Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: The Title Decider Friday Oct 2nd

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Soprano View Post
    what do other people on here think ? Do Bohs have a significantly bigger support than St Pats or Shelbourne ? I'm not 100% sure myself
    Up until Rovers' move to Tallaght, the four teams' support was roughly similar . Shels got less of a boost from their success than Bohs or Pats did but their core support wasn't much lower.

Quote Originally Posted by theneutral View Post
    The minority cannot be allowed to give there clubs and also supporters the league as a whole any more bad press, all this lark just smacks of cynical Bohs fans trying to make more of an issue out of things because its Rovers!
    TN, you're suitably outraged about Bohs sectarian chanting but oddly relaxed about the racism clearly on display at Tallaght. Perhaps you're trying to have your cake and eat it. You've given us your (perfectly justified) take on the sectarian abuse; now, are you willing to condemn the racism, for which there is incontrovertible evidence, and in which more Shamrock fans participated, or is that just a PR issue?

BP is right to wonder how you got your ticket, btw. Wonder if you'll be paying in on Friday...

38 Posts
    I think it's very questionable whether any other Dublin club's support would have held up the way Shels' has after three years in the First Division. Their core support might not be the biggest, but it's probably the most loyal. Bohs would be down to less than 500 by now, IMO.

Mypost: Yeah, if people are turned off LoI because of racist neanderthals amongst the Shamrock Rovers support, it'll be my fault. Obviously.

I see the "top boys", as I believe they're known, at Shams are trying to bury and obfuscate this story. Some are even suggesting that A: No monkey chants are audible or B: The fans are chanting "cheat!". This is important, because it reveals how detached from reality and knee-deep in denial these people are.

If they can be that wrong about something that obvious, think about what implications that has for the rest of the PR BS they come out with on a regular basis and is taken as gospel by most LoI fans. Let's not sleepwalk into a situation where people like this are running Irish football with impunity.

Ultimately, there are no bad hooligans and good hooligans; there are no lads who just like the clothes and the lifestyle and aren't fascist scum.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post

Ultimately, there are no bad hooligans and good hooligans; there are no lads who just like the clothes and the lifestyle and aren't fascist scum.
    Not sure what this means. Is this your parody of SRFC PR is this an opinion you hold and if so explain?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

38 Posts
    It means what it says. There's an element within the SRFC support that dig the hoolie clobber, celebrate hoolie culture and have links with other hooligan elements in the UK, yet insist they're not hooligans. It's no surprise to see an incident like this arise which shows their true colours.

(They exist at Bohs too, of course.)
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Haha thanks Dalymount, ill be sure to consider it, from what i hear there would be plenty of room in the home stand to find space to sit away from such idiots.!

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    dig the hoolie clobber
    Wearing certain clothes lables doesn't make you a hoolie. Fighting makes you a hoolie.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Good to see Sheridan's doing his bit to harm the league's image and keep crowds at Home Farm levels..
    are you for real? I think the Shamrock Rovers fans who were chanting monkey noises are the ones doing that.

Fair play to the one Rovers fan who commented saying it wasnt acceptable.

By the way, any reference to "orange b@stards" is completely unacceptable be it from a few idiots at a player or by a whole set of fans in a song.

The double standards and heads in the sand stuff here is disgraceful. The threats to shut the thread down are particularly petty from one moderator.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,771 Posts
    The missus will accompany me to Croker on saturday though, so not too deterred by the actions of the mindless few
    can you ask your "missus" would she prefer to hear monkey noises and sectarian abuse on one side or just the sectarian abuse on the other next time "TheNeutral" wants to bring her to a game?

Gotta love the family atmosphere promised by Rovers... family of neanderthals maybe.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Gotta love the family atmosphere promised by Rovers... family of neanderthals maybe.
    Poor Neanderthals. They have an awful bad rep.

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Yes.
    Shels have a pitifull support and always have done.
    Your average attendance from 2006 when you were in the first division = 1,089.

Ours = This year: 920. 2008: 986. 2007: 888.

If you didn't get out of the graveyard at the first attempt you wouldn't be getting bigger crowds than ourselves!
    Who Cares?!

445 Posts
    Yes.
    Shels have a pitifull support and always have done. Their success with nutsy in the 90's brought in average enough crowds but before & since, no one.

Pats are a leinster league team in everything but name.

Rovers & Bohs are the 2 biggest team in Dublin, before that it was Rovers & Drums.
    We have had a higher average attendance than yous for the last 10 years bar this season, but yeah Leinster senior league team

You folks up in Tallaght have very short/selective memories
    Here on a technicality.

To answer a question above, im sure my wife would have been appaled at the monkey noises had she heard them, but probably not as much as hearing people abuse her own (protestants, northern irish nationals), obviously she would take it more to heart hearing the sectarian ****e than the racism, i can confirm she is caucasian!

Obviously racism in any form is not acceptable wherever you may be, only point i was trying to make is that there were probably as many people making said racist noises as there were the small minority of chav around me spouting there secterian bile!
    Can only have been a max of 10 or twelve offenders on both sides, who were BOTH in the wrong! Obviously with the camera being on that side of the ground it picked up the ROvers yobs racist taunts, if it had been on the other side it would have been the Bohs fans answering up for the action of there scummers!
    Both Rovers and Bohs fans in my eyes are guilty of identical offences (secterianism is as bad as racism in my eyes) in equal measures, small as they may be! Only difference being Roves fans are heard on camera and the Bohs fans havent been, hence my call for some to drop this holier than thou attitude and acknowledge that it is unfair to tar everybody with the same brush as a result of the few idiots both clubs evidently have attending there games. I'll stop shy of calling them supporters as they are not worthy of being classed as such.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Poor Neanderthals. They have an awful bad rep.
    getting compared to Rovers fans is a new low, even for them....
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

T Obviously with the camera being on that side of the ground it picked up the ROvers yobs racist taunts, if it had been on the other side it would have been the Bohs fans answering up for the action of there scummers!
    It sounds like more than 10-12 with the Monkey chants. (PS. There were microphones on both sides of the ground. Its not the actual camera that picks up the sound!)

399 Posts
    Shels have a pitifull support and always have done. Their success with nutsy in the 90's brought in average enough crowds but before & since, no one.
    A mate at work was at the Shels v UCD game on fri, almost 1,500 there with quite a small UCD support. After what happended them over last few yrs this is a more than a decent crowd, and building up nicely too for the season.

I say fair play to them, they`d be a great addition to next years PD.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    A mate at work was at the Shels v UCD game on fri, almost 1,500 there with quite a small UCD support. After what happended them over last few yrs this is a more than a decent crowd, and building up nicely too for the season.

I say fair play to them, they`d be a great addition to next years PD.
    Yeah will be good to have them back if they get promoted. Always liked heading down to Tolka for a Bohs vs Shels match. Talking about Tolka, will Shels be still playing there next season?

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

I say fair play to them, they`d be a great addition to next years PD
    That's really nice of you.
    Our recent move from Belfield Park was a wrench but we're looking at a Sky Blue horizon at the moment.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

3,489 Posts
    I assume he was talking about Shels.

There were 40-50 of us in Tolka, FWIW.

38 Posts
    Latest despatches from Shams' War on Reality: The lino was not struck by the bottle. He was faking it and holding up the game to spite them.

That's Planet Rovers, people. Question and query everything they come out with.

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast