Thread: Brazil - Lets get stuck into them

Brazil - Lets get stuck into them

Theres going to be a lot of fawning over Brazil at the match on Wednesday, both from the media and some of the crowd, who you can guarantee wont be back for Czech or Romania games.

Brazil might be the greatest team in the world, and their fans may be a colourful bunch (wont be (m)any of them at Lansdowne), but I hope our players get stuck into them, and Ireland fans give 100% support to their own team.

Instead of hearing about which Brazilian's shirt each of our players wants to swop after the game, lets hope they concentrate on trying to inflict a defeat on them just like back in '87.
    The only way is up!

......Their easy!

Didn't Brazil beat Ireland by double figures in the 80's(away).
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Brazil beat us 7-0 in the early eighties.

The Brazilians have an allocation of 1000 tickets, all taken up by ex-pats living here, they'll bring colour and noise, guarenteed.

I do hope we don't fawn over them, Alan Lee shouldn't get a game if all he's going to be worried about is getting Ronaldo's shirt.

Get stuck in definitely, give them a game, they'll be up for it too, with a competitive game coming up at the end of march, they'll be playing for places, It's going to be a cracker, I think my voice is going already.

Re: Brazil - Lets get stuck into them

Originally posted by KCFC BOHS
    Theres going to be a lot of fawning over Brazil at the match on Wednesday, both from the media and some of the crowd, who you can guarantee wont be back for Czech or Romania games.

Brazil might be the greatest team in the world, and their fans may be a colourful bunch (wont be (m)any of them at Lansdowne), but I hope our players get stuck into them, and Ireland fans give 100% support to their own team.

Instead of hearing about which Brazilian's shirt each of our players wants to swop after the game, lets hope they concentrate on trying to inflict a defeat on them just like back in '87.

To right, Brain Kerr has already stated for the fan's to marvel and praise Brazil after the game but during it do the obvious thing and support and get behind Ireland. I know Alan Lee has said he want's Ronaldo's shirt @ the end of the game, but if Alan lee get's a chance hopefully he'll put in a performance that will have Ronaldo asking him for his shirt (you never know). Still ranting aside can't wait for wednesday.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Forget the shirt swapping why don't they just buy one off ebay?

Very true, I think Alan Lee should be concentrating on football not who's shirt he's gonna get after the game, and you can get some nice replica 1970 world cup shirt's on e'bay.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Originally posted by Declan_Michael
    Forget the shirt swapping why don't they just buy one off ebay?
    great old site.... tickets for the 'other' two games at £99stg a pop.... should have played brazil last.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...category=58740

brazil will be too worryed about proceting their players. a cold night getting hacked by the boys in green should rough them up abit. unsettle them and who knows

any predictions?

My head says 0-2

My heart says a draw

2-2 would be good scoring the first and last

I've a feeling we're only going to see 45 mins of the likes of Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Bob Carlos etc. While their replacements will no doubt be quality, we shouldn't be in awe of them and they certainly won't have experienced anything like a full-throated Landsdowne Rd crowd (which I sincerely hope it is!).

A tenner to the man who decks the first idiot who asks where Brian O'Driscoll is playing!
    Maybe you should put her on a leash, agent-man.

Originally posted by Jon'o
    any predictions?
    Brazil will not be taking this match anywhere near as serious as the Irish and they often play badly when there is a lot expected of them (they drew with Peru, Uruguay, China etc.) so we definitely have a chance. They aren't very good defensively so I will be positive and say a 2-1 win for Ireland.

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    Brazil will not be taking this match anywhere near as serious as the Irish and they often play badly when there is a lot expected of them (they drew with Peru, Uruguay, China etc.) so we definitely have a chance. They aren't very good defensively so I will be positive and say a 2-1 win for Ireland.
    From what I hear, you'll get 13/2 for an Irish win in Paddy Powers. 5/1 for a draw. Worth a punt.
    The only way is up!

57 Posts
    Same result as last time will do nicely - 1-0 to us.

Originally posted by KCFC BOHS
    From what I hear, you'll get 13/2 for an Irish win in Paddy Powers. 5/1 for a draw. Worth a punt.
    Jaysus, we're not that bad. Ireland - 10/3, Draw - 9/4.

Lets get stuck into them
    Jason McAteer wants to get stuck in:

"But if I’m asked to play out wide I’ll play there - I’m sure Roberto Carlos will be sh*tting himself about the prospect of Trigger running at home with two dodgy hamstrings."

One of Brasils last friendlies was against Jamicia in Loftus Road a few months back but I think they didnt play that well and only won 2-1 or something like that.

Im going for Brian to pull this won off, and help make up for past disappointmaents.

2-1 Ireland.
    A man is never really poor,
    if he can still laugh.

Without Roy Keane and Duffer Ireland are very average. Hope it's a watchable match on TV.
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Pile on the the boys in Green

Lads,

Back to win and cover bet with the draw...........................

Alan Lee should not get a chance if all he is worried about is geting a shirt..................

Re: Pile on the the boys in Green

Originally posted by Bring Back Mick
    Lads,

Back to win and cover bet with the draw...........................
    I put ireland to win and if its a draw the bet's voided and I get my money back. I added that with Keane to score in the 90 minutes and I got odds of 17/2 for the double.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 17/02/2004 at 5:57 PM.