Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: "A skinny rat, a skinny little rat"

Hunt is getting a bit of stick in here and i have to say it saddens me.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tiktok View Post
    Do I have to pick a side, because I think they're both terrible?

Hunt runs off at the mouth too much, the lad is passionate, but not that bright.
    Dunphy now sets out be outraged and controversial regardless of the match, he's become a parody of himself.
    Good post. I quite like Hunt but he definitely talks to much and doesn't seem to be the brightest spark.

Dunphy has been a parody of himself for a long time now, once he gets a hobby horse it utterly blinds him. I watched the RTE analysis on line on Sunday night after a bit of a sunday session with some of the Birmingham Irish lads that were over. I'd been out straight after the game as well and gave up trying to hear what they were saying on the telly in the pub so hadn't heard anything that had been said after it. I put the analysis on hoping to see the goals again and instead got to listen to the most vitriolic nonsense I've heard Dunphy talk in years.' Terrible perfoamnce, shameful....'!! Shameful???!!! What a crock of sh1t.

Dunphy talks about it being personal between Trap and Andy Reid yet bases his entire analysis of the game on the fact that Reid was missing rather then what happened on the pitch. It's now personal between Dunphy and Trap yet Eamon won't see it that way. It's wearing thin at this stage but as people have said it brings in ratings so he won't be coming off our screens anytime soon. Be interesting to see what he says on Wednesday but in it's own way it'll probably be quite predictible.

Serious football people think Dunphy is a muppet.

The only people who think Dunphy is cool, are the bandwagoners who only watch Ireland play when they are winning, those who have no affiliation to their local soccer team, those who never lined out for any soccer team in their lives, those who would switch the channel when a League of Ireland match is on.

He's not a serious commentator. I just hope the Irish players and Trapattoni understand that. He is a sensationalist, nothing else.

I watched the Irish game repeat on sky sports on saturday night/sunday morning. It was actually a very good performance from the Irish team. Apart from the goals, they were far far better than most people make out. The Italians hardly got a look at goal the entire match. Pirlo did not control the ball or anything like it. Pirlo was a disaster in Bari by the way, the Irish midfield shut him out of the game and he had to be subbed.

Dunphy has a record of stabbing people in the back at their moment of greatest triumph. Eg Seamus Heaney, Jack Charlton, Trapattoni, and so on. It's disgraceful really. But it's how he makes his money. Find a person who is popular and then attack them. It sells papers.

He has no interest in attacking the coach of a Phoenix Park team for example. That wouldn't sell papers.

The guy has no principles, no honour and no respect for anyone. So why should anyone have respect for him? Hunt is right!

Dunphy hates to see anyone succeed and tries to drag them into the gutter where he is most comfortable.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 13/10/2009 at 10:27 AM.

1,912 Posts
    Rats are getting a raw deal here but I suppose 'skinny little rat' is saying he is not even a real rat.

I would have to confess to having similar mental images to Hunt whenever Dunphy's spiteful pot boils over.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    Serious football people think Dunphy is a muppet.

The only people who think Dunphy is cool, are the bandwagoners who only watch Ireland play when they are winning, those who have no affiliation to their local soccer team, those who never lined out for any soccer team in their lives, those who would switch the channel when a League of Ireland match is on.

He's not a serious commentator. I just hope the Irish players and Trapattoni understand that. He is a sensationalist, nothing else.

I watched the Irish game repeat on sky sports on saturday night/sunday morning. It was actually a very good performance from the Irish team. Apart from the goals, they were far far better than most people make out. The Italians hardly got a look at goal the entire match. Pirlo did not control the ball or anything like it. Pirlo was a disaster in Bari by the way, the Irish midfield shut him out of the game and he had to be subbed.

Dunphy has a record of stabbing people in the back at their moment of greatest triumph. Eg Seamus Heaney, Jack Charlton, Trapattoni, and so on. It's disgraceful really.

The guy hates to see anyone succeed and tries to drag them into the gutter where he is most comfortable.
    You have not got a clue. Your first paragraph is just total bo***x. I think Dunphy was way out of order the other night, but there are times when he does talk sense, and overall I like watching him, even if it is only for the entertainment factor...and I am affiliated to my local team, I do play football and I do watch LOI.

You're statement re Pirlo on Saturday night proves that you my frien are clueless about the game

As much as Dunphy has a right to say what he wants about the Irish performance and is paid to do so, Stephen Hunt has a right to comment on Dunphys performance - theres not too many that would disagree with him.

Fair play to Hunt for having his say.

Its reasonable to assume that the players hears about or reads reviews on their performances - Someone like Dunphy has an awful lot of power at his disposal with the comments that he makes. If those comments are detremental to a players confidence and in turn their performance in a green shirt, then it becomes a performance.

I dont think that Hunt would have had such a strong opinion on the subject if that wasnt the case.

Golden Rule of Criticism: First look at who is giving it. Then decide whether its worth taking or not.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    As much as Dunphy has a right to say what he wants about the Irish performance and is paid to do so, Stephen Hunt has a right to comment on Dunphys performance - theres not too many that would disagree with him.

Fair play to Hunt for having his say.

Its reasonable to assume that the players hears about or reads reviews on their performances - Someone like Dunphy has an awful lot of power at his disposal with the comments that he makes. If those comments are detremental to a players confidence and in turn their performance in a green shirt, then it becomes a performance.

I dont think that Hunt would have had such a strong opinion on the subject if that wasnt the case.

Golden Rule of Criticism: First look at who is giving it. Then decide whether its worth taking or not.
    So are you saying that it was worth taking as Dunphy has so much "power"?

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    You have not got a clue. Your first paragraph is just total bo***x. I think Dunphy was way out of order the other night, but there are times when he does talk sense, and overall I like watching him, even if it is only for the entertainment factor...and I am affiliated to my local team, I do play football and I do watch LOI.

You're statement re Pirlo on Saturday night proves that you my frien are clueless about the game
    Yeh, what team do you play with and what level?

Just give us the league and the division and that will tell us your ability.

Dunphy hasn't a clue.

How many times did you watch Saturday's game? If only once watch it again. Watch it with your own eyes and don't depend on Dunphy with his bitter twisted agenda to tell you how it was.

Watch the game man. Ireland dominated the first half.

Tell me the chances Italy had to score? If we are to believe Dunphy it could have been 4 or 5 nil to the Italians given their dominance.

The problem is a lot of people don't know how to analyse a game. But football people know how to analyse a game and they know a spoofer when they see one. And Dunphy is a spoofer par excellance.

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man (Dunphy) is king. Unfortunately his analysis is wide of the mark most of the time.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 13/10/2009 at 10:45 AM.

The Hunts do appear like hillbillies even though I admire their tenacity.

Surely something like “Anyone taking Eamonn seriously should be locked up, he’s RTE football punditry’s version of Ryanair’s O’Leary” and just laughed it off, would have been more reasonable?…making Dunphy look like the fool instead of vice versa.

ps. Emmet 7, to say “Ireland dominated the first half”…or any part of the game is way off the mark!
    Last edited by Scram; 13/10/2009 at 10:49 AM.

Dunphy hasn't a clue.

How many times did you watch Saturday's game? If only once watch it again. Watch it with your own eyes and don't depend on Dunphy with his bitter twisted agenda to tell you how it was.

Tell me the chances Italy had to score? If we are to believe Dunphy it could have been 4 or 5 nil to the Italians given their dominance.

Ok first of all, who the hell are you?
    And what kinda sanctamonious up your own hole bull**** comment is that!!!!
    What difference does it make what level of football Dan or any of us played....what the hell does that have to do with anyones ability to comment on a game of football?? By your reckoning do you have to be a gigolo to enjoy a good porno???
    Get off the soapbox ya clown!!!
    what level did you play at!!! the cheek of you!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    The Hunts do appear like hillbillies even though I admire their tenacity.

Surely something like “Anyone taking Eamonn seriously should be locked up, he’s RTE football punditry’s version of Ryanair’s O’Leary” and just laughed it off, would have been more reasonable?…making Dunphy look like the fool instead of vice versa.
    Absolutely correct but Hunt likes the limelight too.

Dunphy hasn't a clue.

The problem is a lot of people don't know how to analyse a game. But football people know how to analyse a game and they know a spoofer when they see one. And Dunphy is a spoofer par excellance.

In the land of the blind, the one eyed man (Dunphy) is king. Unfortunately his analysis is wide of the mark most of the time.
    Backtracking are we? now it depends on what level I've played to?

In addition, if you read my post you would see that I didn't agree with Dunphy's analysis of Saturday night.So either your eyesight needs fixing or you truly are a dope.

PS I'm sure I havn't played to your level on FIFA10

2,081 Posts

Dunphy hasn't a clue.
    I presume the 7 after the username is your age?

Dunphy played with Man Utd, pretty high level. I think he's full of sh!t but going by your logic it should give him a terrific insight.

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post

Dunphy played with Man Utd, pretty high level. I think he's full of sh!t but going by your logic it should give him a terrific insight.
    rofl... brilliant!!

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post

When did he play at Man Utd?

Dunphy signed as a schoolboy with Man Utd, as have thousands of other kids.

He didn't play one senior match with Man Utd, not one.

He was let go because Busby saw he was not up to it.

He plied his trade as a journey man pro in the old Division Two mainly, in and out of teams.

He never played a first division game. He never played in a world cup. He never played in a European club competition. He never played at the top level of club soccer or an international tournament.

I know that shouldn't disqualify anyone, but he's talking from a theoretical viewpoint when he talks about the top level. He thinks beating the Italians, Germans, etc is easy. He thinks we have world class players.

The guy is completely deluded.

He is a damn site more qualified than YOU to talk, going by your own reasoning....unless that is your name is Johnny Carey perhaps? Dennis Irwin maybe? Frank Stapleton possibly...??
    No?? Oh well then........shut up!!!

60 Posts
    At the end of the day RTE need to sell advertising spots, and the bigger the audience the more Advertising Agencies will want to book ads on, during, and after the game. This is why RTE love Dunphy. They don’t care if he talks crap, as long as he gets people to watch the show and after Hunt reacted, they will be tuning in in their droves to hear what Eamo will say about Hunts outburst.
    Always look on the bright side of life

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    I watched the RTE analysis on line on Sunday night after a bit of a sunday session with some of the Birmingham Irish lads that were over.
    Big Mick per chance?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,693 Posts
    I, for one, am glad Hunt made those remarks.

As I was trying to point out on an onther thread, there were elements of Saturday's performance that werre below par and deserved a degree of criticism, but Dunphy's reaction that it was "shameful" and that real football people in Ireland can only pre-date Jack Charlton were nothing but an insult to the players and the fans alike. No harm in getting insulted back.

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    He is a damn site more qualified than YOU to talk, going by your own reasoning....unless that is your name is Johnny Carey perhaps? Dennis Irwin maybe? Frank Stapleton possibly...??
    No?? Oh well then........shut up!!!
    He's more qualified than Souness, Lawrenson, or other European Cup winners?? Or better than Cascarino?

And please don't say Souness doesn't tell it as it is, or Brady or Lawrenson or Cascarino. Because we know they do.

Dunphy is his own best self publicist. Telling everyone repeatedly you are one of the world's best pundits doesn't make it so.

The other pundits have more confidence in themselves than to go around telling everyone how they are so much better than everyone else.

You don't see Alex Ferguson going around telling everyone how great he is and how every other manager is useless. Great men are usually modest men too.

By the way, I watch the Irish coverage because it's Irish and it's natural to see what Irish people think of an Irish match. Dunphy is someone that has to be put up with.
    Last edited by Emmet7; 13/10/2009 at 11:15 AM.

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast