game. Dunphy's rant has made it easier for Trap in dealing with questions about Andy Reid's non-inclusion. No reporter will pose the question again for quite some time. Trap 1, Dunphy 0. But don't take it too seriously.

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    To seperate this out - the point thats being made is that you are more concerned about who is talking rather than whats being said -

1) Robbie Keane a hero and therefore everything that comes out of his mouth is golden - FALSE. Robbie Keane is a hero but standing up for Stan was a bad move. It doesnt diminish the man or what he does on the pitch though.
    2) Hunt is a clown so everything that comes out of his mouth is a pile of rubbish - FALSE. While he might not be Maradonna, if you seperate the person from the words, his opinion is justified on occasions and this was one of those occasions.
    3) Eamon Dunphy is a pundit that makes good television - TRUE - He comes out with some s**t 90% of the time but hes a bit like foot.ie - worth watching for the craic, but dont take it too seriously boys.

In Traps words "Who is this Dunphy. I dont know him. If he knows about football, I would like to meet him" - only to be met with the journalists laughter. I think that says it all.

That's a brilliant retort by Trap. Now contrast that to Hunt's apish response.....

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast