Thread: Lodging a large sum

137 Posts

Lodging a large sum

Is there any limit to lodging a large sum of money to a normal current account. Just in terms of it looking like a suspicious transaction and raising any red flags.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

510 Posts
    The banks used to have to report anything over €10k, but I'd say it's been lowered by now.

1,529 Posts
    Also, don't lodge all of it in Northern bank notes. Try to mix it up a little.

haha!!! reminds me of a time a mates father who sells machinery and hte like, a fella came down that week for a cash purchase, full with northern notes. HE refused, politely.

ATFC its 3k over here in AIB according to someone who works there.

Id say that might mean 5k at home, but thats only a guess. Probably a stupid one at that. Why are you concerned about it raising flags though, seriouslly Unless you do have something to hide"!

137 Posts
    I just want to know before I go in is it going to create some hassle. All perfectly legal, I swear!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

510 Posts
    I don't think they'll keep you there, afaik it's all automated, reports generated at day end. They might ask you for ID though.

I did a course on it before at MBNA, and it was an automated system that would get flagged to whoever logdged it their manager or supervisor. And then they would have to follow up. But even if it does flag its not going to cause much of a problem.

65 Posts
    Give it to me. I'll keep it safe for you!
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

137 Posts
    Grand so, thanks lads.

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Is there any limit to lodging a large sum of money to a normal current account. Just in terms of it looking like a suspicious transaction and raising any red flags.
    Dear atfconline,

I am a Nigerian businessman looking to reclaim $65m dollars from the Zambian royal family...

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Magicme wants to know if you're single?
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    haha!!! reminds me of a time a mates father who sells machinery and hte like, a fella came down that week for a cash purchase, full with northern notes. HE refused, politely.
    God rest my poor wee granny but a few months after the Northern Bank robbery, she got to visit my parents new house. She was really impressed with it and on the way home to Enniskillen she was very very quite. My aunt asked her what was up and she asked "Do you think Brendan had anything to do with that robbery".

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    Magicme wants to know if you're single?

Don't ask anyone involved with Ramblers to do it............it will dissappear!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

111 Posts
    The money was just resting in the account...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

137 Posts
    It was grand in the end. She just said she had to ask me where it came from, told her, and it was fine.

1,083 Posts
    That's what THEY want you to think, "It's all grand". NSA, CIA, Department Of Homeland Security, Garda Maguire etc.. have been monitoring you ever since.

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    That's what THEY want you to think, "It's all grand". NSA, CIA, Department Of Homeland Security, Garda Maguire etc.. have been monitoring you ever since.
    As well as assorted thugs and crimin- oh, wait a minute...