Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers Saturday 26th at 7.45pm

i know how ya feel but cant see a solution to be honest. same shower of muppets will be officiating again next year and the year after......... we dont get anything of the refs but small clubs rarely do. with shams playing bohs to a full house next it suited the league more for shams to win than us and think that was on the refs mind. id we had scored and equaliser i think mckeon would have actually kicked the ball in our nat and awarded shams a goal redardless. one way or the other we were not winning tonight in his book. the big baldly monkey looking plick

Deavstated, not by the result, but the performance of that so called referee. He deserves a good kick up the hole for that performanc, absolutly horrible and obviously dosent seem keen on us at all. Conor O' Grady won the ball in a tackle, and who gets the free ? and that corner that led to the OG and the handball before the peno were very questionable, and ive no doubt that was a handball. Atleats thats one of two teams that we might lose 3 points too out ofthe way, but after seeing that its obvious all the final series of game sfor us were winnable.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    i know how ya feel but cant see a solution to be honest. same shower of muppets will be officiating again next year and the year after......... we dont get anything of the refs but small clubs rarely do. with shams playing bohs to a full house next it suited the league more for shams to win than us and think that was on the refs mind. id we had scored and equaliser i think mckeon would have actually kicked the ball in our nat and awarded shams a goal redardless. one way or the other we were not winning tonight in his book. the big baldly monkey looking plick
    No offence we don't have the same issues with Cork or Derry as we have with Dublin clubs getting bias decisions. Tonight was a disgrace a farce as Shams won a game they hardly createda chance from open play. I don't have a problem getting beat i have a problem with McKeown for being cheated.

70 Posts
    Very good game. Sligo well on top in the first half. Rovers bossed the second. Mc Keon was always going to give us a penalty the amount of holding going on from corners and free kicks by Sligo players was always going to lead to it. Couldnt see the corner incident too far away. But i thought you were lucky to finish with 11 on the pitch two awful tackles one on Rice and one on Bradley.

Could someone also tell me what eejit put up a sign saying we're playing Drogheda at 8pm as our next home game ?
    Coleman for Ireland

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1
    One positive from tonight is we were beaten by an expectedly shocking referee in McKeon and a bit of bad luck.

Shamrock are **** poor.
    Jaysus we're terrible, we've only scored 10 goals and got 4 wins against Sligo this season. Wonder how many the other team got against ye? Oh that's right, you got 3 results against them and a cup win, but never mind that, we're crap compared to them.

As for the ref, it was apparantly his fault that Peers put the ball in his own net, and his fault for awarding a penalty for handball, and he has to be blamed for finding 4 second half injury time minutes for Sligo to score from somewhere. He only booked 3 of our defenders in the first half, and even let Sives be manhandled in the Sligo box 5 times at our set pieces, before doing something about it.

Don't blame your players for not taking their chances, don't blame them for packing up when they went behind, nor for not defending corners. Just blame the ref. Problems solved.

I know very well what relegation battles in this league are like. But if you don't look closer to home, you won't escape the trapdoor.
    Last edited by mypost; 27/09/2009 at 3:52 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    I could see this coming down the tracks and to be honest I am sick of the officials and what they are doing in the league. It cost me a lot of money and time to get to Sligo tonight and I have to consider do I want to put myself through anymore of the rubbish these officials are coming up with and I am seriously thinking of packing in going to matches. Your heart would go out to the Sligo team tonight, they played very well, yes they missed some chances and would have beaten Shams tonight if it was not for the stupid ...t in the middle. Watching Shams tonight I think Bohs will walk it as they are way ahead of Shams. I really do not know what can be done but the referee tonight should be dropped to a lower league due to amount of bad decisions he came up with. These 3 lost points could be critical for us and we are now in a dog fight. We could win the cup and go down like some years ago.

Usually im not one for conspiracy theories but last nights ref's performance ishard to ignore. Apart for whats been mentioned already he also should have given a second yellow to a shams player who deliberately took creataro down. And what about the centre-half who went up with the elbows everytime against blinks?

There is bohs and the rest in this league.

Quote Originally Posted by rovers100% View Post
    i know how ya feel but cant see a solution to be honest. same shower of muppets will be officiating again next year and the year after......... we dont get anything of the refs but small clubs rarely do. with shams playing bohs to a full house next it suited the league more for shams to win than us and think that was on the refs mind. id we had scored and equaliser i think mckeon would have actually kicked the ball in our nat and awarded shams a goal redardless. one way or the other we were not winning tonight in his book
    McKeown was a disgrace last night.
    But is he a bad referee ? or just a biased one
    Id say Shams werent too disapointed with his perfomance.
    We were never going to get anything out of this game last night, not with the golden boys of the league playing Bohs next week setting up a truly magnificent spectacle for us all to enjoy.
    It reminded me a lot of our first game at Tallaght, on that occasion we were just there for Shams to play somone. We werent good enough ourselves that night to take something from the game but god forbid we were because we got nothing that night either.
    Last night was different we were good enough but were hindered by their 12th man. Being a Sligo Rovers supporter, a small club, we are well accustomed to getting beat but that was unacceptable from the referee last night.
    At least the FAI are happy.

151 Posts
    Well, mypost, you're always going to see it through green glasses and ours will be red. Lets leave it to MNS to clear it up but my contention is that a Shams player handled the ball before the 'penalty' (cough, cough) and that the corner from which you 'scored' the winner was a goal kick. If you hear some of the experts on MNS describe it as a soft penalty, you can translate that to a wrong decision.
    On another note, whilst hating your club with a passion resembling that of Christ's, it is great to see you back in proper shape and bring proper away support to the Showgrounds. However, I'm sorry to say that you are about 40% behind Bohs in technical ability and craft and they will beat you next weekend and win the league in a canter. Good thing, too, as they are a lovely team to watch. Next season could be interesting, though.

Report here. Tbh imo it's not truthful enough. We were robbed.

mypost: Don't know if you were at the game, but,if you were, do you actually think Shamrock deserved a win last night?

I don't think apart from a bad refereeing decision and a bit of bad luck, ye had a decent chance. Twigg had a chance that bounced against him, that Brush tipped over the second half.

Thought Raf was **** poor again last night, his mind seems to be elsewhere. He's been the same since the Cork replay. Doesn't seem to want to do the work, and i'd have no problem if he was dropped at any time for Turner.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    mypost: Don't know if you were at the game, but,if you were, do you actually think Shamrock deserved a win last night?

I don't think apart from a bad refereeing decision and a bit of bad luck, ye had a decent chance. Twigg had a chance that bounced against him, that Brush tipped over the second half.

Thought Raf was **** poor again last night, his mind seems to be elsewhere. He's been the same since the Cork replay. Doesn't seem to want to do the work, and i'd have no problem if he was dropped at any time for Turner.
    Blinkhorn and Turner up front ? sorry but no. I like Blinkhorn, but he still dosent look like hes fully fit yet, while Turner has no pace to keep up for 90 minutes in this league, thats where Raff is helpful, hes faster and can break away from defenders.

I think for a while we should turn our attention too how we played rather than blaming the referee for robbing us of getting anything last night. Brush had little or nothing too do from open play bar tipping a Twigg shot over the bar. The defence did ther job but were getting lazy near the end, Peers, and im not talking about the own goal, wasnt his usual self last night. Cash had another great game and was taken off far too early IMO, our centre midfield has definetly become more lively since Ventre started partnering O' Grady again we were lucky that atleast 1 of them didnt get sent off last night. Marshall wasn't too bad, wasted possesion a bit, otherwise did ok, tough game too make his full debut, while Raf scored a goal he was lively enough throughout but shouldve done better with chances and same with Blinkhorn, but credit to him for trying, if the ball was played along the ground a bit more to him he might do better with it.

All in all it was a decent performance spoiled by a poor refereeing performance.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    . Cash had another great game and was taken off far too early IMO,
    Cash has shown improvements, but was totally lost last night!

As for the Raf/Blinkhorn/Turner craic, I think Raf needs a shoe in the hole. Turner and Blinkhorn were very effective in Dalymount, Turners Cross is another big pitch, and i'd give'em a go.

21 Posts
    Is Scully still the Shams manager? He made a good signing in that Twigg, they have someone to aim for now considering all the hoofing they do.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Is Scully still the Shams manager? He made a good signing in that Twigg, they have someone to aim for now considering all the hoofing they do.
    Where have you been ?

Michael O' Neill is their manager and Scully is managing Limerick I think.
    Coleman for Ireland

Where have you been ?

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Bloody sunshiners.....

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    I dont like to criticise players but I have to agree, Cretaro seems to be off the pace.
    Blinkhorn wins a huge amount of ball for us in the air, but Cretaro is miles off him so a lot of posesion and chances go to waste.
    Maybe give Turner a chance to do the 'donkey work' and let Blinkhorn feed off him. Worked well up in Dalymount.
    Last edited by srfc1928; 27/09/2009 at 1:41 PM.

21 Posts
    Where have you been ?

Good lad, I was put firmly in my place there .

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1

We were poor in the first half, but in the second it was a different side. You can complain about the ref, the way you still vilify John Carpenter, but that isn't going to help you get out of the mess you're in. Because of the fences and poles in the way, I didn't get a great view of either of our goals or what led up to them, but even if our winner "wasn't" a corner, it still has to be attacked/defended properly when it comes in. You can't complain to the ref if it isn't.

Kelly will be reffing us on telly next week, and he is the worst referee I have ever seen. If you think last night's ref was bad, wait til you see him next week.

It must be a very poor league, if we're crap and are top. We've gone only 19 games unbeaten, with the least defeats in the league. We don't have the playing resources other teams have, but we're making the best of what we've got.

You had 20 minutes to get a point last night. There was no heart, fight, or passion to save it. That's not the ref's fault. Blaming the ref is merely covering up those problems, and if it continues, we mightn't be meeting again next season.
    Last edited by mypost; 27/09/2009 at 4:46 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast