Thread: back to the bread and butter

516 Posts

Thumbs up back to the bread and butter

how do ye think the lads wll bounce back from the dissapointment of the cup? granted its not the main priority of the season but still a setback?

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    how do ye think the lads wll bounce back from the dissapointment of the cup? granted its not the main priority of the season but still a setback?
    Wouldnt call it a setback tbh. Was a bonus to be in the final and would have been nice to win, but league has always been priority.

Dont think we should have too much trouble bouncing back, players want out of this division too, sho no motivation problem.

Never know with longford though, it'll be scoreless for a lot of it, then we should win 2-0 hopefully. Cummins and fletch suspended doesnt help but we should have enough cover to be okay!

Nice to see the old gaffer back too
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

516 Posts
    ye should most definetly win but i bet with cronins return well be treating it like a cup final!

I've read Hendo quoted as saying that he told the players that it was a one off game that ended on sat night regardless of result which is not strictly true as a win would have given Waterford a place in the Setanta cup, I've barely heard a mention of that, even before the game and I'm almost certain that there was nothing in the match programme about the Setanta cup either, strange! Or has the Setanta cup fallen that far in the general scheme of things...

539 Posts
    i was very disappointed when I was down last night that ye could only produce a four page match program I would have thought that the FAI would have produced the program last sat themselves! I was even more disappointed to hear that the league cup final program sold out!

AFAIK the programme last Sat was produced by the FAI, Kenny Browne was referred to as Kevin Browne in a few places, I dont think anyone from Waterford Utd would have made that mistake. Fair play to the few Longford fans who travelled, though I only spotted 3, sitting together in the main stand, one of them wearing a blue jersey, were you one of those 3 Marty?

The second half was fairly shocking from a Waterford point of view, and it wouldn't have been totally undeserved if Longford had grabbed a draw.

Quote Originally Posted by eL Bettor View Post
    AFAIK the programme last Sat was produced by the FAI, Kenny Browne was referred to as Kevin Browne in a few places, I dont think anyone from Waterford Utd would have made that mistake. Fair play to the few Longford fans who travelled, though I only spotted 3, sitting together in the main stand, one of them wearing a blue jersey, were you one of those 3 Marty?

The second half was fairly shocking from a Waterford point of view, and it wouldn't have been totally undeserved if Longford had grabbed a draw.
    Saturday's programme was FAI produced, and we sold out before the kick off.
    No point making a programme last night when we'd just lose money making one i presume.

Saw one lonfordian with kirby on the back too!

115 Posts
    Both the above posts are correct, with the addition that the FAI didn't come near us for any content at all, although they did get stuff directly off the website (not the Kevin bit though!)

Our print deadlines are such that a programme for a Tuesday night has to be at the printers on a Thursday (i.e. before the Cup final outcome was known), and with that, and the expected poor crowd, and the general all-over-the-placedness of the last week it was somewhat kicked to touch.

PM sent.
    Last edited by stann; 30/09/2009 at 2:22 PM.
    more bass

539 Posts

yep EL Bettor that was me! the next time you see me in Waterford introduce yourself !

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Saturday's programme was FAI produced, and we sold out before the kick off.
    No point making a programme last night when we'd just lose money making one i presume.

Saw one lonfordian with kirby on the back too!
    that was me!! that was the jersey Kirbs wore in the Sean Prunty testimonial.. I won it in a auction and its my pride and joy!

yep EL Bettor that was me! the next time you see me in Waterford introduce yourself !
    Will do Marty

no offence but hopefully ye wont be visiting the RSC next season, unless it's in the cup!

that was me!! that was the jersey Kirbs wore in the Sean Prunty testimonial.. I won it in a auction and its my pride and joy!
    Deadly, pretty cool looking jersey.

539 Posts
    Will do Marty

no offence but hopefully ye wont be visiting the RSC next season, unless it's in the cup!
    pretty true el Bettor..in the cup wouldnt mind playin ye down there we have a good record against ye in the cup this decade!

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    Deadly, pretty cool looking jersey.
    i think my jersey is the only jersey from that night of the auction I have seen ....Other people bid for other players jersies but I have never seen people wear them! I am different!