Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Is the Italy game now a dead rubber?

Quote Originally Posted by noddy102 View Post

Where else on Saturday will there be 70,000+ fans watching a UEFA qualifier?
    Moscow?

Quote Originally Posted by Arnold Layne View Post
    Moscow?
    What is the population of Moscow and what is the population of Russia?
    How many oil tycoons will be at the game?

Can people here at least show a bit of respect for reality and accept the fact that the FAI are a shower of w*nkers, ripping off the fans, and that achieving 70,000 at any international football match is an amazing achievement, whatever the country.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    All the 6 nations games in Croke Park have been total sellouts incl Italy. I think Argentina was the only rugby game that didn't sellout.

All the Scotland rugby games in Dublin have been soldout for as long as I can recall. The early Italy games didn't but later ones in Lansdowne did.

I've been shocked at the number of people this week making arrangements to watch the game tomorrow in special places in Dublin (pubs and clubs). I've mentioned there are still tickets available but the pub seems more attractive.
    Bullsh1t mate, the only rugby game I was ever at was against Italy a couple of years back as I was given a freebie and Croker was nowhere near full. I've seen Scotland games on tv with loads of empty seats to boot.

1,928 Posts
    Latvia had a big enough game against Switzerland in September, they still had a live chance of qualifying, only 2,500 turned up to watch the game which ended in a hard earned draw for the Swiss.

Whats that got to do with your original question?

Croker is the only dead rubber on show - For soccer it simply scores a zero from a viewing, supporting or affordability perspective.

Ive been attending games since regularly since 98 and this is the first home game I'm missing in 6 years (bar Poland last year for the birth of my 3rd son) and Im not alone with missing this one with my block booking buddies.

The days of the south bucket are dead and gone. As I buy tickets for myself and one of my sons, I can no longer justify spending 300+ for tickets, transport, food, programmes and a couple of beers over three days. A luxury I just cant afford.

We talk about FIFA selling out. We have been sold out a long time ago. Football as John Delaney would tell you is a working class game that begins at grassroots level. I dont have to tell you that never in the last 20 years has Ireland been so crippled with debt and the working class are suffering most. But far be it from the FAI to ease the burden for those who support them week in week out.

From the time I've been in Croker, I could estimate that at least 40% of the crowd were as you say "event junkies" but thats not a problem - the more the merrier. But give me €20 bucket seats in a 100 year old stadium and 35,000 FANS singing their hearts out any day.

Enjoy the game!
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Bullsh1t mate, the only rugby game I was ever at was against Italy a couple of years back as I was given a freebie and Croker was nowhere near full. I've seen Scotland games on tv with loads of empty seats to boot.
    Attendances according to the IRFU;

http://www.irishrugby.ie/10735_105.p...ason=2008-2009
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/10735_105.p...ason=2007-2008
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/10735_105.p...ason=2006-2007

lowest was 74,234 against the Scots (about 8k under capacity) which I assume is the game you are talking about, the likelihood is it was still actually a sell out but Corporates etc.. may not have been used.

Agree on all points, this game is less important than all the games we have played up to this. We aren't going to win the group, bulgaria probably wont beat cyprus away, and if we need to beat montenagro at home and don't, we do not deserve to go any further.
    Saying all that, I am very much looking forward to getting down to my local in N London for a good game, and expect a draw. I to am a block booker, but finances rule the day, so I am waiting to see how the play off draw goes, Paris here we come.

On the other point, I totally agree, sooner we get out of croker the better. I do love Croke Park. For me nothing beats championship day, Wexford valiantly rising above expectations on the hallowed turf, the county as one behind them. But I just don't feel at home there with the Soccer. Lansdown is our sacred ground for the football, and thank God we are going back there rather than tallaght or anywhere else.

My 6 year old son would have more marketing know how that that bunch of fools in the FAI. Maybe I'm wrong, but I rarely if ever see proper discounted tickets for children. They should be going in for five, ten euros tops. Get them involved, and you get the parent going to. We have struggled to fill croker for many games, and that is a disgrace when we could have done so much to make sure it was full and rocking.

So, here's to Pairs and sticking it to Platini, here's to a World Cup and a much needed shot in the arm for all the Irish, and here's to Lansdown, where I fully expect the old buzz to return, and draws turning into wins.

Come on you boys in green........
    Last edited by Polster; 09/10/2009 at 11:15 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post

lowest was 74,234 against the Scots (about 8k under capacity) which I assume is the game you are talking about, the likelihood is it was still actually a sell out but Corporates etc.. may not have been used.
    At the end of the day football is always going to be more popular in Ireland than Rugby. You go to the parks or school fields at lunch time, what are kids playing, the majority are playing football. Rugby will nearly always get top attendances because you are guaranteed championship games every year, 6 nations etc, where every game is critical, like a final on its own merit.

Football is the working class game, from kids through to adult hood. Regardless of FAI ticketing policy, this will remain. Although they are still shooting themselves in the foot by forcing away loyal fans from attending games due to pricing. Its time the FAI started repaying all the loyalty fans have shown, especially over the last two decades. If we are to move forward we need full stadiums, kids able to go to games, the buzz and feel good factor back which will bring on the next keanos, duffers and dunnes.

Then we might be a little happier to hand over some hard earned cash and start a new legacy of Irish football to be proud of.

Under the current FAI setup, I fear we are at best stuck at this level of scant hope and low expectation for the considerable future.
    Last edited by Polster; 09/10/2009 at 11:37 AM.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post

In 2008 Hill 16 was seated hence the lower capacity of 75,000.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/r...ry-777457.html

The terraces were open in 2007 & 2009.

The Scotland game was totally soldout and tickets were tough to get. There were hundreds outside trying to get tickets for Wales.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    At the end of the day football is always going to be more popular in Ireland than Rugby. You go to the parks or school fields at lunch time, what are kids playing, the majority are playing football. Rugby will nearly always get top attendances because you are guaranteed championship games every year, 6 nations etc, where every game is critical, like a final on its own merit.

Football is the working class game, from kids through to adult hood. Regardless of FAI ticketing policy, this will remain. Although they are still shooting themselves in the foot by forcing away loyal fans from attending games due to pricing. Its time the FAI started repaying all the loyalty fans have shown, especially over the last two decades. If we are to move forward we need full stadiums, kids able to go to games, the buzz and feel good factor back which will bring on the next keanos, duffers and dunnes.

Then we might be a little happier to hand over some hard earned cash and start a new legacy of Irish football to be proud of.

Under the current FAI setup, I fear we are at best stuck at this level of scant hope and low expectation for the considerable future.
    I agree that football is a much bigger sport here and much more popular. Playing numbers dwarf those of rugby.

However football is becoming more and more of a sport people play and then watch in the pub.

Football is the only sport that can shut down the country eg World Cups and even big qualifiers like 1993. There were 500,000 people out to welcome home the Euro88 side. I think it was 20,000 to welcome the Grand Slam winners.

Hi Lads,

I gave the threads a quick scan and I couldn't find the answer to this question: If we end up on the same points as Bulgaria, what seperates us - is it goal difference against all teams in the group or what?

Going through a load of scenarios in my head and starting to worry!!!!

Thanks

57 Posts
    My 6 year old son would have more marketing know how that that bunch of fools in the FAI. Maybe I'm wrong, but I rarely if ever see proper discounted tickets for children. They should be going in for five, ten euros tops. Get them involved, and you get the parent going to. We have struggled to fill croker for many games, and that is a disgrace when we could have done so much to make sure it was full and rocking.

10 euro each for children. One school in Limerick has 50 and are running a special bus up tomorrow with the obvious huge demand.

Good chunks of 310 and 312 (I'm guessing 311 also) are designated for children's seats.

It isn't possible to convert block bookings to children's tickets afaik.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jaykay View Post
    Hi Lads,

I gave the threads a quick scan and I couldn't find the answer to this question: If we end up on the same points as Bulgaria, what seperates us - is it goal difference against all teams in the group or what?

Going through a load of scenarios in my head and starting to worry!!!!

Thanks
    Goal difference. If we end up on the same points (a draw and a defeat) they will get 2nd place and a playoff.

10 euro each for children. One school in Limerick has 50 and are running a special bus up tomorrow with the obvious huge demand.

Good chunks of 310 and 312 (I'm guessing 311 also) are designated for children's seats.

It isn't possible to convert block bookings to children's tickets afaik.
    I know they do some schoolboys prices, always have. My point is overall they could do a lot more, and the full adult prices have risen to much over the last 5 years in my opinion to. As Blobbyblob pointed out, gone are the days of €20 tickets for top qualifying games, and that wasnt so long ago.

57 Posts
    I know they do some schoolboys prices, always have. My point is overall they could do a lot more, and the full adult prices have risen to much over the last 5 years in my opinion to. As Blobbyblob pointed out, gone are the days of €20 tickets for top qualifying games, and that wasnt so long ago.
    Cheapest seat for a child for the GAA finals was 70 euro. A very limited separate area for children on Hill16 for 6 nations rugby games. Otherwise 90 euro for a child and never every club adds on a minimum 10 euro to that now.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    It's Ireland playing a competitive game against the World Champions, when was the last time that happened? I'm certainly excited anyway. On the pitch a draw suits both parties so I'm sure it won't be a potential repeat of the drama of the Dutch game from a few years ago.
    We've never played a competitive home game against the World champions - the used to qualify automatically. Don't think we ever met World champs when we were in Euro Championship qualifiers either

Cheapest seat for a child for the GAA finals was 70 euro. A very limited separate area for children on Hill16 for 6 nations rugby games. Otherwise 90 euro for a child and never every club adds on a minimum 10 euro to that now.
    Thats the GAA and Rugby, we are discussing Irish soccer

Rugby

Can people here at least show a bit of respect for reality and accept the fact that the FAI are a shower of w*nkers, ripping off the fans, and that achieving 70,000 at any international football match is an amazing achievement, whatever the country.
    So you don't think The IRFU don't rip off their Fans!!
    They Charge € 100 upwards about 25/30% more for tickets

at Croke Park than the Fai, Do you think they get better value or What???

Agree on all points, this game is less important than all the games we have played up to this. We aren't going to win the group, bulgaria probably wont beat cyprus away, and if we need to beat montenagro at home and don't, we do not deserve to go any further.
    Saying all that, I am very much looking forward to getting down to my local in N London for a good game, and expect a draw. I to am a block booker, but finances rule the day, so I am waiting to see how the play off draw goes, Paris here we come.

On the other point, I totally agree, sooner we get out of croker the better. I do love Croke Park. For me nothing beats championship day, Wexford valiantly rising above expectations on the hallowed turf, the county as one behind them. But I just don't feel at home there with the Soccer. Lansdown is our sacred ground for the football, and thank God we are going back there rather than tallaght or anywhere else.

So, here's to Pairs and sticking it to Platini, here's to a World Cup and a much needed shot in the arm for all the Irish, and here's to Lansdown, where I fully expect the old buzz to return, and draws turning into wins.

Come on you boys in green........
    Keep an eye out for me on the tele polster Tell them all in the well i was asking for them

Gspain you are flogging a dead horse with that argument, playing numbers doesn't mean support, ive said it many times before and ill say it again, the average country person(not including dubs here) in this day prefers watching rugby to soccer. Soccer is waining in that regard and rugby has taken over. Im sorry but its true.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast