Page 19 of 26 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: Munster Junior Cup 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    I would have to agree more with the previous poster it does seem as though teams from cork have under achieved in recent years in MJC and FAI to be fair saying a team reached the quarter finals of these competitions is good for that club but far from good in terms of a league and county the size of cork when you concider the size of the pool of players available in cork. Look at clonmell 2 teams representing them in the last 16 and they have no where near the catchment areas of some clubs in parts of cork city.

Be honest with your self the standard of junior football in cork is way below what it should be... And it seems as though the senior sides have been getting well and truly crushed by junior sides like pike in the munster senior cup for years .

Cant understand these comments at all yes we have more players to choose from down in cork but also the players have lots of more teams to choose from, in my area alone there is something like 22 if not more teams in a 5 mile radius, and thats not including teams just outside the city such as leeside, ballincollig, etc, and 4-5 very very good GAA teams all trying to get the best players for there respective teams so the competition for players is fierce

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Cant understand these comments at all yes we have more players to choose from down in cork but also the players have lots of more teams to choose from, in my area alone there is something like 22 if not more teams in a 5 mile radius, and thats not including teams just outside the city such as leeside, ballincollig, etc, and 4-5 very very good GAA teams all trying to get the best players for there respective teams so the competition for players is fierce
    And clubs in limerick or clonmel aren't tapping up young lads ie rugby in limk and hurling in clonmel. My point is only that i personally believe junior football in cork is under achieving as a reult of senior soccer which is a shame...................

Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    And clubs in limerick or clonmel aren't tapping up young lads ie rugby in limk and hurling in clonmel. My point is only that i personally believe junior football in cork is under achieving as a reult of senior soccer which is a shame...................
    OK that's a bit different now - yes cork Junior soccer is not as strong as others mainly due to the presence of a large Senior League; but also due to an element of talent dilution... Look at the number of clubs in cork - Cork AUL 94 teams - Cork Business & shipping league 20 - MSL 30 intermediate + 23 junior - West Cork League 33 teams, and there are also a batch of east cork clubs in the West Waterford/East Cork league - say half 10. That give a total of >200 clubs in Cork... and as outlined above in the city the areas where soccer is strongest there can be a lot of teams competing for the players.

I acknowledge the competition from other sports is pretty much the same everywhere else - I wouldn't look at that as an excuse as every club in the country has this issue - but I also think we can all say that the story in Clonmel is the exception rather than the rule, it really is a credit to the town to produce two teams of that level - there must be an excellent underage structure bringing through all these talented players!

But I also think some earlier comments about the MSL senior teams being weak are a bit off - in one off cup games you can get some weird results but looking back over the years the MSL have been very strong in the FAI intermediate and in the FAI senior - even this year 4 of the 8 1/4 finalists in the Munster Senior cup are Cork sides.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

redcardrory, the answer is easy. Cork Aul teams compete with the top teams in most other counties eg limerick, tipp etc. No disrespect to St. Marys but they are not a rockmount, avondale or douglas hall. that would be a different kettle of fish for ye. That said the cork AUL does have some very strong teams that would push most top limerick teams. Pike vs Leeside in 2 weeks will hopefully be a tough,close encounter. junior in limerick is so strong because that is ye're top tier of teams...........

Tramore 1-1 Lisselton (Lisselton won on penalties)

Wel done Lisselton. They have a home tie in the next round and getting that expierience of the fai 1/4 final last year and reaching the last 8 of the mjc i fancy them as strong contenders for this competition esp now at home teams wont like travelling down here to kerry.

With Munster clubs doing so well in the FAI this years MJC line up looks seriously strong -
    Pike, Clonmel Town and Regional - all semi-finalists in FAI
    Carrick, Leeside, Clonmel Celtic - got to last 16 in FAI
    only 3 of the nine team left in competition didn't have significant runs in FAI (Nenagh AFC, Villa FC and Lisselton) and none of them are bad sides either...

Great season for Munster football - here's hoping for some cracking games.

My pick of the 1/4's are the visit of the extreamly impressive Pike to a strong Leeside side and the battle between the two Clonmel sides...
    George Hamilton...

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    With Munster clubs doing so well in the FAI this years MJC line up looks seriously strong -
    Pike, Clonmel Town and Regional - all semi-finalists in FAI
    Carrick, Leeside, Clonmel Celtic - got to last 16 in FAI
    only 3 of the nine team left in competition didn't have significant runs in FAI (Nenagh AFC, Villa FC and Lisselton) and none of them are bad sides either...

Great season for Munster football - here's hoping for some cracking games.

My pick of the 1/4's are the visit of the extreamly impressive Pike to a strong Leeside side and the battle between the two Clonmel sides...

Couldnt agree more

Junior football is so strong in Munster its nearly as hard to win the mjc than it is the fai

Quote Originally Posted by limfan View Post
    Tramore 1-1 Lisselton (Lisselton won on penalties)

Wel done Lisselton. They have a home tie in the next round and getting that expierience of the fai 1/4 final last year and reaching the last 8 of the mjc i fancy them as strong contenders for this competition esp now at home teams wont like travelling down here to kerry.

Tramore better team by a country mile here, simply could not score. Hard to see Carrick or Regional falling in Kerry.

Quote Originally Posted by inspiron View Post
    Tramore better team by a country mile here, simply could not score. Hard to see Carrick or Regional falling in Kerry.
    I wasnt at the game, reports down here suggest that Tramore were the better team, In the past Kerry teams either in fai or mjc always fail away from home. Lisselton were missing a few players and were always gna be up against it. Fair play to them for their win and hard luck Tramore.

Any team that comes down to Kerry will find it tough aginst lisselton, a good example in the past when teams like waterford ud, kilkenny city, cobh ramblers and cork city have played aginst kerry(6 or 7 lisselton players) in Eircom league cup, they were by miles the better teams but failed to win.

Home advantage is huge.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redcardrory View Post
    munster junior cup 23/03/10
    carrick v regionel 2.30 carrick
    The 23rd hardly correct - a Tuesday afternoon at 2.30pm? Should it be Sunday next 21/03/10?

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    The 23rd hardly correct - a Tuesday afternoon at 2.30pm? Should it be Sunday next 21/03/10?
    Yes, its this Sunday the 21/03/10

I wasnt at the game, reports down here suggest that Tramore were the better team, In the past Kerry teams either in fai or mjc always fail away from home. Lisselton were missing a few players and were always gna be up against it. Fair play to them for their win and hard luck Tramore.

Any team that comes down to Kerry will find it tough aginst lisselton, a good example in the past when teams like waterford ud, kilkenny city, cobh ramblers and cork city have played aginst kerry(6 or 7 lisselton players) in Eircom league cup, they were by miles the better teams but failed to win.

Home advantage is huge.
    Alot of that would of been down to all the former Dynamos players on the team being honest I think

Reading the local Waterford paper they said Tramore simple threw the game away last week.

Semi Final draw
    Clonmel Town or Clonmel Celtic v Villa FC or Nenagh AFC
    Leeside or Pike Rvs v Lisselton Rvs or Carrick Utd or Regional Utd
    George Hamilton...

carrick 4 regional 0
    .regional started the better , but once carrick scored at the end of the first half , they never looked in trouble ,
    makes last weeks loss in the f a i even more frustrating !!!
    2 each for the fitzgeralds (wayne and tommy)... away in kerry next ..
    Last edited by carrick hoops; 21/03/2010 at 4:29 PM.
    "everyone quiet, or the fat lazy, striker gets it!"

Won't have it all yere own way down there carrick.they are very strong at home.who won town and Celtic match

25 Posts
    Clonmel Town v Clonmel Celtic is scheduled for next week-end.

Lisselton Vs Carrick

I am looking forward to this game, it should be a cracker and i would agree that carrick wont have it all their own way.

My prediction would be extra time and peno's

I am looking forward to this game, it should be a cracker and i would agree that carrick wont have it all their own way.

My prediction would be extra time and peno's

I reckon Carrick will come out on top...... 4-0 v Regional was the scoreline flattering or were they far better than regional?

Quote Originally Posted by soccer8 View Post
    I reckon Carrick will come out on top...... 4-0 v Regional was the scoreline flattering or were they far better than regional?
    From what i saw. Carrick got two lucky goals, one definetly off-side. They are a good footballing side and i think they are good at home. I have seen lisselton playing this season too and i think at home they should be too good for carrick. Should be a great match but home advantage should tell alot

Page 19 of 26 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast