Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: The Title Decider Friday Oct 2nd

EnglishSource
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Didn't Mannus get the same from his own fans in his first game?
    A scurrilous lie.

Some thicks booed as he'd replaced crowd favourite Barry Murphy, it had absolutely nothing to do with sectarianism, it wasn't even necessarily Mannus being booed but more O'Neill's decision, as the boos occured when the team sheet was read out. If it had been the former pope replacing Barry Murphy he still would have been booed.

I agree wholeheartedly with BohsPartisan. The individuals involved need to be found and banned. It's beneath league of ireland fans to try and score points on an issue this serious.

The individual who sat down and watched and re-watched the tape of the game so that they could find the comments and publicise it on youtube is nearly as bad as the scum who made those comments. Highlighting racism so it can be eradicated is a worthy act. Highlighting it so that you can score cheap points against another football club on football forum, raises questions as to whether it's racism that the individual despises or the other football club.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    This is classic diversion tactics. I agree 100% with placid casual who as far as I know is a Rovers fan. There is no place for racism at games from the crowd or on the pitch. J McGuinness was punished justifiably for what he did and Rovers need to sort out anyone involved in racist chanting. Its happened a few times now and somebody must know who's doing it. This is not a Bohs V Rovers thing. Its an anti-racist thing and I'm sure most rovers fans would feel the same way. Speak out and stop it.
    Hi lads, long time reader, havent contributed on here in a long while.

I was at the game with my wife on friday night, first game in over 15 years. Got tickets for the bohs section from a lad in work here.
    WHen i was reading about the allegations of racism i thought to my self taht must be wrong, it was more sectarian than racist (as obviously i hadnt heard anything by way of monkey noises in the ground on friday).

The Bohs fans on here with a hollier than thou attitude need to take a long hard look at there own fans before kicking up for action against another club.
    Some of the bile i heard coming from "some" of the Bohs fans the other night was discusting, my wife being a belfast native, and "proddie" for her troubles had her night ruined by a minority of infantile biggots. She was quiet as a mouse for the whole game and it was a horrible feeling watching that as she usually gets right into her sports when she's watching it.
    The night was ruined for her, and for me also as a result. WOuld be interested to know what any Bohs fans would like to say for themselves (ones at the game preferably), its been a while since iv been to a game with herself and i can tell you it will be a long while before she goes again if ever, thanks to these scumbags!

I might even suggest that had the camera been on the opposite side of the ground on Friday night it would be the Bohs fans who would be on the back foot having to explain and defend themselves?

Didnt UEFA take action against Rangers over sectarian chanting at there games recently? Could be wrong!

Excellent facilities, poor game even worse feeling leaving the ground (early). Night ruined!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    There were 6,000 people there last Friday. 1 threw a bottle, about 5 lit flares, a number of people celebrated our winner on the sideline. They didn't get onto the pitch. Lets put things into perspective.
    And how many made monkey noises?
    Sorry, but I for one, dont think that type of behavour is positive promotion for the league to potential customers. Its not just about Shamrock Rovers and their stadium. There's plenty of room for a few new customers in all other clubs in the league. If Shamrock Rovers supporters want to behave like that then thats their choice and their club's business. However it starts to p*** me off when they carry on like that on national TV and the non converted are asking me in the job on Monday if racism and missile throwing is a big problem at the games I go to around the country each week.

It was my first time at the Tallaght stadium and I was impressed with it. Match was quite poor (both teams didn't want to win it seems), but atmosphere was okay.

I've put an article about the match on my site. Sadly, it's in Dutch but if you're scrolling down you can see some pics: http://www.doingthe116.com/shamrockrovers.htm

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joris View Post
    It was my first time at the Tallaght stadium and I was impressed with it. Match was quite poor (both teams didn't want to win it seems), but atmosphere was okay.

I've put an article about the match on my site. Sadly, it's in Dutch but if you're scrolling down you can see some pics: http://www.doingthe116.com/shamrockrovers.htm
    If you don't mind here's a translation thanks to Google:

Just over three years ago, I saw the game Bohemians v Derry City in the beautiful Mount Daly Park, the most beautiful stadium in Dublin. It was a fun game with a surprisingly good atmosphere. Because I recent years primarily focused on England and Scotland, I am sorry to not return to Ireland. But it started to itch again this year and the Irish classic - Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians - the program was already decided in May to go to Ireland again. Shamrock Rovers, the club with the largest following and that while 20 years had no home stadium, against reigning champions Bohemians. Despite the Tallaght Stadium is not really a good ground, this was surely a poster to make your mouth water. There are indeed with St Patrick's Athletic and Shelbourne have two big clubs in Dublin, but in terms of following and history, these terms really in the shadow of The Big Two. This season is also the first season in years that these two clubs fight for the title. Shamrock has lived for years in purgatory and back again this season.

I'm not really a favorite club in Ireland, because there are several clubs that I like. Shamrock Rovers is one of them. They have not only the best name and that of course they have great shirt. It is certainly my favorite club in Dublin. The Rovers were founded in 1901 in the south of the city and the most successful club in Ireland. Both the 15 national titles and 24 FAI Cups are an Irish record. In recent years there is a thick layer of dust on the trophy cabinet come. Since 1987 (when the Rovers had to leave their stadium Glenmalure Park) has only won one league title (in 1994) and no cup. There was even the threat of relegation and bankruptcy. The tide appears to be reversed, because on March 13, 2009 Shamrock played her first match in the Tallaght Stadium. In the competition, so good and the club struggles to shoot the league title. It would be nice if she won this year.

Opponent Bohemians (official Bohemian FC) is a bit older and was founded in 1890. The Bohs come from the north of Dublin. They have been playing since 1901 in their ancient, but very beautiful Mount Daly Park. The club can also boast the fact that they are the only Irish club are always at the highest level has come since the creation of the Irish League in 1921. In terms of prices but can not compensate for the Rovers, with 10 titles and 7 FAI Cups. The prices are however more recent times, because the Bohs are the champions and the club rained off in the final of the CL almost from Red Bull Salzburg (up to 3 minutes before time was the Irish who went through). The FAI Cup was won last year and it was the third double ever achieved. Bohemians last week won the League Cup. Remains the most embarrassing defeat ever suffered precisely against Rovers. In 1955 it was up 7-0. This year there were not many goals in the matches. Bohemians won the first encounter 2-0 at home, after which Rovers won 2-1 at home. The third confrontation - on Mount Daly Park - ended in 0-0. Lets hope that today it was not.

The new stadium is Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght, a suburb of Dublin. To get there we had a futuristic, silver tram steps that brought us go there. How fast the vehicle looked like, overall pace was not there. It was therefore up to 40 minutes before we arrived in Tallaght. There was however the heaven. We got out in one giant Starbucks, overlooking the stadium. Kekke drinking coffee with flavors and look lampposts. Better life will not be soon. Meanwhile we started with green and white hoops to run the stadium. Bohemians fans we could not. In that regard this game was an exception, as can normal fans in Ireland without any problem to mingle.

Just in time we left the stadium, because we had almost become one with the VVD seats in Starbucks. The Tallaght Stadium still looked rather nice from the outside. There was a lot of wood used and through the use of arches at entrances they have done their best to make something of the stadium. It looked pretty professional. What was not so professional, the ticket office. There was a man outside with a stack of envelopes and a piece of paper the names of the people who came to collect tickets. Something kneuterigs. I immediately called my name and the envelope was found. One "of the name remain something strange in the British Isles.

I thought that joining the club which had mistaken the rush. For the first time it was sold out during a regular league game. There were already many people to turn stiles, including some chavs in their green and white painted bare bark. At last the gates were thrown, but there was another problem. Because we had a female steward who may not frisk men (to the dismay of SJ). Just was looking sheepish, but then if we're all inside without monitored. Later that evening showed that there is plenty of fireworks were smuggled. It seems best therefore to abolish the whole body search, because if you just want to get succeed in that anyway.

If nostalgist Tallaght Stadium is not really my favorite in Dublin. Yet it is a special stadium. The colored chairs, the tierlantijntjes and the views make it still be nice to go to Shamrock Rovers. Especially since it was sold out stiff, it was not a bad way to do this stadium again. The paper said that since the first LOI wedstrijdwas Cork City v Derry City (in 2005) was sold out. So nice to be there with. In this respect, we have a couple glory hunters. It also looked long that it did not succeed, because there were significant restrictions on the ticket. Fortunately, the woman at the ticket office so nice for us to make two separate them. We had in the Derby Louth (Dundalk v Drogheda) and the topper in the first division (Shelbourne v UCD) two nice alternative, but Dublin derby was surely the nose of the salmon in Ireland.

For Super John had been entirely successful day when he saw that the catering was in the hands of Papa John's, a pizzeria. He wanted nothing negative about that pizza's hearing while they are not really looked special. According SJ they were the best he had ever seen. In terms of catering to the Shamrock had them out for each other anyway, because in another gallery, they had a barbecue stand. Unfortunately we could not, because you could not stand from one to the other come. Probably because otherwise the fixed points of both clubs would hit each other in the brain.

Because freedom was sitting strategically at the exit we went down. So you're not very tight. Alas, a few hobby costing children who sit beside us the whole game and went down. In the beginning it was not really clear what they were doing, but at some point it occurred to me that they spent little time with them had cups of coffee. They then drank. Seemed really good to me, but these kids were like a bunch of addicts. Unfortunately they were not sick, because that continuous pacing was very annoying. My attempt to make one unfortunately failed to tackle, so we had ninety minutes to load.

A demagogue whipping the public and when the players came onto the field was a whole tifo action to put rope. Three males waving huge flags, a curtain went up (not visible to us, because we were in the same gallery) and Bengal lights were lit. It was not the usual red color, but a green glow. Logical, because rivals Bohemians is red and black if you go Sham course not the color of the rival promotion. Bohemians of the fans were okay was examined by the fact that they had no fireworks. Instead they sang loudly, which is actually even better.

The atmosphere was good during the race anyway. The songs revealed that they both felt they were the club of Dublin. On the field there was nothing, for it was truly a tragedy. Up until the eightieth minute was worse than the average game in the Fourth Class D. Then the loose. Padraig Amond was brought in and quickly made the 1-0. Enough reason for a pitch invasion. Following the emotions just seemed to calm Bohemians got a penalty. The Shams were mad and threw a Coke bottle at the linesman. It can never prove, but by all the commotion penalty taker Jason Byrne seemed somewhat confused. Otherwise it can not declare that he is 12 meter penalty goal on the stadium scum. It reminded me of the Tribe of knock during Euro 2000.

Then again, there was celebration for Rovers, but it was enormously exciting until the last minute. Finally became clear why Bohemians was placed before this game, because it managed to suddenly have opportunities to enforce. It was not enough to tie and Shamrock Rovers took not only points but also the leader. Six games to go and it would just be that the Hoops the title again after fifteen years to address. I gun it some. Not only by the beautiful name and shirts, but also to reward the effort made. Should it come out next year then I would go visit Bohemians v Shamrock Rovers.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Part 2

The report
    The stadium

Beautiful is not really the Tallaght Stadium. The colored chairs give the stands a little restless. Too bad they do not just all green and white, just like in the middle. If a gallery where the seats the word "Shamrock" forms. The stands themselves are fairly standard, although distinction between the West Stand (with a boogjesdak) and the East Stand (with a roof right). Great care was taken to the outside of the stadium by many wood. You feel in a holiday walking around. Also the design of the gates is care. It is certainly not a standard LEGO stadium-like state in Colchester and Shrewsbury.

The atmosphere

Both the Bohs and Shams had a lot against each other fanatical supporters who opzongen. We were just not a good place, because we were far off and the Bohemians supporters of the fanatic Rovers we could not quite hear. Only when I just went back there and **** flowed much noise I heard came from there. Anyway, there were at the start of South American scenes, after the hard core of the Shams Green Bengal fire had been lit. This is my second race in Ireland and I notice that she was still a more "European" game experience instead have an "English". Fortunately this time it was missing an idiot with a drum.

The contest

This topper was not easy until the 80th minute. Both clubs would not lose and played a 6-3-1 system. The midfielders did not count having to do anyway, because the ball was continuously forward gehoofd. Fortunately Shamrock scored yet, so there were a great last ten minutes. First there was the goal, then a small pitch invasion, after which the guests were to attack. Bohemians missed a penalty, the linesman was hit by a bottle and there was a player of the Shams red print. If the entire game as if had been the last ten minutes we had the evening of our life. It was a moderate race. Our original choice Drogheda United v Dundalk ended in 2-2. Maybe we should switch, but now we have seen the highlight of this season.

Area

Tallaght is an area with many new homes. The stadium is not in an old working class area, but I give the environment a high figure. Besides the stadium is a Tesco, are again close to a Starbucks and the tram stop is nearby. For the rest there are especially many new apartments. From our stand (East Stand) you looked beautiful in Wicklow Mountains. Is the race nothing, then you is still entertainment.

Overall

I previously had very high expectations. My first encounter with Ireland was positive like, so I had expectations that it would be a very good game. This was not, but the rest was like being in Ireland again Vincken. It was very good to see Shamrock Rovers stadium around the ground and pounded I think that it will put a mortgage on many titles in the future. How beautiful the other stadiums in Dublin too, with a stadium as the Tallaght Stadium get you the money.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Super article and super photos. Can you come over and report on a game every week?
    Together with all our hearts.

Dutch actually translates pretty well through Google. Nice report, Joris.

Quote Originally Posted by theneutral View Post
    Some of the bile i heard coming from "some" of the Bohs fans the other night was discusting, my wife being a belfast native, and "proddie" for her troubles had her night ruined by a minority of infantile biggots. She was quiet as a mouse for the whole game and it was a horrible feeling watching that as she usually gets right into her sports when she's watching it.
    Absolutely agree. I was there, and I was disgusted too, as would the founders of Bohemian FC, who included both Roman Catholic and Protestant. Sectarian chanting has been a bigger problem in Irish football than racism, and its relevance is going to increase with any move to play on an all-island basis*.

But... regardless of the clubs involved and this stupid ding-dong between Shamrock and Bohs, none of that excuses the disgraceful chants aimed at Joseph Ndo.

(*BTW, fair play to the Coleraine support last night: more fans than some Dub clubs away in Dalymount and better singing, with a good rendition of Molly Malone ).
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 07/10/2009 at 1:38 PM.

That translation is very funny. Google translates 'Jaap Stam' in 'Tribe of knock' :-p

And Google thinks Bohs ground is called Mount Daly Park.

I really enjoyed it in Ireland and hope to come over in the summer for a week. Hopefully not all the games are on a friday, like this time, so I can see more matches.

3,489 Posts
    You missed out by not going to the Shels-UCD game, by the way. Another 2-2 draw; superb game!

(Though as a small-time groundhopper myself, I can easily understand why you chose Rovers v Bohs)

You missed out by not going to the Shels-UCD game, by the way. Another 2-2 draw; superb game!

(Though as a small-time groundhopper myself, I can easily understand why you chose Rovers v Bohs)
    Shelbourne v UCD was our original choice on friday (shame it wasn't at Belfied, because that's the only Dublin ground I've never been to now I've visit the Tallaght stadium), because Shamrock v Bohs was on saturday. Sadly, the FAI decided to switch the game to friday. Don't understand that, because it was better to have the live game on saturdaynight I guess. Now we went to Belfast on a saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Absolutely agree. I was there, and I was disgusted too, as would the founders of Bohemian FC, who included both Roman Catholic and Protestant. Sectarian chanting has been a bigger problem in Irish football than racism, and its relevance is going to increase with any move to play on an all-island basis*.

*But... regardless of the clubs involved and this stupid ding-dong between Shamrock and Bohs, none of that excuses the disgraceful chants aimed at Joseph Ndo.

(BTW, fair play to the Coleraine support last night: more fans than some Dub clubs away in Dalymount and better singing, with a good rendition of Molly Malone ).
    Their is no way theneutral is a Bohs fan, his post screams rovers fan, his "wife" (yeah right) had no problem with 1000 or so fans singing sectarian songs on the far side but she had when she heard a few people shouting insults

89 Posts
    Quadruple,

The jist of his post that people need to get their own house in order before slagging other clubs is bang on.

There is massive thread running on the Derry msg board about similiar situation at Windsor for us. Personally I left the "But he started it" mentality behind me when I was about 8.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Good article and interesting to read a foreigner's views, thanks for posting

Can I make two comments ?

Firstly you use the word Eire on your site - you shouldn't really use this word. You will never see the word Eire on TV or in newspapers in the UK and it annoys Irish people. You should use Republic of Ireland or just Ireland.

Secondly the comment about Rovers and Bohs being the big two in Dublin in terms of fans and the others being their shadow. that is an interesting point

what do other people on here think ? Do Bohs have a significantly bigger support than St Pats or Shelbourne ? I'm not 100% sure myself

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Soprano View Post
    what do other people on here think ? Do Bohs have a significantly bigger support than St Pats or Shelbourne ? I'm not 100% sure myself
    Yes.
    Shels have a pitifull support and always have done. Their success with nutsy in the 90's brought in average enough crowds but before & since, no one.

Pats are a leinster league team in everything but name.

Rovers & Bohs are the 2 biggest team in Dublin, before that it was Rovers & Drums.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

230 Posts
    [QUOTE=placid casual;1245505]Yes..

Pats are a leinster league team in everything but name.

QUOTE]

I don`t agree, they have a proud tradition, a loyal core of fans that don`t cause trouble, never been relegated and.......can possibly deprive you of a league title on the last day of the season

230 Posts
    Hi lads, long time reader, havent contributed on here in a long while.

I was at the game with my wife on friday night, first game in over 15 years. Got tickets for the bohs section from a lad in work here.
    WHen i was reading about the allegations of racism i thought to my self taht must be wrong, it was more sectarian than racist (as obviously i hadnt heard anything by way of monkey noises in the ground on friday).

The Bohs fans on here with a hollier than thou attitude need to take a long hard look at there own fans before kicking up for action against another club.
    The night was ruined for her, and for me also as a result. WOuld be interested to know what any Bohs fans would like to say for themselves (ones at the game preferably), its been a while since iv been to a game with herself and i can tell you it will be a long while before she goes again if ever, thanks to these scumbags!

I might even suggest that had the camera been on the opposite side of the ground on Friday night it would be the Bohs fans who would be on the back foot having to explain and defend themselves?

Didnt UEFA take action against Rangers over sectarian chanting at there games recently? Could be wrong!

Excellent facilities, poor game even worse feeling leaving the ground (early). Night ruined!
    So you got a pair of golden tickets for the Bohs end despite a run of 15 years not attending a game! Top man is your mate!
    Yep I heard a few Orange bstard comments by half a dozen gob****es alright when the Rovers keeper came over to the near sideline.Unacceptable? Yes., I also heard a few thousand Hoops singing Orange bstards on the run or something toward the Bohs fans because of our real or imagined historical links with the Reformed religions, .40,000 were at it a few years ago in Lansdowne when a former Rangers player got the same treatment (Lowencrantz?) Unacceptable then? No, it was a great laugh apparently .

Other than that it was the usual venom which hasn`t changed since you were going to matches 15 years ago. You could of course have swopped out of the Bohs section with one of the many Bohs fans in the other part of the main stand?, Not really a night for a self styled neutral or the wife of a neutral but what did you expect? Sorry your wife was upset, if it was mine she would be ****ed off at me bringing her rather than anything else.
    Bring her up to Dalymount next time and we`ll make it up to her.

Haha thanks Dalymount, ill be sure to consider it, from what i hear there would be plenty of room in the home stand to find space to sit away from such idiots.

Will be in Dalymount on friday as it happens though will happily maintain my neutral status, its more of a start to a night out than me wanting to go see Bohs.

The missus will accompany me to Croker on saturday though, so not too deterred by the actions of the mindless few

(Dont you think the same courtesy should be given to the majority of well behaved Rovers fans instead of focusing on the actions of few?)

The minority cannot be allowed to give there clubs and also supporters the league as a whole any more bad press, all this lark just smacks of cynical Bohs fans trying to make more of an issue out of things because its Rovers!

first game in over 15 years. Got tickets for the bohs section from a lad in work here.
    Thats disgraceful. Your mate should have his membership revoked. Plenty of Bohs fans who go to most of the games either couldn't get tickets or had to get them for the Rovers side.

On sectarianism, obviously it goes without saying its not acceptable.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast