Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: SARI Press Statement concerning Ndo Incident

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post

Every Rovers fan has condemned the youtube video. It was a small handful of knackers making a stupid and pathetic noise. I'm sure Rovers, their stewards and the Gardaí have all had words about trying to identify and reef out anyone caught doing anythign similar in the future.
    That's not really true though.

Read the thread (now locked) where the allegations first surfaced. There were Rovers fans denying it had happened, and pathetically trying to explain the sounds as short booing.

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=125246

First post where monkey noises were mentioned was post #77.
    Last edited by osarusan; 14/10/2009 at 10:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Is there any actual proof that this incident occured , ??
    Where have you been for the last two weeks? The evidence was on TV and is in the youtube clip mentioned in the link above.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Where have you been for the last two weeks? The evidence was on TV and is in the youtube clip mentioned in the link above.
    As I said where's the proof... i.e. some actual real evidence that would stand up...not some couple of seconds of a vague sound clip... as I said even SARI have refered to this as an alleged incident... I'm not saying it did or didn't happen as I simply don't know. I am however reminding people that unless it can be fully proven then it remains as only an alleged incident and thus no action should be considered against SRFC as that would fly in the face of natural justice.

I suspect SARI used the word "alleged" to just cover themselves legally.

The same way that news channels often talk about people who've done something wrong as "alleged" offenders - even if they've already been convicted by a court.

1,025 Posts
    Have you watched the clip on youtube?

Unless it has been doctored some way, it is pretty conclusive to me at least. And bear in mind that the alleged monkey noises wermentioned just after the game, and were based on watching the TG4 coverage, not youtube.

Pathetic.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    The difference between the two cases (McGuinness and the SDCC ground incidents) is the reaction of the clubs. bohs board (and manager) apoligised immediately about what happened and made clear the club view on racism. At no stage did Bohs try to brush it under the carpet and despite a severe ban for the player (5 games on top of the automatic 1 the club imposed) there was no appeal.
    Contrast this with the deafening silence from Tallaght after yet another rascist incident and tell me if you cannot see a difference.
    Individual posters are not expected to stamp out racism (although as fans we should stand up to it ) but clubs are.
    It's somewhat pointless and a little disingenuous to be comparing the two situations.

It was clear to Bohs that the McGuinness incident was noted by the referee and therefore almost certain to be included in his report. Many have reasonably questioned if Bohs subsequent reactions was more got to do with damage limitation than a genuine anti-racist stance. The paltry one match club suspension did little to dispel this notion.

You also seem to have forgotten Pat Fenlons "it's part and parcel of the game, what can you do about it?" comment.
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 15/10/2009 at 2:11 AM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    That's not really true though.

Read the thread (now locked) where the allegations first surfaced. There were Rovers fans denying it had happened, and pathetically trying to explain the sounds as short booing.

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=125246

First post where monkey noises were mentioned was post #77.
    If you read my posts earlier in the thread you'd see my opinion on this. As I said, I was in the stand that night. I heard nothing, and I mean that genuinely and seriously. I'm not just saying that in the same way some will say a controversial goal was clearly onside. Hand on my heart, I heard no sort of racist abuse that night, if you believe me or not that's up to you, but there's an awful lot of Rovers fans, the vast majority, saying the same thing.
    Even going by the youtube clip you're still talking about a couple of seconds at a particular point at the game. There was no widespread or sustained racist abuse that night, it's ridiculous to claim otherwise.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    It's somewhat pointless and a little disingenuous to be comparing the two situations.

It was clear to Bohs that the McGuinness incident was noted by the referee and therefore almost certain to be included in his report. Many have reasonable questioned if Bohs subsequent reactions was more got to do with damage limitation than a genuine anti-racist stance. The paltry one match club suspension did little to dispel this notion.

You also seem to have forgotten Pat Fenlons "it's part and parcel of the game, what can you do about it?" comment.
    so then Bohs are "damned if they do and damned if they dont" in relation to the McGuinness incident. Thats basically what youre saying, right? Any chance you could take something as having been done simply in good faith? Of course not, it was big bad Bohs and their always evil and sinister ulterior motives... i really despair about some peoples vendettas on this messageboard, i really do.

by the way any opinion on the Rovers boards complete lack of comment on their issue? Or would you rather be another poster who attempts to ignore the issue at hand and drag this off topic just to get a dig in at Bohemians?
    Last edited by SkStu; 15/10/2009 at 2:17 AM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    retract retract retract!
    We must see your evidence for these unsubstantiated allegations!
    Infraction infraction infraction!:d
    we have ways of making you talk!
    another excellent insight from the poster who calls himself Dong. Using a Rovers fans first ever post based on hearsay to fulfil his own spiteful agenda.

Any chance you could answer the questions i asked you in this and another thread regarding the racist element of the Rovers fanbase? Or is it just Bohs you want to have a dig at?

Again, just another example of a Pathetic contribution to a thread in this forum.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Hit him!

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Hit him!
    wouldnt i get an infraction though? Otherwise i would, you know...

89 Posts
    by the way any opinion on the Rovers boards complete lack of comment on their issue? Or would you rather be another poster who attempts to ignore the issue at hand and drag this off topic just to get a dig in at Bohemians?
    Yet again, see me posts from earlier in the thread.
    If this was a sizeable or noticeable number of Shamrock Rovers fans then I'm sure it would have drawn a response. Instead the FAI, UEFA, SARI, referee's report, FAI match officials, live commentators and the print media and TV media seem to have not made a big deal over what clearly appears to be a handful of scumbags. That differs with the holier than thou opinion of Bohs fans, Sligo fans and Sheridan. Go figure. And before you suggest otherwise, no, that's not me condoning anything.

Like any organisation, Rovers board are not going to be made explain themselves for a few knackers who show up at a game. Instead they're probably more concerned with doing something about it practically, ensuring these people are not allowed back in had they been identified, or working with Gardaí and matchday staff to try and identify the source of any such problems in the future and have the knackers reefed out and given a life ban.

Sadly there was no-one identified by police or stewards who made any such noise, there was no TV footage despite the numerous cameras at the ground as to who was responsible. As such it's not like Rovers board, nor the FAI, nor Monday Night Soccer (for whatever bizarre reason some fans think they're involved - oh wait, it's simply because some people don't like Rovers) can be expected to do too much here. If there was an employee of Rovers who was not punished it would be different. If there was an identifiable supporter(s) of Rovers it would be different. If it was a sizeable or noticeable number of supporters it would be different. If it was anything more than a few knackers it would be different. instead lets get on with football, and let Rovers get on with sorting out a handful of scumbags, which if any LoI fan was being honest, are (and have been) sadly quite likely to surface at any club in a bumper crowd situation.

Now please do tell me what's outragous with the above and how that's an anti-Bohs, pro-MNS, pro-FAI conspiracy?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Yet again, see me posts from earlier in the thread.
    If this was a sizeable or noticeable number of Shamrock Rovers fans then I'm sure it would have drawn a response. Instead the FAI, UEFA, SARI, referee's, FAI match officials, live commentators and the print media and TV media seem to have not made a big deal over what clearly appears to be a handful of scumbags.

Like any organisation, Rovers board are not going to be made explain themselves for a few knackers who show up at a game. Instead they're probably more concerned with doing something about it practically, ensuring these people are not allowed back in had they been identified, or working with Gardaí and matchday staff to try and identify the source of any such problems in the future and have the knackers reefed out and given a life ban.

Sadly there was no-one identified by police or stewards who made any such noise, there was no TV footage despite the numerous cameras at the ground as to who was responsible. As such it's not like Rovers board, nor the FAI, nor Monday Night Soccer (for whatever bizarre reason some fans think they're involved - oh wait, it's simply because some people don't like Rovers) can be expected to do too much here. If there was an employee of Rovers who was not punished it would be different. If there was an identifiable supporter(s) of Rovers it would be different. If it was a sizeable or noticeable number of supporters it would be different. If it was anything more than a few knackers it would be different. instead lets get on with football, and let Rovers get on with sorting out a handful of scumbags, which if any LoI fan was being honest, are (and have been) sadly quite likely to surface at any club in a bumper crowd situation.

Now please do tell me what's outragous with the above and how that's an anti-Bohs, pro-MNS, pro-FAI conspiracy?
    i quoted Ezeikial.

For the record, I have no problems with most of your posts on this matter since the SARI statement. That said, a statement from the club condemning the actions of the few would go some way to appeasing this issue in my opinion. Same for the FAI. The silence from both parties is nothing short of disgraceful considering the irrefutible evidence at hand.
    Last edited by SkStu; 15/10/2009 at 2:43 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    another excellent insight from the poster who calls himself Dong. Using a Rovers fans first ever post based on hearsay to fulfil his own spiteful agenda.

Any chance you could answer the questions i asked you in this and another thread regarding the racist element of the Rovers fanbase? Or is it just Bohs you want to have a dig at?

Again, just another example of a Pathetic contribution to a thread in this forum.
    Settle!
    That last post was just a bit of craic. What were those questions again?

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i quoted Ezeikial.

For the record, I have no problems with most of your posts on this matter since the SARI statement. That said, a statement from the club condemning the actions of the few would go some way to appeasing this issue in my opinion. Same for the FAI. The silence from both parties is nothing short of disgraceful considering the evidence at hand.
    Fair enough and sorry I am talking for Ezekial in that case, but you can't relly expect every Rovers fan (if he is a rovers fan) to come on and say the same thing about the boards 'lack or response', it's simply not surprising.

When Michael O'Neill goose-steps up to accept the league title we might all start demanding a response from the Rovers board, otherwise its as silly as demanding a response from Bohs board for two arrests made before a game against Rovers for violent conduct, or Derry's board explaining attacks on visiting supporter buses.
    All are stupid, annoying things that shouldn't be present at any LoI game, none of them greatly affect or are noticeable by the vast majority of fans in attendance, and all should be dealt internally by clubs working with police to try and sort out better match day arrangements. None are 100% preventable, all will be ridiculed by opposition fans, but demanding public responses or points deductions for the actions of a tiny, unidentifiable minority is crazy and very obviously an attempt at point-scoring by interested parties. Simple as.

2,771 Posts
    he's a dundalk fan by the way and hes talking about the Bohs motivation behind how we handled McGuinness. I took exception to what he posted but its a different argument and i dont know why you responded to my post which was a response to his...

Im not asking for point deductions and am not really interested in any point scoring (except for Bohs on the league table obviously). I think when such actions, be they a tiny amount of fans or not, are so clearly audible on TV and clearly racist in nature (not Rovers fans chanting "boo, boo" as was suggested earlier in the debate) then they deserve comment from Rovers and (at the very least!) a warning from the FAI.

Otherwise, by ignoring it, its just saying that racist abuse is okay and thats what really gets me.

Obviously these guys are morons so whats to say it wont happen again the next time, with more of their moronic friends joining in because they got away with it the last time. It genuinely ****es me off and i would be demanding the same if it was any other team, including Bohemians.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Settle!
    That last post was just a bit of craic. What were those questions again?
    fair enough. My fuse is getting shorter by the day...

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leejo View Post
    Pathetic.
    Not pathetic but simply the reality until proven otherwise...or does the norm of innocent until proven guilty not apply to SRFC ?

185 Posts
    Every time I go against my better judgement and read this laughable thread, I get a mental image of Joey Ndo in a sari.

$hit, am i a racist?
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast